Jonathan laments quality of Nigerian graduates

Date: 22-11-2010 11:30 am (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 22-11-2010 11:30 AM (13 years ago)

President Goodluck Jonathan on Saturday expressed concern about the poor quality of graduates from the nation‘s tertiary institutions, saying the development had compounded the problems of youth unemployment in the country.

The president, however, assured that the Federal Government was committed to addressing the development, which he described as embarrassing, in order to save the country‘s educational system, the future of its youths and the nation’s industrial growth.

Jonathan stated this in a message delivered on his behalf by the Minister of Science and Technology, Prof. Mohammed Abubakar, at the convocation of the Federal University of Technology, Akure.

He noted that many graduates who managed to secure employment in industries were sometimes considered unfit due to the poor education they acquired from their schools.

The President therefore challenged tertiary institutions in the country to rededicate themselves to producing graduates that would be of comparable standard to other graduates all over the world.

He said, “Government on its part, will address the issue so as to engage gainfully our youth in productive activities”

Jonathan said that apart from the special programme for youth in the Niger Delta area, the Federal Government had opened up avenues for opportunities in several sectors of the economy.

He added that each university in the country had been directed through the National Universities Commission, to package a programme that would entail every student offering compulsory entrepreneurial studies course before they graduate.

The president said the Presidential Committee on Entrepreneurship Education in Nigerian Higher Educational Institutions was set up in order to give the system the deserved backing.

Posted: at 22-11-2010 11:30 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bafyguy at 22-11-2010 12:21 PM (13 years ago)
The President should not use that as an excuse for the unemployment problem
Posted: at 22-11-2010 12:21 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- solojaro at 22-11-2010 04:45 PM (13 years ago)
The truth is very bitter , Can you imagine where a graduate can not even write a formal letters. she was also asked to summerise the letter, which she could not do. yet she is graduates, a product of a Nigerian Univesity.
Posted: at 22-11-2010 04:45 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abby at 22-11-2010 04:46 PM (13 years ago)
yes but we can have illitrates and idiots as leaders... those are the ones fit to employ...  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 22-11-2010 04:46 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- 4kasibe247 at 22-11-2010 04:48 PM (13 years ago)
let dem just do whats best 4 nigerian youth
Posted: at 22-11-2010 04:48 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ksurrina at 22-11-2010 05:08 PM (13 years ago)
The only way a person can go through UNIVERSITY and HIGH SCHOOL with a Certificate and is unable to do what is require of them, they were place there through witchcraft and not because of their abilities. So this speech by the President only allow the World to look at Nigerians as "EDUCATED DUNCE." The Professor who wrote this and give him to read only let the LECTURERS at the school look as if they are passing out graduates because they cannot do better. Also that the segxwal TRADE that are portrayed in the Nigerian Movies are truthful were University Graduates are concern.

My advice to Mr. President is that not everything is to make headline. This was given to you call a meeting and discuss it. That is what LOVE is, it shows compassion and not shame.

Posted: at 22-11-2010 05:08 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- oyez at 22-11-2010 05:19 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: solojaro on 22-11-2010 04:45 PM
The truth is very bitter , Can you imagine where a graduate can not even write a formal letters. she was also asked to summerise the letter, which she could not do. yet she is graduates, a product of a Nigerian Univesity.

bros...well done o...U dey talk person o and ur own dey ur handwriting...that's why me just kuma talk for pidgin English so them no go see my own blunderical grammar... Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Posted: at 22-11-2010 05:19 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- xena15 at 22-11-2010 05:48 PM (13 years ago)
@oyez,lol

Posted: at 22-11-2010 05:48 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- LEONE at 22-11-2010 06:06 PM (13 years ago)
Mr. president you are hired 2 solve solve problems not 2 compound it.
Posted: at 22-11-2010 06:06 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- nenemelody147 at 22-11-2010 06:33 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: oyez on 22-11-2010 05:19 PM

bross is you that know pass,commo letter writing no common oooooh.na people like you goodluck dey talk about ooooh.check ur spellins and punctuations.lol

Posted: at 22-11-2010 06:33 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- achala at 22-11-2010 06:45 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Abby on 22-11-2010 04:46 PM
yes but we can have illitrates and idiots as leaders... those are the ones fit to employ...  Roll Eyes
many of them especially girls
Posted: at 22-11-2010 06:45 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Abby at 22-11-2010 06:52 PM (13 years ago)
Huh?... there are very few female leaders in Nigeria
Posted: at 22-11-2010 06:52 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- odiono at 22-11-2010 07:09 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Abby on 22-11-2010 06:52 PM

WHAT HAS FEMALE LEADERSHIP GOT TO DO WITH THIS TOPIC? THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT THE QUALITY OF GRADUATES BEING TURNED OUT YEAR IN AND YEAR OUT WITH THE RESULTING UNEMPLOYMENT, YOU ARE HERE TALKING GENDER AND MARGINALISATION!
Posted: at 22-11-2010 07:09 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- oyez at 22-11-2010 07:15 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: odiono on 22-11-2010 07:09 PM

WHAT HAS FEMALE LEADERSHIP GOT TO DO WITH THIS TOPIC? THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT THE QUALITY OF GRADUATES BEING TURNED OUT YEAR IN AND YEAR OUT WITH THE RESULTING UNEMPLOYMENT, YOU ARE HERE TALKING GENDER AND MARGINALISATION!

bros...maybe u should read up through the post trails...u would know why the lady said what she said

lol...jumping into assumptions and conclusions is just another case of unemployable Nigerians Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Posted: at 22-11-2010 07:15 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abby at 22-11-2010 07:21 PM (13 years ago)
 Grin  Grin @ Oyez, thank you
Posted: at 22-11-2010 07:21 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- odiono at 22-11-2010 08:08 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: oyez on 22-11-2010 07:15 PM
Quote from: odiono on 22-11-2010 07:09 PM

bros...maybe u should read up through the post trails...u would know why the lady said what she said

lol...jumping into assumptions and conclusions is just another case of unemployable Nigerians Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

THE LAST POSTER B4 MY QUOTED POSTER SAID THEY ARE MAINLY GIRLS WHO ARE MOSTLY THE HALF BAKED GRADUATES! WHAT IS THE RELATIONSHIP OF THIS WITH ''FEMALE LEADERSHIP'' BEING IN LESSER NUMBER
THERE COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER CONTRIBUTIONS LIKE PROPER FUNDING OF OUR EDUCATIONAL SECTOR, REDEFINING THE MODALITIES, PUTTING IN PLACE LASTING STRUCTURES AND POLICIES THAT WILL ENSURE THE SYSTEM MOVE UP SHOULDER TALL WITH OTHER SCHOOLS OF THE ADVANCED WORLD, EQUIPPING ALL LIBARIES INCLUDING THOSE OUTSIDE SCHOOL COMPOUND, MAKING AVAILABLE ALL LEARNING AND READING MATERIALS SUCH THAT BOTH THE CHILDREN OF THE RICH AND POOR HAVE ASSESS TO THEM ETC  HERE YOU ARE BUSY GIVING BACK UP TO SOME SENSELESS CONTRIBUTION. INSTEAD OF SOUNDING FOOLISH AFTER SOME ALTERANCES IT IS ALWAYS THE BEST TO BE QUITE!
Posted: at 22-11-2010 08:08 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- gokemi at 22-11-2010 09:03 PM (13 years ago)
may GOD help us.our leaders should rise up and do the necessary thing.the problem is not with education but with Nigeria system.it is when u face a side that is when u will start complaining about that side,the real thing is that our system is so bad that everything is upside down and u know we all know these things but nobody is doing anything.let us keep calling GOD to help us.but if u are there today and u refuse to do the right thing GOD will surely ask u and u will pay for it.GOD BLESS NIGERIA
Posted: at 22-11-2010 09:03 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Abby at 22-11-2010 09:29 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: achala on 22-11-2010 06:45 PM
Quote from: Abby on 22-11-2010 04:46 PM
many of them especially girls

I wrote about illiterate leaders being  fit to be employed, I was being sarcastic, I wrote about leaders. Achala's response I interpreted as, many of the leaders especially the women are illiterate, he brought in gender. My reply was that  there are very few female leaders, meaning saying that many of the leaders are illiterate especially the women does not make much sense to me when the majority of the leaders are men hence the huh emoticon.  so yeah if he was responding to me and not  the post, me writing about female  leadership is justified because I was wrote about leaders, he brought in gender and I was responding to him.  Which isn't too hard to comprehend, its just  3 lines, if you read and understand what you read its not that hard to figure out.
By the way where is your sensible contribution? are you doing something about it?, are you taking it to the president directly? relax its the internet, no need to get too excited.
Posted: at 22-11-2010 09:29 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- smilingtodbank at 22-11-2010 09:56 PM (13 years ago)
i think docility is the problem of our youths & it has affected their intellect, somebody feel me...
Posted: at 22-11-2010 09:56 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- donuche at 22-11-2010 10:10 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: oyez on 22-11-2010 05:19 PM

bros...well done o...U dey talk person o and ur own dey ur handwriting...that's why me just kuma talk for pidgin English so them no go see my own blunderical grammar... Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

na waa for u dis boy,no respect for ur elders abi?.lol
Posted: at 22-11-2010 10:10 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 5