Angry Mob set Zenith bank ablaze after police shot a pregnant woman dead

Date: 01-02-2011 10:42 am (13 years ago) | Author: ABAH S I
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 1-02-2011 10:42 AM (13 years ago)
There was pandemonium at Mpape, a suburb of Abuja yesterday morning when an angry mob set ablaze a commercial bank in the area following an alleged killing of a pregnant woman by a policeman attached to the bank. A witness, Mrs. Iyabo Oye, who owns a restaurant in the area, said the policeman fired at a taxi cab as the driver was trying to make a U-turn in front of the bank. In the process, he shot and killed a woman who was passing by.

Mrs. Oye added that the gun shot attracted the people of the area to the scene. Irked by the policeman’s conduct, an angry mob forced their way into the bank and set the building on fire.

Another witness, Mallam Nasir, a tea seller, told our reporter that the officer was shooting indiscriminately and in the process shot the woman.

“When he shot the woman, he pretended that nothing happened and the people fought for the lifeless woman. Before the security operatives could be reinforced to the scene, the bank has been touched by the irate mob,” he narrated.

FCT police commissioner, John Haruna, told journalists at the scene of the incident that the situation has been brought under control and promised that the policeman who allegedly shot the woman would be properly investigated and prosecuted according to the law.

He said the force does not condone attacks on innocent citizens by any of its men, adding that the policeman involved in the shooting had been taken into custody and that the case would be referred to the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) for necessary advice.

Also speaking, the FCT police spokesperson, Jimoh Moshood, said policemen have been sent to the scene and called on the residents to go about their daily duties.

The mandate of the Nigeria Police is to protect lives and properties of its citizen. But what we see nowadays is that the security agencies becoming criminals. It is really unfortunate that a policeman whom was entrusted arm to carry his duty of protecting people turned to be a murderer :'(.

PALS WHAT SHOULD GOVT DO TO CURTAIL POLICE' EXTRA-JUDICIAL KILLINGS IN NIGERIA?

Posted: at 1-02-2011 10:42 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aliaaz at 1-02-2011 11:01 AM (13 years ago)
Abeg Abeg Abeg Abeg, hisssn.

Posted: at 1-02-2011 11:01 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Freesmile at 1-02-2011 11:15 AM (13 years ago)
i blame the police man but not happy that the bank was torched by the mob
Posted: at 1-02-2011 11:15 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- interpo77 at 1-02-2011 05:01 PM (13 years ago)
ohh what a rediculous situation
i know how pple always feels when such incedent happen, pls
let law take its role nd RIP
Posted: at 1-02-2011 05:01 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- keenan29 at 1-02-2011 05:03 PM (13 years ago)
thats wat u get employing educated n psycologically sound people into d police force! Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 1-02-2011 05:03 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- interpo77 at 1-02-2011 05:24 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: keenan29 on  1-02-2011 05:03 PM
thats wat u get employing educated n psycologically sound people into d police force! Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
pls explain better.so employing educated pple into police work is bad or what? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 1-02-2011 05:24 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- interpo77 at 1-02-2011 05:27 PM (13 years ago)
ANY police that malconducises his work must be brought to book
 police must be sure h knows what he is doing at any giving time
 he must be hold responsible of his acts
 and now see the bank
Posted: at 1-02-2011 05:27 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- teznl at 1-02-2011 05:37 PM (13 years ago)
 i think the police force need to to do some update on the police men and flush out the bad ones. RIP
Posted: at 1-02-2011 05:37 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- mitaire18 at 1-02-2011 05:51 PM (13 years ago)
 :-\poor lady a victim of injustice!!! :'(RIP
Posted: at 1-02-2011 05:51 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- mail2harrison at 1-02-2011 06:51 PM (13 years ago)
Nigeria police ,why are taking it a god sent work by killing the citizen you are to protect .come to europr and see how a citizen is been respected by a force may  god help us
Posted: at 1-02-2011 06:51 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Abby at 1-02-2011 06:55 PM (13 years ago)
Nigerian police should not have guns.
Posted: at 1-02-2011 06:55 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sugaDaddy1forU at 1-02-2011 07:07 PM (13 years ago)
NIGERIAN POLICE MEN, THEY ONLY HAVE STRENGHT WHEN THEY SEE CIVILIAN PEOPLE. WHEN THEY MEETS KIDNAPERS OR ARMED RUBBERS THEY'LL TAKE OFF THEIR UNIFORM AND TAKE TO THEIR HEELS TO THE BUSH.

Posted: at 1-02-2011 07:07 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- momomambo at 1-02-2011 07:09 PM (13 years ago)
it is a big embarrased to nigeria economic & also to the police force all this ugly situation into that country
Posted: at 1-02-2011 07:09 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- momomambo at 1-02-2011 07:11 PM (13 years ago)
is a pity to n.a.f.all this sheet Roll Eyes Shocked
Posted: at 1-02-2011 07:11 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- interpo77 at 1-02-2011 07:34 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Abby on  1-02-2011 06:55 PM
Nigerian police should not have guns.
hahhaha hmmmmmmm, coming to think of it,so how can they combat while attacked by the hudlums
 or re they going to use koboko to make sure the nation is free nd in peace
i think they should use gun but must know the adequate use of it  nd the functions
shouldnt shoot off taget
Posted: at 1-02-2011 07:34 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Yoba at 1-02-2011 07:38 PM (13 years ago)
It is really annoying that a police officer who claimed to have undergone a weapon training does not understand the law governing the use o firearms.
Posted: at 1-02-2011 07:38 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- purityjustice at 1-02-2011 07:55 PM (13 years ago)
waoo dats my bank, what about the money there
i no fit shout until as order for my a/c statement
as for the police he suppose to die as well.
R.I.P woman. what a tragedy
Posted: at 1-02-2011 07:55 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jeff_martins at 1-02-2011 07:59 PM (13 years ago)
Nigeria  police and their reckless shooting na wa ooh make them  know how to solve this problem of indecent shooting of civilians by the illiterate police officers....sorry for the pregnant lady so much sorry for her husband too,such is life let him take heart.....

And for zenith bank so sorry too for loosing your branch of the bank by mob and i no want story for my money way de una bank ohh OR ..........  WHEN I ENTER NAIJA HAHAHAHAHA WORST GO HAPPEN
Posted: at 1-02-2011 07:59 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- i124q2 at 1-02-2011 08:24 PM (13 years ago)
@keenan
lol.
Posted: at 1-02-2011 08:24 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- absoul at 1-02-2011 08:28 PM (13 years ago)
WHAT HAPPENED TO THE CASH IN THE BANK?THEY STILL LEFT THEM TO BURN DOWN, CHEIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII,I WISH I WAS THERE OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
Posted: at 1-02-2011 08:28 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7