Nigerian John Abraham Godson is first black Legislator in Poland

Date: 14-12-2010 2:37 pm (13 years ago) | Author: WhoBdat
- at 14-12-2010 02:37 PM (13 years ago)

John Abraham Godson, a Polish citizen born and raised in Nigeria, has been sworn in as the first black member of Poland's parliament.

Mr Godson had served as a councillor in the city of Lodz before taking up a parliamentary seat, vacated by a party colleague after local elections.

His entry into parliament has created a media stir in the mainly white country.

He came to Poland in the 1990s, opening an English-language school and working as a pastor in a Protestant church.

He has since married a Polish woman and the couple have four children.
Beaten up twice

A member of the centre-right Civic Platform party, he was appointed to the seat vacated by party colleague Hanna Zdanowskaafter after she became mayor of Lodz.

It is still quite rare to see black people even in the Polish capital Warsaw, Poland's most cosmopolitan city, the BBC's Adam Easton reports.

Racism is still a problem in Poland, where it is not uncommon for well-educated people to make racist jokes, our correspondent says.

Mr Godson was beaten up twice in the early 1990s but he says attitudes to black people in Poland are changing for the better, particularly since the country joined the EU six years ago.

Speaking earlier to Polish radio, Mr Godson said: "I am from Lodz, I will live here, I want to die here and I want to be buried here."

Posted: at 14-12-2010 02:37 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- kebella at 14-12-2010 02:47 PM (13 years ago)
CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted: at 14-12-2010 02:47 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- betty55 at 14-12-2010 04:29 PM (13 years ago)
proud of u man.God help soo much.l pray he continue to help always.we need this kan thing for germany ooh.this hitler people sef na wao.l beleive their deliverance is on the way.amen
Posted: at 14-12-2010 04:29 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- dejiavu505 at 14-12-2010 04:35 PM (13 years ago)
good example to all Nigerians home and aboard congrat...
Posted: at 14-12-2010 04:35 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- godspilosky at 14-12-2010 04:48 PM (13 years ago)
Congrats we proud of u
Posted: at 14-12-2010 04:48 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- yettyness at 14-12-2010 05:17 PM (13 years ago)
Great news..maybe he will pave the way for other black people.
Posted: at 14-12-2010 05:17 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- goge at 14-12-2010 05:32 PM (13 years ago)
Well done my son. I am proud of you .
From Thai
Posted: at 14-12-2010 05:32 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- vanilla at 14-12-2010 05:38 PM (13 years ago)
Yeah, you should be proud of him. He is really smart.
Watched interview with him yesterday on our polish tv, wat he talk about is really sensible... Things he says make even more sense dan tings dat oder polish politicians say Tongue
Posted: at 14-12-2010 05:38 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- madrid at 14-12-2010 05:52 PM (13 years ago)
Vanilla where you from....i reside in spain but most time my company do post me to work in TORUN ,POLAND....
Posted: at 14-12-2010 05:52 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- kinkino at 14-12-2010 06:13 PM (13 years ago)
tripl gbozaa 4 u man!!!!!
Posted: at 14-12-2010 06:13 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- TOCHI4LOVE at 14-12-2010 07:59 PM (13 years ago)
THAT´S GOOD
Posted: at 14-12-2010 07:59 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- bafyguy at 14-12-2010 08:19 PM (13 years ago)
Congrats man. You have make us proud
Posted: at 14-12-2010 08:19 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dumosky2010 at 14-12-2010 08:45 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: WhoBdat on 14-12-2010 02:37 PM

John Abraham Godson, a Polish citizen born and raised in Nigeria, has been sworn in as the first black member of Poland's parliament.

Mr Godson had served as a councillor in the city of Lodz before taking up a parliamentary seat, vacated by a party colleague after local elections.

He came to Poland in the 1990s, opening an English-language school and working as a pastor in a Protestant church.

Beaten up twice

A member of the centre-right Civic Platform party, he was appointed to the seat vacated by party colleague Hanna Zdanowskaafter after she became mayor of Lodz.

It is still quite rare to see black people even in the Polish capital Warsaw, Poland's most cosmopolitan city, the BBC's Adam Easton reports.

Racism is still a problem in Poland, where it is not uncommon for well-educated people to make racist jokes, our correspondent says.

Mr Godson was beaten up twice in the early 1990s but he says attitudes to black people in Poland are changing for the better, particularly since the country joined the EU six years ago.

Speaking earlier to Polish radio, Mr Godson said: "I am from Lodz, I will live here, I want to die here and I want to be buried here."

Awwwwww.....that is so sweet...n he got cute children toooo....congrats sir....it's getting to the point Sir.
Posted: at 14-12-2010 08:45 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- dollar22 at 15-12-2010 12:18 AM (13 years ago)
thats good
Posted: at 15-12-2010 12:18 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bazemaster at 15-12-2010 12:20 AM (13 years ago)

Posted: at 15-12-2010 12:20 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FinlandGuy at 15-12-2010 01:01 AM (13 years ago)
Niaja  we no dey cary last. instead wey we go carry last  we go play ojoro  to make sure say we no cary last.I dig your style man. God bless You
Posted: at 15-12-2010 01:01 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- miss-charming at 15-12-2010 02:50 AM (13 years ago)
congratulations,we are proud of you,we need more of such from that country.
Posted: at 15-12-2010 02:50 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- destiny247 at 15-12-2010 04:37 AM (13 years ago)
Congrats man. Please I want to use this medium to express and profess my love for your daughter, I mean the by the left she looks like an indian. I will be coming to Poland for some introductions. I am in Malaysia but expect me soon.. Blacks are the key to all countries despite the racism we are still taking over. Here in Malaysia na war in terms of racism they are the # 1.but we still run them in some angles.. peace..
Posted: at 15-12-2010 04:37 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- jfchosendotCOM at 15-12-2010 09:09 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: FinlandGuy on 15-12-2010 01:01 AM
Niaja  we no dey cary last. instead wey we go carry last  we go play ojoro  to make sure say we no cary last.I dig your style man. God bless You

)))))))))))))
Posted: at 15-12-2010 09:09 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- MissyBarbie at 15-12-2010 09:18 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: WhoBdat on 14-12-2010 02:37 PM

Beaten up twice

[/color][/size]

Huh?Huh? Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 15-12-2010 09:18 AM (13 years ago) | Hero