Stuck in a dead-end relationship

Date: 19-11-2008 7:24 am (15 years ago) | Author: Cynthia Osemwegie
- at 19-11-2008 07:24 AM (15 years ago)
I just turned 23yrs old and also had a beautiful baby about a month ago. I had gotten pregnant not by choice but stuff happens, anyway...the dude I got pregnant by really didn't want it but I went against all odds to have my baby and that's the best decision I ever made. The dude and I moved in together about a year ago and his actions has totally changed towards me eversince I made the decision to have the baby but the problem is that he's not willing to move out. I love him dearly but he keeps abusing me in every aspect just yesterday he hit me...I cry myself to sleep, thank God I have my child in my life to comfort me. I don't want to stay in an abusive relationship but I am not strong enough to let go and he is making it worse by not moving out. I am confused...I do believe my life is not over because I am still young. I am very educated, already graduated college and starting a second degree but I don't understand why my man would treat me the way he does. Though I just had a baby, I still command attention from men but I am not interested, I am independent and not a liability to any man but why is he treating me without respect just because I refuse to have an abortion? He leaves the house at odd hours and comes back when he feels like without any explanation. He insults me and my family and even raise his hands on me. I know this is kinda lengthy but I really need your advice! He thinks I am trying to trap him and honestly that is not my intention and I can't explain that enough to him but he has refused to forgive me for keeping the baby...though he loves our baby dearly and he is very hands on with the baby but it's confusing to say he loves the child but yet mad I made the decision to keep the child. Just too much to handle, I really need advice...I'm far away from my family and leaving with this monster in a strange country. My face is swollen from crying and worrying, somebody please help before I lose my mind. I like to act tough like everything is perfect but this is my safe haven and I feel I could pour my heart here.

Posted: at 19-11-2008 07:24 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- ololade4real at 19-11-2008 08:35 AM (15 years ago)
Hi Snownet!, my kudos to you for not killing that beautiful baby when he/she was still a foetus.  One thing you hv to realise is the fact that you are not alone in that situation.  Most men likes to be free with a woman, that is, not willing to be fully engaged, bcos when mates have child/children, the responsibility is not financial alone, a lot wld be required of the man, as you might have learnt.  I want to believe that that is one of the things that cld make a man to change, or in another word, really show his real self. As you said, you love him, but ask yourself, does he really love you as a person or his passion is with the beauty btw your thighs?  Another thing you should have found out b4 the pregnancy, is whether your man is ripe enough to have the blessings of producing his kind. 

Any way, my advice for you if you so much love him, is to stoop low for him in all ramifications, I mean that you should really condescend yourself and make him realise that you want the relationship to work, if for nothing else, at least for your baby. Crying may not help if he is the type that doesn't care. In most cases, communication is the key to solving a problem like this. 

That is my candid advice, let me know how things develops.
Posted: at 19-11-2008 08:35 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- prencess at 19-11-2008 10:16 AM (15 years ago)
main this hard................ any way thanks very much for not killing that baby u acted wisly in that aspect, no one can really say the minds and ways of guys, so we ladies should be very........very careful while dealing with them especially the ones u are not sure of their love :'(
Posted: at 19-11-2008 10:16 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jesica at 19-11-2008 11:18 AM (15 years ago)
men ..................wicked people  Angry
Posted: at 19-11-2008 11:18 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- queenb at 20-11-2008 12:14 AM (15 years ago)
I empathize wit u. But, I believe people only treat u the way u allow dem to. The fact dat u av a baby by a man does not mean u too must end up together. Ur happiness shud be ur priority, not jus 4 u but 4 ur child. U need to be emotionally strong in order to look after ur child; plus, u don't wan dem to get the wrong conception about relationships, do u?

From ur description of urself, u really can do better. So pls fink of ur child and get out of dat hell hole. Cos, trust me no matter how low u stoop, he really is not gonna change. If anything will get him to change is if u toughen up and make him c dat u don't need him.
Posted: at 20-11-2008 12:14 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Kennee at 20-11-2008 12:30 AM (15 years ago)
Hhm.. Dis is Serious

Sorry

But there has to be an Alternative. Dats what l think u should be Lookin for. U can't keep taking all dat

Posted: at 20-11-2008 12:30 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- yeye89 at 20-11-2008 12:56 AM (15 years ago)
damn girl, that's some intense situation
 i have to agree with queen b, u really need to think about the wellbeing of your child and yourself first before even thinking about the dude...first of all,you are an educated female so kudos to you for that, but now use that brain of yours....don't let this guy become the downfall of your life. you have already stood up against the odds to have your child, so now do everything in your power to protect that child and yourself....if u must ....move out, get a restraining order against him, prove to him but most importantly to yourself that u don't need him in your life, besides u don't want your child to be around that type of person.....the longer u keep staying in that environment the more you are endangering yourself and most importantly the baby, so fine the strength within you and leave the situation

Posted: at 20-11-2008 12:56 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- prencess at 20-11-2008 05:29 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: queenb on 20-11-2008 12:14 AM
I empathize wit u. But, I believe people only treat u the way u allow dem to. The fact dat u av a baby by a man does not mean u too must end up together. Ur happiness shud be ur priority, not jus 4 u but 4 ur child. U need to be emotionally strong in order to look after ur child; plus, u don't wan dem to get the wrong conception about relationships, do u?

From ur description of urself, u really can do better. So pls fink of ur child and get out of dat hell hole. Cos, trust me no matter how low u stoop, he really is not gonna change. If anything will get him to change is if u toughen up and make him c dat u don't need him.

waw
Posted: at 20-11-2008 05:29 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jesica at 20-11-2008 06:06 PM (15 years ago)
yeah
Posted: at 20-11-2008 06:06 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- peacetee at 21-11-2008 02:51 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Snownet on 19-11-2008 07:24 AM
I just turned 23yrs old and also had a beautiful baby about a month ago. I had gotten pregnant not by choice but stuff happens, anyway...the dude I got pregnant by really didn't want it but I went against all odds to have my baby and that's the best decision I ever made. The dude and I moved in together about a year ago and his actions has totally changed towards me eversince I made the decision to have the baby but the problem is that he's not willing to move out. I love him dearly but he keeps abusing me in every aspect just yesterday he hit me...I cry myself to sleep, thank God I have my child in my life to comfort me. I don't want to stay in an abusive relationship but I am not strong enough to let go and he is making it worse by not moving out. I am confused...I do believe my life is not over because I am still young. I am very educated, already graduated college and starting a second degree but I don't understand why my man would treat me the way he does. Though I just had a baby, I still command attention from men but I am not interested, I am independent and not a liability to any man but why is he treating me without respect just because I refuse to have an abortion? He leaves the house at odd hours and comes back when he feels like without any explanation. He insults me and my family and even raise his hands on me. I know this is kinda lengthy but I really need your advice! He thinks I am trying to trap him and honestly that is not my intention and I can't explain that enough to him but he has refused to forgive me for keeping the baby...though he loves our baby dearly and he is very hands on with the baby but it's confusing to say he loves the child but yet mad I made the decision to keep the child. Just too much to handle, I really need advice...I'm far away from my family and leaving with this monster in a strange country. My face is swollen from crying and worrying, somebody please help before I lose my mind. I like to act tough like everything is perfect but this is my safe haven and I feel I could pour my heart here.

Pls dry ur tears my dear, God knows all u need at this time is support, having a baby in d past month and going thru all this can be very depressing.  You need to get out of that situation, its unfortunate u dont have family members around.   Hw about trusted friends older or peers..there has to be someone u can confide in.  ...Do u still hav ur parents, U could talk to ur mum...

U have every reason to rejoice and not cry..U have a new baby, a dependant 4 d rest of his/her life..a new beginning. Be strong, and get out of dat situation...

I wish nothing but the best 4 u and ur baby...I feel ur pain..

Posted: at 21-11-2008 02:51 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac