OKONJO- IWEALA BLAST CORRUPT LEADERS.

Date: 15-03-2011 7:33 am (13 years ago) | Author: Paddy Hayes
- at 15-03-2011 07:33 AM (13 years ago)

Monday, March 14, 2011
Managing Director of the World Bank, Mrs. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala has taken a swipe at corrupt public office holders, whom, she said, have become bad influences on the youths. Besides, the former minister of finance traced the spate of unrests in the country to the neglect of the youths.

Okonjo-Iweala

advertisement

Okonjo-Iweala, who spoke at the weekend, shortly after she was honoured with a Doctor of Science in Economics by the Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) Ile-Ife, Osun State, called for concerted efforts to reduce the rate of unemployment among the youths.
“We can send all our children to the university but when they come out and they don’t have jobs, then it makes them to be demoralized and this breeds unrest and other social problems.
“And it implies that the country is not making use of the demographic dividends it should be making use of. So, the biggest thing we have to focus on is how to keep our youths employed including our young women and girls”, she stated.
While appealing to different tiers of government to give priority attention to the welfare of youths in order to guarantee the development of the country, the former Finance Minister stressed the need for high moral etiquette from the nation’s leaders to serve as encouragement to the younger generation.
On the part of the youths, the World Bank chief admonished them to be creative by looking inwards on what they could do for themselves but not what the government could do for them.
She charged those in positions of authority to provide the enabling environment, including finances that could enable the youths stand on their own.
The revered economist, who was one of the four prominent Nigerians honoured on the occasion, urged the youths to regard service as honour to the nation but not necessarily as a means to amass wealth.
”In other to encourage our youths to serve well, we must uphold strong moral values. Youths cannot do well when they see the elders doing the wrong thing. If we glorify criminal behaviour; if we glorify corruption; if we glorify stealing money; then our children will behave like that and I am sure nobody wants to see children going down the wrong path.
”So it means that those of us, the elders, the parents and those who are in power have to watch the way we behave because we are automatically sending a message to the young people. In essence, it is not only just about giving them education and skills, it is also about inculcating in them, the right moral values otherwise this country has no future,” she added
She noted that while many people in the country found it difficult to make ends meet, few privileged Nigerians corner the resources of the nation to satisfy themselves.

Posted: at 15-03-2011 07:33 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deboalabi262 at 29-03-2011 08:58 PM (13 years ago)
Make you dey blast dem dey go o. Na true yarn be that......

Posted: at 29-03-2011 08:58 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- at 6-04-2011 01:23 AM (13 years ago)
passing i no see you oo
Posted: at 6-04-2011 01:23 AM (13 years ago) |
- Neglito at 6-04-2011 12:31 PM (13 years ago)
Was she not part of the system?
Posted: at 6-04-2011 12:31 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moniconyez at 6-04-2011 03:06 PM (13 years ago)
 Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss
 Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss
 Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss

Keep your god job going where ever you are MADAM
Posted: at 6-04-2011 03:06 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- maffrodisiac at 6-04-2011 03:39 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Neglito on  6-04-2011 12:31 PM

Ask am o! She thinks she's deceiving us, but alas, she just deceiving herself.
Posted: at 6-04-2011 03:39 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- moniconyez at 6-04-2011 04:00 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: maffrodisiac on  6-04-2011 03:39 PM
Quote from: Neglito on  6-04-2011 12:31 PM

Ask am o! She thinks she's deceiving us, but alas, she just deceiving herself.

One eye hater.
Posted: at 6-04-2011 04:00 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- kabirua at 27-06-2011 05:46 PM (12 years ago)
Enough of passing blames. Give us solutions to resolve this cankerworm that has eaten deeply into our system.
Posted: at 27-06-2011 05:46 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- abayomiekundayo at 28-06-2011 10:32 AM (12 years ago)
Help me ask her, as if she has never stolen from Nigeria. In the city of the blind someone with apparent one eye rules. I like her sha, but she should help with solution and not just to talk. Again, she is coming to join a corrupt team.
Posted: at 28-06-2011 10:32 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- memest at 28-06-2011 10:35 AM (12 years ago)
May be she should take over EFCC.
Posted: at 28-06-2011 10:35 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- memest at 28-06-2011 10:36 AM (12 years ago)
That wont be a bad Idea, sha. I am sure she can look at GEJ in the eye and say, I am here to fight corruption and not your enimies.
Posted: at 28-06-2011 10:36 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Daddyboy2u4life at 29-06-2011 04:47 PM (12 years ago)
Madam, thumps up! I commend ur courage for bowing out when Obasanjo refused to allow u work independently and not greedy Dora Akunyili. Once more, i duff my cap for u and still hope u'll be given the opportunity again to showcase what u knew how to do best!
Posted: at 29-06-2011 04:47 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Solidstonez at 29-06-2012 03:50 PM (11 years ago)
HMMMMMMMM

Posted: at 29-06-2012 03:50 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- abati666 at 2-05-2015 12:45 PM (8 years ago)
MY FELLOW NIGERIANS.........HA HA HA

A POT CALLING A KETTLE BLACK.......HA HA HA

SHE IS ONE ON THEM........HA HA HA

HOW MUCH HAS SHE STOLLEN HERSELF......HA HA HA
Posted: at 2-05-2015 12:45 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac