Atiku may face fresh screening

Date: 29-11-2010 11:20 am (13 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 29-11-2010 11:20 AM (13 years ago)

There were indications in Abuja on Sunday that former Vice-President Atiku Abubakar might face fresh screening, in his party, in his bid to realise his presidential ambition.

Governor Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom State, who is also a member of the Peoples Democratic Party’s National Executive Committee, told our one correspondents, that the party’s leadership might take a second look at the waiver granted to the Adamawa-born politician.

Akpabio, who spoke to journalists on Sunday, said that a screening committee might be set up by the PDP to determine if the waiver granted Abubakar followed due process.

“We are still not sure that the due process of getting waiver has been followed. So, we are still waiting to see the screening committee result (and) when they (aspirants) will eventually face the screening committee,” the governor said.

The former vice-president decamped from the PDP to the Action Congress (now Action Congress of Nigeria) to pursue his presidential ambition, after his disagreements with former President Olusegun Obasanjo had deepened.

He was the candidate of the AC in the 2007 presidential elections but lost to the PDP condidate, the late President Umaru Yar’Adua.

Abubakar returned to the PDP after he was granted a waiver by the Okwesilieze Nwodo-led National Working Committee.

Akpabio raised questions on Abubakar’s pictures, published in newspapers after his declaration as the consensus candidate of the North by the Northern Political Leaders Forum.

The pictures, according to him, showed the presidential aspirant holding a broom, the symbol of the ACN. This, he said, raised questions about Abubakar’s loyalty as a member of the PDP.

The governor said, “If you noticed, immediately after the announcement of the consensus candidate, the picture that was shown was a picture (of him) with a broom, sweeping and showing previous campaigns of the former vice-president as AC presidential candidate.

“For us, we were shocked. If you were jubilating with a broom, that shows clearly that we are talking about two different (political) parties, one AC and one PDP, then something is wrong.”

But Akpabio added that Abubakar was not a threat to President Goodluck Jonathan’s presidential ambition.

He argued that while Abubakar was yet to find his feet in the PDP, Jonathan and Vice-President Namadi Sambo, had been established in the party.

“As at today, I have not seen much and I believe that the PDP governors and faithful will return President Jonathan, and Sambo, as the PDP consensus candidate for the 2011 presidential election,” he said.

The governor also added that Abubakar was a candidate of a “panel of friends” while the Goodluck/Sambo candidacy is a national ticket.

“The other one (Abubakar) was the consensus candidate of a panel of good friends. But this one, we will be looking at President Goodluck/Sambo as possible,” he said.

When contacted on the claims by Akpabio, the National Publicity Secretary of the PDP, Prof. Rufai Alkali, said it would be unfair for him to respond to what he did not hear.

Also, a Director in the Atiku Campaign Organisation, Dr. Adeolu Akande, said he was sure that Akpabio had been misquoted.

“As a member of the PDP NEC, the governor ought to know the rules. He ought to be knowledgeable enough to know what the rules of the party say,” Akande, who added that the waiver given the former Vice-President was legal, said.

Posted: at 29-11-2010 11:20 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- princedafe at 29-11-2010 11:30 AM (13 years ago)
storey storey storey
Posted: at 29-11-2010 11:30 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sikirushaibu at 29-11-2010 11:34 AM (13 years ago)
I wonder where people like the Governor in question come about their wisdom. I am confident that if Ekweme committe actually recommend re-admission for former members. Atiku Abubakar is close to becoming the next President of Nigeria. Most of Goodluck supporters are not helping this gentle man. We thougt Molue politics has ended with Adedibu and the exit OBJ in power. But we are mistaken. Who knows how many ego driven Governors like Akpabio still exist.
Posted: at 29-11-2010 11:34 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- walerian at 29-11-2010 12:32 PM (13 years ago)
let em all rot in hell. i so much believe sm 1 strong in naija politics wld be gone b4 2011 polls
Posted: at 29-11-2010 12:32 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 30-11-2010 04:41 PM (13 years ago)
hmmmmm.............if the statement is true of Akpabio, then without much ado, one knows where his loyalty lies............

Posted: at 30-11-2010 04:41 PM (13 years ago) | Hero

1. VIDEO: Man Arrested After Being Caught Sleeping With His Friend's Wife

2. Actress Wumi Toriola Rejoices As She Completes Master’s Degree At Lautech, Shares Photos

3. Junior Pope; Movie Producer, Adanma Luke Denies Claims That She Abandons Families Boat Mishap

4. How German Police Arrest 11 Nigerians Over Dating Scam

5. 'Reality TV Show, Social Media Portray My Parents In Bad Light' – 2Baba’s Daughter, Isabella

6. 21Yr Old Parents Accuse Of Beating Their 5 Week Old Twin Girls To Death

7. "If Yahaya Bello Is Not Prosecuted, I’ll Resign" — Olukoyede Vows

8. "I Will Never Play Dumb To Promote A Song" –Popular Rapper, Ice Prince

9. Tragedy Struck Kaduna Community Again As Bandits Kill 3 Persons, Abduct 8 Others

10. Traders Count Losses As Fire Destroy Goods Worth Billions Of Naira In Edo

11. UPDATE: FAAN Reopens Lagos Airport Runway After Dana Air Incident

12. Nigerian Software Engineer, Chukwudi Rape 13Yr Old Girl On Children’s Day In Lagos

7. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office