Presidency to spend N1.57m on food daily

Date: 04-01-2011 12:28 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
[1] 2 3 4 ... 10
- at 4-01-2011 12:28 PM (13 years ago)

Emerging details of this year’s budget proposals indicate that the Presidency has proposed to spend N574m on food in 2011. When this total is spread over the 365 days in 2011, the average amount that the Presidency will spend on food per day is a little over N1.57m.

The N574m is N168.7m more than the N405.3m spent by the same office on ‘food stuff supplies’ in 2010. However, the 2010 figure is exclusive of the sum expended on foods eaten during summits. A separate sub-head for “meals/entertainment” for summits held at the State House last year totalled N73m.

It (N574m) is also part of the N13.9bn that will be used to fund sub-heads and the overhead cost of the State House or Presidential Villa.

The details, which our correspondent obtained on Monday, showed that the rehabilitation of the State House Guest House in the Marina, Lagos, would cost N1.2bn.

Similarly, “residential furniture” items for the Presidency are to be purchased for a whopping N1.1bn this year.

The furnishing of Vice-President’s two guest houses — one in Asokoro and the other called “Aguda House,”— will cost N500m.

The furniture for the guest house in Asokoro will cost N100m, while that of Aguda House will consume N400m.

Incidentally, the lounge of Aguda Guest House was extended in 2010 for N50m. Another guest house was also furnished for the Vice-President’s use in 2010 for N50m.

This year, the “purchase of canteen/kitchen equipment” for the Presidential Villa will also gulp N553.6m.

Further details of the 2011 budget estimates showed that out of the N553.6m, N150m will be used to fund “household equipment and materials for the Vice-President’s office.”

However, in 2010, a provision of N240m was made for the purchase of office, household and kitchen equipment for Asokoro Guest House.

Other details show that the Director of Protocol to the Vice-President, his Aide- De- Camp, and other aides are to be housed in new official quarters to cost N560m in 2011.

Dodan Barracks in Lagos will also benefit from the presidential renovation in 2011, as it has a provision of N400m in the budget.

President Goodluck Jonathan presented a N4.23tn budget to the National Assembly for approval on December 15.

The sum comprises N198.12bn for statutory transfers, N542.32bn for debt service; N2,481.71tn for recurrent (non-debt) expenditure; and N1,005.9tn for capital expenditure.

The government also earmarked the sum of N347.2bn for critical infrastructure development.

This includes capital allocations of N86.25bn for power; N20.74bn for Aviation; N10.27bn for petroleum resources; N136.88bn for works; N48.9bn for transport; N44.18bn for the Federal Capital Territory; N35.01bn for education; N33.35bn for health; N29.46bn for agricultural development; and N24.76bn for water resources.

Posted: at 4-01-2011 12:28 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onedoor1010 at 4-01-2011 01:01 PM (13 years ago)
hmmmmmmmmmmmm
Posted: at 4-01-2011 01:01 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lanudja at 4-01-2011 01:08 PM (13 years ago)
Ok.... we don hear.
Posted: at 4-01-2011 01:08 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- purityjustice at 4-01-2011 01:13 PM (13 years ago)
it it,for his family or the masses?
Posted: at 4-01-2011 01:13 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- donuche at 4-01-2011 01:17 PM (13 years ago)
ha him god give am
Posted: at 4-01-2011 01:17 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- victordon1 at 4-01-2011 01:21 PM (13 years ago)
my bros ask what i want ask , this is for his family or for who . some i think Nigeria is for some people , ok may God help us
Posted: at 4-01-2011 01:21 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- walerian at 4-01-2011 01:45 PM (13 years ago)
congrats!
Posted: at 4-01-2011 01:45 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- scorpionolu at 4-01-2011 01:46 PM (13 years ago)
How can the president spend 574m on food why why are you feeding the all nigeria??is there president father ever spend 100,000.00 naria on food in a year now you can spend 574m on food in a year God we kill you goverment of nigeria for making the country get bad even if my father is inclued.for me i can never vote 4 the rest of my life in nigeria,in wester world people come to stay and even collect money from them,then the  foolish nigeria goverment we say people should not travel aboard.it pain me  how there no more oluwole in lagos.
Posted: at 4-01-2011 01:46 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- AndersonEduardo at 4-01-2011 01:49 PM (13 years ago)
d guy dey chopp oo
Posted: at 4-01-2011 01:49 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- chudy1800 at 4-01-2011 01:49 PM (13 years ago)
And so?
Posted: at 4-01-2011 01:49 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- meetmeherebabe at 4-01-2011 01:51 PM (13 years ago)
Wetin im dey chop wey im dey spend 1.5million everyday?
Posted: at 4-01-2011 01:51 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- agbabiakamy at 4-01-2011 01:53 PM (13 years ago)
MR PRESIDENT ALL UR PROMISE WAS TO MASSES IN THE FRONT BUT NOW IS U & UR FAMILY IN THE FRONT . OGA SIR, DO U BELIEVE THAT SOME NIGERIAN CITIZEN ARE OF 50YRS OLD AND HAD NEVER HOLD N1MILLION IN THIER LIFE B4, THAT U USE 2 FEED DAILY. MR. MAN U BETTER FEAR GOD.
Posted: at 4-01-2011 01:53 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- 2slimshady at 4-01-2011 02:02 PM (13 years ago)
na wah oooooooooo
Posted: at 4-01-2011 02:02 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kelly22 at 4-01-2011 02:05 PM (13 years ago)
 na waoooooooooooooooooooooo
Posted: at 4-01-2011 02:05 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Henchmann at 4-01-2011 02:17 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: meetmeherebabe on  4-01-2011 01:51 PM
Wetin im dey chop wey im dey spend 1.5million everyday?

Executive food, abeg make un leave the guy.
Posted: at 4-01-2011 02:17 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- scorpionolu at 4-01-2011 02:18 PM (13 years ago)
if the western world spend money like that, can there citizen get money monthly of the people from african get money from them later the foolish nigeria goverment will be talking like fool. the eu government spend money like that,they we be prob okay foolish nigeria goverment.
Posted: at 4-01-2011 02:18 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Henchmann at 4-01-2011 02:19 PM (13 years ago)
B4 Nkor, how much im for chop.
Posted: at 4-01-2011 02:19 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- veldana at 4-01-2011 02:21 PM (13 years ago)
no comment yet.
Posted: at 4-01-2011 02:21 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- purityjustice at 4-01-2011 02:25 PM (13 years ago)
make una allow him chop the money before him expire
Posted: at 4-01-2011 02:25 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ehiabhi at 4-01-2011 02:28 PM (13 years ago)
Wetin be all these?
Posted: at 4-01-2011 02:28 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 ... 10

1. Netizens React As a Catholic Reverend Sister is Spotted in Public Drinking Alcohol (Video)

2. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

3. Rapper, Cynthia Morgan Reveals Why She Was Never S3xually Harassed in The Industry

4. Man Emmanuel Okpara Arrested For Reportedly B£ating His Wife to D£ath in Lagos

5. Nigerian Man Videos The Living Condition of Immigrants Who Were Not Granted Asylum in Portugal

6. See List: Nigeria, Egypt Named Among World’s Lowest Salary Earners

7. Binance Executives Drag NSA Ribadu, EFCC To Court

8. Court Awards Late Biafran Leader, Ojukwu's Will to Bianca, Throws Out First Son, Debe's Case

9. A Thief Who Robbed me Was Dating The Police Officer in Charge of my Case – Lady Recounts Ordeal

10. Singer Waje Expresses Pride as Her Daughter, Emerald Turns 25, Pens Emotional Note to Her

11. VIDEO: NAFDAC Raids Factory Where Fake Bottled Water is Produced in Port Harcourt

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

5. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

6. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

7. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

8. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)