Gamu Nhengu : Cheated And Deported

Date: 20-10-2010 7:52 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 20-10-2010 07:52 PM (13 years ago)
mbabwe teen and songbird Gamu Nhengu, who gave a standout performance for the British “ X Factor” reality show, is bearing up under trying times. After getting cut by one vote by the Factor’s panel of four white judges, she is now threatened with deportation by order of the UK Border Agency.

After her recent showstopping performance on X Factor, judge Cheryl Cole gushed: “I thought you were adorable, I got you. I love your style of song and how you perform.

But I'm sorry Gamu," the judge told the 18-year Zimbabwean student who lives in Scotland before delivering the bad news.

“I don't think I can take you further forward. You just need to keep going and get some more experience.”

The surprising turn of events prompted an outpouring of outrage from British TV viewers on Twitter and Facebook.  An online petition quickly filled with a thousand signatures and fans say they will write to MPs and immigration officials to block the deportation.

The pop singing Gamuchirai Nhengu had been living in the UK while her mother, Nokuthula Ngazana, completed her college studies. But Ngazana's visa expired and the application to remain was rejected as they did not meet refugee status criteria. The family now must leave the UK voluntarily or be forced to leave.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8wTtPxR9Y-0" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">Gamu Nhengu at Praise Gathering Choir Glasgow - official video</a>

A live recording of soloist Nhengu at the Praise Gathering Choir in Glasgow’s Royal Concert Hall

Officials are understood to be speaking to Gamu and her family, who arrived in Scotland from Zimbabwe five years ago, about leaving the UK. They do not have a right to appeal and the singer cannot apply separately to remain here.

Posted: at 20-10-2010 07:52 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- wunzie at 20-10-2010 08:41 PM (13 years ago)
Hmmmm...such a talented young woman!

Posted: at 20-10-2010 08:41 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DarkCoco at 20-10-2010 10:22 PM (13 years ago)
gesshh...ppl can b cruel, buh i guess she should hve replied her visa....UK just wanna bring a talented gurl down

Posted: at 20-10-2010 10:22 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- naijatomsa at 21-10-2010 02:21 AM (13 years ago)
She should just tell God what she wants... I believe He'll act in her favour!!
Posted: at 21-10-2010 02:21 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- bodeniyi at 21-10-2010 04:16 AM (13 years ago)
And whatever plan the devil has in your life will be unfilfilled, for you were born to reign, cheated or not, I see a brighter future, winning x factor might be a good choice and not a God's choice, just keep your head up high.. You're going higher, far enough that the judge who sent you home would say "Did I really evict such a prodigy, now she's all over the world"
Posted: at 21-10-2010 04:16 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chimeskan at 21-10-2010 04:40 AM (13 years ago)
Take heart. Not really d end of road, continue trust on what u belive in. D all & all 'll surely make a way 4 u & ur family.

Posted: at 21-10-2010 04:40 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Makasine at 21-10-2010 06:07 AM (13 years ago)
God definitely blessed her with such a beautiful voice.
Posted: at 21-10-2010 06:07 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- kayfem at 21-10-2010 07:43 AM (13 years ago)
hummmmmmm..... Still passing
Posted: at 21-10-2010 07:43 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- silverbird-2004 at 21-10-2010 08:22 AM (13 years ago)
GASH WE ARE HUMAN AND FAMILY NO MATTER WHAT PLEASE GIVE A CHANCE. I KNOW G BRITAIN IS BEAUTIFUL AND WOULD NOT LIKE TO KILL A DREAM JUST COMING UP. THANKS GB 
Posted: at 21-10-2010 08:22 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Adikpe at 21-10-2010 09:56 AM (13 years ago)
I don't even know her
Posted: at 21-10-2010 09:56 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bestheart at 21-10-2010 10:13 AM (13 years ago)
Na so, me self I don't know her, But she is talented.
Posted: at 21-10-2010 10:13 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- plainheart at 21-10-2010 10:29 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Adikpe on 21-10-2010 09:56 AM
I don't even know her
Gamu Nhengu, take this is a evidence of greatness if U re not discouraged. Move on and pursue Ur dream.
Posted: at 21-10-2010 10:29 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- uprising at 21-10-2010 10:34 AM (13 years ago)
the british govt suppose to have sympathy on this poor girl the masses of the country are solidly behind the girl supporting her even in her ordeal they should follw the popular demand by mases who came out with placard in support of her i blame cheryl cole for starting this
Posted: at 21-10-2010 10:34 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- solid_solid at 21-10-2010 10:41 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Adikpe on 21-10-2010 09:56 AM
I don't even know her

and me too
Posted: at 21-10-2010 10:41 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Duggy at 21-10-2010 11:05 AM (13 years ago)
For all those with "I dont even know her" comments......well the level of fame (though not yet very high) she has is cuz of her outstanding performances on X-factor. So there's no way u would have known her if u neither watch X-factor nor listen to good news. But at least, u know her now
Posted: at 21-10-2010 11:05 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Toks-E at 21-10-2010 11:09 AM (13 years ago)
Proof to show you that UK is a freaking racist country. After her mum was advised by the Work and Pensions Bureau that she was entitled to claim tax credits, they then turn around and say she committed a crime by claiming tax credits..bullshit country, they are never straight forward.

Posted: at 21-10-2010 11:09 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- eddybabs at 21-10-2010 11:12 AM (13 years ago)
old story... so na so u dey carry old story come feed us for naijapals right??
Posted: at 21-10-2010 11:12 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tmusowoya at 21-10-2010 11:37 AM (13 years ago)
I don't know why but I see this a blessing in disguise for the gal!!!
Posted: at 21-10-2010 11:37 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sixtyhoneyy at 21-10-2010 11:56 AM (13 years ago)
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm poor you,
Posted: at 21-10-2010 11:56 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nicestobi at 21-10-2010 12:32 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 21-10-2010 12:32 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac