Date: 29-11-2010 6:25 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Parks Papindanyoka
- at 29-11-2010 06:25 PM (13 years ago)
Zimbabwe facing influx of Nigerian illegal immigrants
Monday, 29 November 2010 09:27 Editor
E-mail Print PDF

Correspondent

ZIMBABWE has arrested eight illegal Nigerian immigrants who sneaked into the country using illegal entry points, it has been reported.

Assistant Regional Immigration Officer Mr Evans Siziba on Friday said four of the immigrants had previously been deported twice but had found their way back into the country.

All eight are in police custody.

Some of them were illegally running small shops in Harare’s city centre.

Mr Siziba said: "I can confirm that we have nabbed eight Nigerians who entered the country using illegal entry points.

"Four of them were previously deported twice and this is the third time they were arrested for entering the country illegally.

"We feel that our laws should be enforced and give them a custodial sentence. We cannot continue to waste resources and manpower deporting the same people."

The eight are Marcus Nwoni, Obioma Abasirim Temple, Tony Udemba Okuchu-kwu, Okafor Cyril Achinuke, Obumnene Ibell, Nkemakolam Udoka, Princent Ezea-sukulume and Gordon George, who was caught with a Ghanaian passport.

Many foreigners are believed to be staying in Zimbabwe illegally and are running unregistered businesses.

In recent years a considerable number of immigrants, particularly Nigerians, have been deported for various reasons.

Some of them had entered marriages of convenience with Zimbabwean women in order to secure residence permits.

Posted: at 29-11-2010 06:25 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- yettyness at 29-11-2010 07:48 PM (13 years ago)
Oh dear!
Posted: at 29-11-2010 07:48 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Renewed at 29-11-2010 07:58 PM (13 years ago)
Naija I hail O! E get anywhere wey we nor dey pass backyard enter? Grin

Posted: at 29-11-2010 07:58 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Renewed at 29-11-2010 08:02 PM (13 years ago)
But come to think of it, why Zimbabwe go dey complain say we enter illegally? Dem know how many of their citizens they illegally reside for Naija???

Posted: at 29-11-2010 08:02 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- mavhaty at 30-11-2010 02:51 AM (13 years ago)
Have you ever seen a Zimbabwean in Nigeria? You are definitely out of your mind or else you do not know your geography at all. What will be a Zimbabwean looking for in Nigeria, Zimbabwe is the second richest country in Africa apart from South Africa, so what in the world would a Zimbabwean be looking for?
Posted: at 30-11-2010 02:51 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- simele at 30-11-2010 07:52 AM (13 years ago)
receive them then will bring development to ur country we are GOOD PEOPLE GREAT NATION OOOOOOOOO
Posted: at 30-11-2010 07:52 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Renewed at 30-11-2010 08:21 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: mavhaty on 30-11-2010 02:51 AM
Have you ever seen a Zimbabwean in Nigeria? You are definitely out of your mind or else you do not know your geography at all. What will be a Zimbabwean looking for in Nigeria, Zimbabwe is the second richest country in Africa apart from South Africa, so what in the world would a Zimbabwean be looking for?

Speak for yourself, Bro...you ain't everywhere... Angry

Posted: at 30-11-2010 08:21 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sixtyhoneyy at 30-11-2010 09:22 AM (13 years ago)
hmmmm anyway i don't know what you people are talking about
Posted: at 30-11-2010 09:22 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chudy1800 at 30-11-2010 01:35 PM (13 years ago)
Even Zimbabwe, Naija I weep for you.
Posted: at 30-11-2010 01:35 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- princedafe at 30-11-2010 01:43 PM (13 years ago)
Nawa wetiin dey there sefz
Posted: at 30-11-2010 01:43 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- walerian at 30-11-2010 02:31 PM (13 years ago)
i tink i'll rather rot in naija than run to Zimbabwe lol
Posted: at 30-11-2010 02:31 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blings_is_back at 30-11-2010 02:37 PM (13 years ago)
wetin them dey go find there kwan?
Posted: at 30-11-2010 02:37 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- MwanaWevhu at 2-06-2011 11:54 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: simele on 30-11-2010 07:52 AM
receive them then will bring development to ur country we are GOOD PEOPLE GREAT NATION OOOOOOOOO
Quote from: Renewed on 29-11-2010 08:02 PM
But come to think of it, why Zimbabwe go dey complain say we enter illegally? Dem know how many of their citizens they illegally reside for Naija???

ZERO, is the answer.
Posted: at 2-06-2011 11:54 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- MwanaWevhu at 2-06-2011 11:56 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: walerian on 30-11-2010 02:31 PM
i tink i'll rather rot in naija than run to Zimbabwe lol

My brother Zimbabwe on a bad day is Better than the rest of West Africa. Just ask yourself why a person deported three times will sneak back all the way from West Africa, hmm, rocket science.
Posted: at 2-06-2011 11:56 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- MwanaWevhu at 2-06-2011 11:57 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: chudy1800 on 30-11-2010 01:35 PM
Even Zimbabwe, Naija I weep for you.

lol, Zimbabwe my brother at it worst is better than Nigeria.
Posted: at 2-06-2011 11:57 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- MwanaWevhu at 2-06-2011 11:58 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Renewed on 30-11-2010 08:21 AM

Speak for yourself, Bro...you ain't everywhere... Angry

Aint no room even for Nigerians in Nigeria, I wonder why a Zimbabwean would move to live ILLEGALY in crowded Nigeria, Hmmmmm. Just my 2 sense. You figure this out.
Posted: at 2-06-2011 11:58 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- MwanaWevhu at 3-06-2011 12:00 AM (12 years ago)

Taura hako mavhat, I think the Only Zimbabweans in Nigeria are the farmers(white) being recruited to nigeria. Mabroder ekuwest africa anebrain dzakabvongonyoka,
Posted: at 3-06-2011 12:00 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- mavhaty at 4-11-2011 11:44 PM (12 years ago)
Nigerian pays woman US$10 for marriage of convenience
A HARARE woman was paid US$10 to enter into a marriage of convenience with a Nigerian who wanted to secure a residence permit, a senior immigration official said yesterday.
Assistant Regional Immigration officer Mr Francis Mabika said another Nigerian put a local woman on a US$80 monthly salary for entering into a marriage of convenience.
A third Nigerian man married two local women.
Mr Mabika said the trio had since been arrested and still assisting police with investigations.
Silvester Nwaozuzu allegedly paid Erina Matindike, a Harare vendor-based at the courts, US$10 to enter into a marriage of convenience.
It is alleged that sometime in 2006, Matindike was approached by Barbara Mwanakanda who informed her that someone wanted to pay for a marriage of convenience.
Mr Mabika said Mwanakanda persuaded Matindike to wed Nwaozuzu at the Harare Magistrates' Courts.
In her affidavit, Matindike stated that she committed the crime out of desperation.
"I needed money so I agreed to sign the marriage certificate," she stated.
Two days later, Matindike stated, Nwaozuzu approached her asking for her life history in the event he was quizzed by immigration officials.
"Since 2006 Silvester (Nwaozuzu) would give me groceries and bus fare to travel to Chiweshe every Christmas," Matindike said.
She said Nwaozuzu later bought her a refrigerator.
"I confirm that my marriage to Silvester Nwaozuzu was fake and I no longer want to go against the law," Matindike stated in her affidavit.
The facilitator Mwanakanda was, in May last year, arrested for allegedly entering into a marriage of convenience with a Nigerian man while she was already married to a Zimbabwean soldier.
Mwanakanda married the Nigerian in 2006 to help him get a Zimbabwe residence permit.
In the second case, Jude Amaechi Eze married Felistas Dune (29) in March 2006 after the two agreed on US$30 fee.
After the "wedding" Eze reportedly started giving Dune a monthly salary of US$80 and the two were not staying together.
Eze is alleged to have even promised to buy Dune a house in Harare.
The woman was yesterday picked up for questioning at the immigration department.
Dune was reportedly influenced by her brother-in-law Lovemore Machuma to enter into the marriage of convenience with Eze.
On Tuesday, police arrested another Nigerian Hilary Uwaoma Ajaero for entering into marriages of convenience with two women - Fadzai Charity Mazuru and Greater Tariro Gwekwerere.
"Ajaero entered the country in September 2004 and wedded Fadzai Charity Mazuru (marriage certificate number 2256/04) before wedding again Greater Tariro Gwekwerere (marriage certificate number 2683/04) on October 20, 2004," he said.
According to Gwekwerere the two met in Belvedere in April 2004 and were in a relationship up until August 2008.
She said late in 2008, Ajaero phoned her while she was in Bulawayo saying he wanted her assistance with immigration issues.
"We went to his brother's shop along Robert Mugabe Road where I was made to sign some documents but I didn't know what they were for until last year in September," Gwekwerere said.
In September she heard rumours circulating that she was married and that is when she discovered that she had been duped into signing marriage certificates.
"I would like the marriage certificates to be terminated because I want to move on with my life. I never stayed with him or did anything married people do since I signed those papers," Gwekwerere said in her affidavit.
Gwekwerere said Mazuru; who is now married to another Nigerian, Gozie Nwudoh; met Ajaero along Cameroon Street in 2004.
At the time the two were attending the same church.
Mazuru said Ajaero asked her to marry him so that he would continue staying in the country.
The same year, Mazuru got married to Nwudoh and she went back to Ajaero to cancel the marriage certificates.
http://www.thezimbabwemail.com/zimbabwe/9541-nigerian-pays-woman-us-10-for-marriage-of-convenience.html
Posted: at 4-11-2011 11:44 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- GullahGeeche at 5-11-2011 12:46 AM (12 years ago)
i don't understand this. Zimbabweans are sneaking into South Africa even at the risk of death by the angry S.Africans who claim they are taking their jobs. Now Nigerians are sneaking into Zimbabwe. Hmmmm   Huh?
Posted: at 5-11-2011 12:46 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- justix2bb at 26-12-2011 06:39 AM (12 years ago)

One Nigeria will buy the whole of Zimbabwe...
Posted: at 26-12-2011 06:39 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie