SSS operatives brutalise CBN manager over right of way

Date: 04-03-2011 1:38 am (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 4-03-2011 01:38 AM (13 years ago)
Mrs. Justina Thinkan is a senior employee of Central Bank of Nigeria, in Abuja. At the apex bank, she is a manager in the Risk Management Department. She had closed work on Tuesday, hoping to reach home to the warm embrace of her family, prepare dinner for them, and then go to bed.

Even though she reached her home that evening, she did so in pains, thoroughly bruised, following alleged battery and assaults she received from four State Security Service operatives.

Thinkan alleged that they beat her up and dragged her on the tarred road, with one of them threatening to shoot her “and nothing will happen.”

At the end of her ordeal, Thinkan, a mother of three, had a swollen face, and bruises on her arms to show for her encounter with the overzealous state operatives.

The alleged action of the operatives negated the position of the SSS Director-General, Mr. Ekpeyong Ita, who had said the agency under him must stop the culture of impunity and embrace the rule of law, due process, civility and professionalism in line with the country’s democratic temperament.

Ita spoke during the graduation of 46 senior operatives of SSS and other intelligence agencies that participated in the Executive Intelligence Management Course 3 at the SSS-owned Institute for Strategic Studies in Bwari, Abuja, on November 27, 2010.

Thikan told PUNCH METRO that she was caught up in a traffic jam opposite the SSS staff quarters between Water Board and the State House, Abuja, when a man suddenly appeared beside her car, wagged a finger and rained abuses on her for allegedly blocking their right of way to the quarters.

The bruised banker said that she was surprised and demanded the reason for the unwarranted verbal assaults.

But her seeming audacity infuriated the four men in black suit, who then alighted from their vehicle and descended on her. At first, she said only one of them jumped out, before three other operatives joined the first man from a white Toyota Hiace bus with registration number, SH 472.

Thinkan said, “The first SSS personnel abused me calling me all kinds of names. As I was demanding reason for the attack, three others joined him. I came out of my car and one of them slapped me while another held my blouse.

“I asked whether he wanted to undress me in public and I held on to his shirt. They held my hands and dragged me on the ground. When a female colleague of the operatives, who was watching from their bus saw them beating me, she alighted from the vehicle and asked them to leave me.

“I was not the cause of the traffic jam and I was not even blocking the T-junction; they misused their powers because they are security personnel. I won’t take it easy with them.

“I have instructed my lawyer to take up the matter and I will pursue it to a logical conclusion.”

This reminds me of this story of  Ufuoma Ejenobor, popular Nigerian actress assaulted in public by the police
//www.gistmania.com/talk/topic,51037.0-.html

Source: http://www.punchng.com/Articl.aspx?theartic=Art20110303253290

Posted: at 4-03-2011 01:38 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- j777 at 4-03-2011 01:59 AM (13 years ago)
can't read jorr e 2 long small  bt wat ever happen 2 her (sorry 2 her) Grin
Posted: at 4-03-2011 01:59 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- kenolis at 4-03-2011 02:14 AM (13 years ago)
can't read jorr e 2 long small  bt wat ever happen 2 her (sorry 2 her)  Grin

so if i give you exam make you read or write, na so you go tell me say e 2long?
u don fail be dat  Grin
well madam! so sorry 4wot happend...when will all this mess stop in 9ja self?
God have macy on your ppl
Posted: at 4-03-2011 02:14 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Fashalyn at 4-03-2011 02:31 AM (13 years ago)
Madam sorry oh........hmmmmmmmm na wa oh!!!

Posted: at 4-03-2011 02:31 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- j777 at 4-03-2011 02:39 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: kenolis on  4-03-2011 02:14 AM

u don fail be dat  Grin
God have macy on your ppl

lolzz! bt no be exam na
Posted: at 4-03-2011 02:39 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Diamond4u at 4-03-2011 03:12 AM (13 years ago)

u don fail be dat  Grin
God have macy on your ppl.

PLZ DONT BLAME D GIRL NA ONLY TWO MINUTES SHE BUY 2 CHECK HER BOX NO TIME TO READ LONG STORY
Posted: at 4-03-2011 03:12 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- LovingMike at 4-03-2011 03:21 AM (13 years ago)
It is high time government called to order all the security agencies in this country. this is quite inhumane, are we still in the Stone Age? Please, Madam, kindly pursue this case so that those power-drunk and over-zealous men-in-suite will learn their lessons.
Posted: at 4-03-2011 03:21 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- bolou at 4-03-2011 03:24 AM (13 years ago)
All these things can come to an end within our mindset. It's high time we outgrew all these barbarity...!Why won't the world see us blacks as they consider us to be..From a child to adult and from leaders to the so-called commons, all acting same way.. We can make a better living by changing in attitude...! People are talking of sensitive issues and some are changing it to " too long and exam or not..." it shows our impatience.In any case let us all change...our attitude....Who knows if that woman had spoken bad words. Help to change 9ja everybody...some are too proud, some too greedy, some too evil, some too wicked, some too envious, some too arrogant, some too weak, some too unprivileged, some too poor, some too sad, etc.    
Posted: at 4-03-2011 03:24 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- cool1933 at 4-03-2011 03:26 AM (13 years ago)
Just thinking aloud.....Is Nigeria a member of UNCHR? I am lost in wonder cuz I do not see any trace of such treaty in Nigeria....at all!
Posted: at 4-03-2011 03:26 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- j777 at 4-03-2011 03:28 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Diamond4u on  4-03-2011 03:12 AM

u don fail be dat  Grin
God have macy on your ppl.

PLZ DONT BLAME D GIRL NA ONLY TWO MINUTES SHE BUY 2 CHECK HER BOX NO TIME TO READ LONG STORY
Posted: at 4-03-2011 03:28 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- felixworld at 4-03-2011 03:34 AM (13 years ago)
@Diamond4u- You 're funny- na naija 4u lol
Posted: at 4-03-2011 03:34 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- okwas at 4-03-2011 03:44 AM (13 years ago)
MADAM SORRY FOR THAT
Posted: at 4-03-2011 03:44 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- LEONE at 4-03-2011 04:37 AM (13 years ago)
By all standards,this is insanity on the part of the sss agent.
Posted: at 4-03-2011 04:37 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Omapri at 4-03-2011 05:03 AM (13 years ago)
terrible
Posted: at 4-03-2011 05:03 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- chimeskan at 4-03-2011 05:25 AM (13 years ago)
Dis naija self don't tire me. One day there also be a national REVOLT

Posted: at 4-03-2011 05:25 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- fireman at 4-03-2011 05:40 AM (13 years ago)
where does justice start from here?How does one deal with a state police agent?

Posted: at 4-03-2011 05:40 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajanni at 4-03-2011 06:00 AM (13 years ago)
thats why i always believe when they said that you can hardly find a responsible men/women of honour in the uniformed arm of govt , this is highiest kind of cruelity and irresponsible one could inflicts on a fellow citizen , let us assumed that the woman intentionally blocked the passage way of the president of the country , is that the way the person should be treated ? those peoples involved were nothing but real animals , i will advice and encourage the woman to do anything possible to bring those animals to book, supose they treated their own mothers , sisters or daughters in that same way , how would they feels ?
Posted: at 4-03-2011 06:00 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- naijatomsa at 4-03-2011 06:10 AM (13 years ago)
As far as our law enforcement officials are willing to take the laws into their hands for whatever reasons the deem fit, maltreating civil members of the public to satisfy their ego with every foolish and feral attitude of theirs, seeing also that they can easily get away with whatever misconducts they discharge, given the type and status of our community, I would rather choose to, and also advice anyone who wishes to keep their peace and safety, to try every possible means to avoid their stupid grievances while exploiting every means possible to sensitize their school of thought with respect to civilized policing and law enforcement. For example, if I know that answering back at a police officer in seek of claiming my rights would instead grieve him/her and cause me greater loss, I'd rather endure. But for every slightest opportunity where I can safely and peacefully convey my opinion, I would do so without hesitation... e.g. via online media and discussions such as this. Sorry for your wounds Madam manager and I pray that the lord grant you justice against these fools as you file your case against them.
Posted: at 4-03-2011 06:10 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 4-03-2011 06:48 AM (13 years ago)
i says amen
Posted: at 4-03-2011 06:48 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- okpouzo at 4-03-2011 07:27 AM (13 years ago)
she could not help with dat risk Grin
Posted: at 4-03-2011 07:27 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 5