Cecilia Ibru very ill

Date: 11-10-2010 9:55 am (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 11-10-2010 09:55 AM (13 years ago)

Convicted former Managing Director of Oceanic Bank PLC, Mrs Cecilia Ibru,is seriously ill and might need a miracle to survive the 18-month jail term slammed on her last Friday, without urgent medical assistance.

Justice Dan Abutu of Federal High Court, Lagos, convicted Mrs Ibru, who was arraigned by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) on a 25-count charge, after she pleaded guilty to three of the charges.

She is also to forfeit assets worth N191billion comprising of 49 properties located in Nigeria, United States, Dubai, and the United Arab Emirate.

But an EFCC source told Sunday Sun that the former bank chief “ would need a miracle to complete her jail term and come out alive because of her health challenges and that was perhaps why the judge ordered that she be taken to highbrow Reddington Hospital, Lagos, for continuation of her treatment.”

He disclosed, “she is seriously ill and she actually collapsed three times in the course of her trial. The first time was in August 2009 when she collapsed in the dock, the second time was on September 13, 2010 in Lagos while signing some documents and again on Friday after she was convicted.” The source revealed, “We have reason to believe that she has cardiac problems and might need the assistance of a surgeon to be able to live healthy again.”

Indeed, a source that visited her in detention added, “She once held my hand while in detention and her skin was burning hot. Her temperature of her hands was like the inside of an oven and she looked very pale with swollen legs. If you see her you will know she surely needs medical help.”

The EFCC source noted, “with the present condition of the woman, I doubt if she can withstand the rigours of prison life. She will need a miracle; our detention condition is far better than what she will discover in prison and my guess is she is not likely to be able to go through a week in prison without collapsing. How the prisons authorities would handle her health challenge is up to them, but surely she will need an elaborate medical attention.”

Another EFCC sources claimed it was because of the health challenges that Mrs Ibru did not allow her lawyers to use technicalities to delay the case. “She just wanted to get the case over with and face the music. She refused the long route that her lawyers gave her to delay the case. Apparently she wanted to get over this phase of her life as quickly as possible so that she can treat herself properly. Even the Commission was amazed at the way she decided to go for the trial promptly and even pleaded guilty to some of the charges. We were expecting her to deploy the usual delay tactics and stunts lawyers pull on EFCC.”

The source also added that the EFCC was amazed at the magnitude of the asset of the former bank chief. “Those assets are far too much for one person and you will ask yourself how she could have amassed all that as assets and yet the bank she headed did not collapse. And she was not in custody of the wealth of the entire Ibru family? The only plausible answer is that she was probably a conduit pipe for some people involved in money laundering and she just ploughed the money into assets.”

Posted: at 11-10-2010 09:55 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- moniconyez at 11-10-2010 10:56 AM (13 years ago)
DID I HEAR YOU MENTIONED 49 PROPETRTIES? MADAM  DE  MADAM,HAHAHAHAHA 9JAAAAAAAAAAAA. NO WONDER U FAIL SICK. WHY WOULDNT YOU?  OBETUARY.......................
Posted: at 11-10-2010 10:56 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- mykelly at 11-10-2010 11:03 AM (13 years ago)
she stole 190 bn =6months...interesting story indeed.
Posted: at 11-10-2010 11:03 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moniconyez at 11-10-2010 11:45 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: moniconyez on 11-10-2010 10:56 AM
DID I HEAR YOU MENTIONED 49 PROPETRTIES? MADAM  DE  MADAM,HAHAHAHAHA 9JAAAAAAAAAAAA. NO WONDER U FAIL SICK. WHY WOULDNT YOU?  OBETUARY.......................

Ok........................
Posted: at 11-10-2010 11:45 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Alex11 at 11-10-2010 12:14 PM (13 years ago)
Not only to be sick, she should die.
Posted: at 11-10-2010 12:14 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Eucharia at 11-10-2010 12:35 PM (13 years ago)
only 18months i thought it will be more than that compare to what she did, can u imagine one person  to forfeit assets worth N191billion comprising of 49 properties located in Nigeria, United States, Dubai, and the United Arab Emirate. this is complete criminal, is she the ony person in this world for only her to own all these. this 18moths is very small for this pls they can inccrese it.why would,nt she fall sick when she remember all these, abeg she can go to hell, this is wht greedy can caused. let her face the music ok. pity ke
Posted: at 11-10-2010 12:35 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- divineproject at 11-10-2010 12:45 PM (13 years ago)
Is this a ploy to stay away from prison?..............

Posted: at 11-10-2010 12:45 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 11-10-2010 01:01 PM (13 years ago)
THIS IS ONLY THE BEGINING. REMAIN OUR WICKED LEADERS.

Posted: at 11-10-2010 01:01 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ENIT at 11-10-2010 01:29 PM (13 years ago)
ha...she is sick...by his stripe you are hill in jesus name.....
Posted: at 11-10-2010 01:29 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- princedafe at 11-10-2010 01:57 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 11-10-2010 12:45 PM

wellsaid and supported
Posted: at 11-10-2010 01:57 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bitte at 11-10-2010 02:15 PM (13 years ago)
oh pls!!spare me with all that *&@#&$# crap,when she was busy stealing & looting  people's money to acquired those properties in & out of naija she never felt pity for the owners.The time to face the music they are trying to show mercy cuz she is ill. pity my foot...jail her let her face the consequence of her action greedy woman.rubbish!
Posted: at 11-10-2010 02:15 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kingsgoodman at 11-10-2010 02:21 PM (13 years ago)
I don't like that 18 months at allll, EFCC is encouraging those criminals more and more. For me i need death penalty for such offence. Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 11-10-2010 02:21 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- famous5 at 11-10-2010 03:40 PM (13 years ago)
Madam get well soon and face the consequence
Posted: at 11-10-2010 03:40 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vantheo at 11-10-2010 03:46 PM (13 years ago)
Prankster Grin

Posted: at 11-10-2010 03:46 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Maxodus at 11-10-2010 09:48 PM (13 years ago)
If na u dem collect all the big big money wey u don de plan for,se u no go sick? No blame am,make e tank God say dem no give am firing squad
Posted: at 11-10-2010 09:48 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- onyin at 11-10-2010 09:59 PM (13 years ago)
Refund all the money you stole and go face the law.When you dey buy those houses you no sick,na now you dey sick.Imagine people dying of hunger and you are busy buying houses all over the world with money that's not even yours.OLE!.
Posted: at 11-10-2010 09:59 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- oluwaferanmikor at 11-10-2010 10:10 PM (13 years ago)
Cecilia, you are a theif you surposed to go life jail for punishing the masses. What a durable shame......................................
Posted: at 11-10-2010 10:10 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- bali4real at 12-10-2010 12:09 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: moniconyez on 11-10-2010 10:56 AM
Grin Grin Grin ;Dlollllllllllllllllllllllllllz
Posted: at 12-10-2010 12:09 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bali4real at 12-10-2010 12:22 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Eucharia on 11-10-2010 12:35 PM
only 18months i thought it will be more than that compare to what she did, can u imagine one person  to forfeit assets worth N191billion comprising of 49 properties located in Nigeria, United States, Dubai, and the United Arab Emirate. this is complete criminal, is she the ony person in this world for only her to own all these. this 18moths is very small for this pls they can inccrese it.why would,nt she fall sick when she remember all these, abeg she can go to hell, this is wht greedy can caused. let her face the music ok. pity keabioh!greedy human being

Posted: at 12-10-2010 12:22 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bali4real at 12-10-2010 01:09 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 11-10-2010 12:45 PM
i fink so
Posted: at 12-10-2010 01:09 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac