Shock…….. As Police In Imo Discover Kidnappers’s Den Inside Forest

Date: 24-09-2010 8:56 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 24-09-2010 08:56 PM (13 years ago)

An urgent call from the Police Public Relations Officer (PPRO) in Imo State , Mr. Linus Nwaiwu, to this reporter informing that the Commissioner of Police, Mr. Aloysius Okorie, wanted to see him in his office at 8.30am, Thursday morning, was taken with a pinch of salt.

This was because no clue was given as to why the CP invited him.  However, as soon as he got to the CP’s office, he received a shocker.

Then the bombshell! “We have discovered a house located in the middle of nowhere and surrounded by thick forest, where kidnappers have been keeping their victims.

You will go with me to that place to see for yourself the extent these criminals can go in perpetuating criminality”, Okorie told Crime Guard.

The trip was smooth up to Ejemekwuru in Oguta local government area and the convoy turned into a lonely earth road that links the community with Azara Obiato in Mbaitoli local council area. The convoy swam through several deep, stagnant waters along the road into the forest.

Honestly, I kept my cool because we had a full complement of so many armed mobile policemen that accompanied us to the fearful and lonely location. The convoy again turned right, after covering some kilometers, and started driving into the dense rain forest.

The vehicles came to a halt. We sighted some buildings. Some had been finished, while others were at varying stages of completion. The CP moved from one building to the other and carefully explained what we were seeing. We saw empty cement bags that served as beds for the kidnapped victims. There was also some currency wrappers left behind by the hoodlums. Shock was the word.

Then the Police boss opened up,  “The interesting thing about this place (the hideout) is that it was one of the first cases I handled when I was posted to Imo State. The traditional ruler of this community, Eze Chinedu Osuebi, made a complaint that he didn’t know what the owner of the premises was doing and what he was using this place for. He also said the premises is a security risk for the whole community”, the CP recalled.

Continuing, Mr. Okorie said the royal father said the owner of the property never fancied associating with members of the community, and only holed up with his people.

“Nobody enters here. Nobody can have access to this place. We have been investigating the matter. Then, all of a sudden, we saw another petition from the owner of this place, alleging that Eze Osuebi sent people to burn the place. Lawyers took it up from there.

The Command was almost going to charge the traditional ruler and some members of the community to court for arson but we took our time because I needed to see the place myself”, the CP said.

Answering a question, Mr. Okorie said that after a while, credible intelligence report revealed that the place was being used for deadly criminal activities, adding that the Command infiltrated the place with informants.

“I am now very sure of this particular place and what it is being used for. In fact, we were to storm this place but for the objections of the relations of the kidnapped victims, who feared that their loved ones could be hit by untended bullets. The family members paid the ransom and when we stormed here, they had already disappeared”, Okorie said.

“This type of isolated place is the better place for them to have used. The immediate neighbourhood is almost five-kilometer radius. There are no immediate neighbours. It is fortified but the back side of the premises empties into an endless forest. In the event of any security attack, they can beat a retreat”

He used the opportunity to appeal to traditional rulers to keep surveillance on all uncompleted and abandoned buildings, stressing that such places turn out to be havens for criminals.

“If not for the fact that the royal father of this community started a long time ago to complain about this premises. Before I knew it was here, I had already asked my men to go and invite the Eze. There was a day he came into my office and was almost weeping. He said the owner of the premises had become a law unto himself”, the CP said.

He further revealed that the owner of the premises, Mr. Francis Uzoechi, is from Isiekenesi in Ideato South local council area of the state, adding that “this is what makes the whole thing intriguing”. Okorie also said that the man claimed he planned to use the place as a monastery.

For now, Mr. Uzoechi is cooling his heels in the State Police Headquarters, Owerri. It was also gathered that the community have not been very happy with the man and at a point, there was a fracas and that can explain why we have liters of glasses around.

By virtue of the provisions of the anti_kidnap law, passed by Imo State House of Assembly, this compound has automatically become government property, following its usage as a home for kidnapped victims.

“I am not equivocating. I am confirming to you that this place was where they kept Laz Nwaozo. The Eze Isu, Eze Madumere was kept here. Laz Nwaozo was the last person they kept here”, the CP said.

Posted: at 24-09-2010 08:56 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ceenod at 24-09-2010 09:00 PM (13 years ago)
na so, u don talk am..

Posted: at 24-09-2010 09:00 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Librabilex at 24-09-2010 09:59 PM (13 years ago)
there time ill come..they shall be caught
Posted: at 24-09-2010 09:59 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- mydicksweet at 25-09-2010 06:25 AM (13 years ago)
I was here
Posted: at 25-09-2010 06:25 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 25-09-2010 06:44 AM (13 years ago)
i trust the nigeria police , they are always chassing the shadows rather than the objects , and the criminals are always very smarter and wiser than them ,with them its always a medicine after the death , irresponsible peoples
Posted: at 25-09-2010 06:44 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- mezkaz18 at 26-09-2010 02:32 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 25-09-2010 06:44 AM
i trust the nigeria police , they are always chassing the shadows rather than the objects , and the criminals are always very smarter and wiser than them ,with them its always a medicine after the death , irresponsible peoples
I no agree with you, the criminals are not smarter than the police.
If U kill  or rob a police officer you will know that naija police can work
Posted: at 26-09-2010 02:32 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 26-09-2010 03:54 PM (13 years ago)
so until you kill or robb a police officer before they can perform ? thats nonsense so , were they being paid to protects themselves or the citizen ? i still maintain it , the criminals are smarter and wiser than the nigerian police , atleast for now
Posted: at 26-09-2010 03:54 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- sixtyhoney at 28-09-2010 07:36 PM (13 years ago)
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Posted: at 28-09-2010 07:36 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- bibismall at 28-09-2010 10:49 PM (13 years ago)
can u imagine?

Posted: at 28-09-2010 10:49 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- chogzie at 28-09-2010 11:25 PM (13 years ago)
na wah oh
Posted: at 28-09-2010 11:25 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 29-09-2010 12:21 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bibismall on 28-09-2010 10:49 PM
can u imagine?

imagine what ?
Posted: at 29-09-2010 12:21 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- kanayoobaji at 29-09-2010 06:53 AM (13 years ago)
NAWOOOOOOOOOO MY SATE HAS TURNED TO SOME THING ELSE
Posted: at 29-09-2010 06:53 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- divineproject at 29-09-2010 10:24 AM (13 years ago)
One hideout down........many more to go all over the country..............

Posted: at 29-09-2010 10:24 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- gentlecub at 29-09-2010 11:07 AM (13 years ago)
HUUUMMMPHHH!!!... Who is deceiving who? The Eze told you about the place and you did what? You had to wait several years while the nefarious deals were done and sealed and the criminals packed up and left, before packing up your band of mopols to take a reporter ther to report WHAT? To report that you have stubled across an empty kidnapper's den? what have you achieved with that? Have they been caught? Or maybe your hounds will sniff around the place, then use their scents to hound them down?
How are we sure the Police were not involved in the kidnappings? A friend recently narrated how he was kidnapped around d same Imo state, and from his narration it was clear  the police were involved, e.g. the abduction happened at a police check point, when he was released after his ransome, the kidnappers told him to go to the nearby police station that his car was there, and he fount it there. the police station was even not far from the kidnappers den)
Secondly a close friend of mine was shot and killed last year. His car was snatched at gun point at Enugu and he went in search of it with policemen because the car had a tracking device on it. They tracked the car to Ebonyi and found it parked inside the compound of a police boss. My friend didnt come back alive, and we were told there was a shoot out with the criminals and he was shot.
Its too sad, but, guys, WE DONT HAVE A CREDIBLE POLICE FORCE IN NIGERIA!!!
Posted: at 29-09-2010 11:07 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ugochuks at 27-03-2011 12:34 PM (13 years ago)
WHAT THA phyuk U TALKING ABT? WE DONT HAVE POLICE IN NAIJA,, THOSE GUY IN UNIFORM SHOULD BELONG TO ANIMAL CONTROL UNIT,NIGERIA KO POLICE NI,,

Posted: at 27-03-2011 12:34 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- apprehended at 30-05-2011 01:45 PM (12 years ago)
k
Posted: at 30-05-2011 01:45 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- apprehended at 30-05-2011 01:46 PM (12 years ago)
k
Posted: at 30-05-2011 01:46 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

4. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

5. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

6. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,