Jega Offers To Resign, Jonathan Rejects; Resignation Amounts To Treason – Agf

Date: 04-04-2011 2:19 pm (12 years ago) | Author: BRIGHT CHUKWUDI IFUNANYACHI ES
- at 4-04-2011 02:19 PM (12 years ago)
The crises in the wake of the aborted National Assembly elections almost came to a head late Saturday night when a frustrated Independent National Electoral Commission [INEC] chairman Professor Attahiru Jega offered to resign at a heated meeting of the National Security Council chaired by President Jonathan at the Aso Rock Villa, government sources revealed yesterday.

According to our sources, top security officials at the meeting angrily blamed Jega for the problems that led to the election’s failure. Most of them accused Jega of arrogantly rejecting the offer to use the military for election logistics. He then said the government should constitute a military task force to take over all election logistics.

At a point during the bitter exchanges, the INEC chairman offered to resign immediately. Sources from the meeting said Attorney General and Minister of Justice Mohammed Bello Adoke intervened and said a resignation by the chairman in the midst of elections will amount to treason, whereupon, President Jonathan rejected the resignation offer there and then.

Other agency reports reveal that the decision to further postpone the elections became inevitable when INEC’s commissioners in the field expressed fears that they may also encounter difficulties remobilising their polling officers at short notice. Besides, there were problems of mix-ups and omissions in the ballot papers of some areas that need to be reprinted in order for those areas to participate in the elections. For example, in Gombe Central senatorial district, CPC’s name and logo were omitted from the ballot paper, while the codes for Gombe North and South senatorial districts were mixed up.

http://africanheraldexpress.com/blog7/2011/04/04/jega-offers-to-resign-jonathan-rejects-resignation-amounts-to-treason-agf/

Posted: at 4-04-2011 02:19 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 4-04-2011 02:51 PM (12 years ago)
How can you think of changing the midwife who has been in charge of the pregnant woman when 'labour' has already started?.......those calling for his resignation should sheath the sword jor..........as if they can do it themselves.......

Posted: at 4-04-2011 02:51 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Tooopsy at 4-04-2011 03:29 PM (12 years ago)
It's pathetik i'm short of wrds.I belive so mch in jega n trust dat he won;t stoop so low as Moris
Posted: at 4-04-2011 03:29 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 4-04-2011 11:19 PM (12 years ago)
he is very capable of doing the job , if only given a free hand
Posted: at 4-04-2011 11:19 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- onoruoiza01 at 5-04-2011 01:43 PM (12 years ago)
CAN YOU SEE MY DEAR PALS, REVIEW THIS:
                              WHO IS AFRAID OF BUHARI? 
 I write this because of millions of Nigerians who are  below 30 and who constitute a significant chunk of our voting population.   This is the ICT generation that is largely ignorant about the events of the   Buhari era (1983-85) and so can be misinformed and misled by needless   propaganda. I have sat with many in the under-30 bracket and those slightly  above who only have faint recollections of the Buhari era and the level of   ignorance about that era is amazing.

Before being MILITARY Head of State, Buhari had been Governor of one of the Northern States   (under Obasanjo’s Military government) as well as Minister for Petroleum.  He later served as Chairman of PTF under Abacha.   Please consider the following unassailable facts:

•         He birthed and supervised the  establishment of our existing refineries.

•        There was no religious crisis while  he was Head of State. It started under his successor IBB!

•        in his time as Head of State he  reduced inflation from 23% to 4%, by fiscal discipline and a homegrown   economic team (not achieved under any other era, even military). 

•        JJ Rawlings of Ghana took over  2yrs before him, and killed all the corrupt leaders, while Buhari only   sentenced the corrupt leaders here to prison.   

•        Under his watch as PTF Chairman, what he did in road construction in that short period hasn't been matched by  12yrs of the PDP.

•        Hospitals and universities around   the country never witnessed as much benefits as they got from the PTF from any  government after or before his time.   

•        Despite serving in senior  capacity in the oil sector, first as Minister for Petroleum and then   Petroleum Trust Fund, Buhari has no petrol station, much less a rig, refinery  or an oil block like so many of our leaders.

•        He could have retired into  nauseating opulence like an IBB or Danjuma or even OBJ but didn't.

•        Instead of hobnobbing with the  high and mighty, he has cast his lot with the ordinary man most of who follow   him out of hope and belief in his values. People who know him have said of   him... "All I need from Buhari is his word, I can take it to the  bank".

•        He is the only politician in  the North today who fills rallies without renting a crowd. The Kaduna rally of 2nd   March is eloquent proof!

•        He refused to collect an  allowance while serving as Chairman of the PTF because he said since he was  already drawing a pension from government, his conscience would not allow him  to draw another salary from the purse of the same government.

•        He is the only former head of  state that does not own property or land in Abuja .

•        Every attempt to rubbish him  through probes in time past eneded up vindicating him! The man who was asked  by OBJ to take over the running of PTF before it was scrapped with the aim of   probing and indicting Buhari, was the one who ended up being prosecuted for  misappropriating $100m of PTF funds! Buhari again, was vindicated

•        He has OPENLY challenged those  who accuse him of religious fundamentalism to come out and show proof. No one  has till today, taken up the challenge. His personal driver of many years is   a Christian from Plateau State !

•        His government initiated the   War Against Indiscipline that has made environmental cleanliness, queuing up,   not urinating by the roadside etc features of our national life even till   today  Does it then surprise you why corrupt people   would be spreading such heinous rumours about Buhari? He is a threat to them and they know what he is capable of doing to corruption and corrupt people when he comes into office! So shine your eyes and make the right decision.

If honesty and probity are the things you want for Nigeria ,now is the time to choose right. When you cast your vote for the  BUHARI/BAKARE ticket, you would have cast one vote for two honest men.
   Now that you know better, will you please   educate another person BY FORWARDING THIS TO AS MANY AS YOU CAN?
Posted: at 5-04-2011 01:43 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 5-04-2011 06:35 PM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 5-04-2011 06:35 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- at 6-04-2011 01:12 AM (12 years ago)
what next?
Posted: at 6-04-2011 01:12 AM (12 years ago) |
- ajanni at 6-04-2011 08:49 AM (12 years ago)
he continues
Posted: at 6-04-2011 08:49 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- Docchuks at 7-04-2011 12:27 PM (12 years ago)
Lets Still give Jega another Chance. And hope his credibility will save Nigeria this time.
Posted: at 7-04-2011 12:27 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- deboalabi262 at 7-04-2011 02:39 PM (12 years ago)
One who fights and runs away would come always back to continue where he left. Jega should continue for sanity sake in Naija politics....

Posted: at 7-04-2011 02:39 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 7-04-2011 06:05 PM (12 years ago)
he who fights and run away lives to fight another day ,
Bob Marley and the wailers
Posted: at 7-04-2011 06:05 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- yukicares4u at 7-04-2011 07:56 PM (12 years ago)
Well if they wont let him do his job...wat do u expect him to do other dan resign!...Those blaming him cant do half of wat he's doin... Grin
Posted: at 7-04-2011 07:56 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 7-04-2011 08:22 PM (12 years ago)
you are right , he actually means good for nigeria , and he wants to be given a free hand
Posted: at 7-04-2011 08:22 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master

1. Woman Shares Text Message She Received From Her Father After She Missed His Call Twice

2. Yul Edochie Takes His Second Wife, Judy Austin To His Village In Anambra

3. I Have No Hand in The Killing - Delta Monarch Cries Out After Being Declared Wanted by The Army

4. Newly Wedded Wife Bathes Husband With Hot Water For Stopping Her From Making Calls

5. Renowned Nigerian Playwright, Wole Oguntokun Is Dead

6. "Don’t Curse Nigeria, Remove Bad Leaders In 2027" – Tinubu To Religious Leaders

7. How Woman Suffered Organ Failure From Hair Cream Which Caused Her Kidney To Shut Down

8. 'I Can't Drive Any Of My Kids Away If DNA Test Shows They're Not My Biological Children' - Man

9. BREAKING! CBN Increases Capital Base For Commercial Banks

10. AGAIN! Nigeria Thrown Into Darkness As National Grid Collapses Ahead Of Easter Holidays

11. 17Yr Old Girl Raped And Strangled To Death By Her Cousin In South Africa

12. Chinese Boss Beaten Blue And Black Over Unpaid Salary By Zimbabwean Workers

13. He Sees Liam As A Competitor And A Threat- Late Mohbad’s Wife, Wunmi Laments

14. Court Orders Release Of 313 Suspected Terrorists In Borno

15. VIDEO: Fans Treat Rema Like King After Visiting Benin For The First Time In 6 Years

16. Police Apprehend 22 Thuggery Suspects, Declare 30 Wanted In Kano

17. Court Remands 42Yr Old Man For Allegedly Defiling & Impregnating 11Yr Old Girl In Lagos

18. Delta King Declared Wanted Over Okuama Killing, Surrenders Self

19. If Car Owner Toast You No Go Video Am – Lady Stirs Reactions After Laughing At Keke Man Toaster

20. Falana Reveals It’s Illegal To Declare Suspects, Wanted

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

6. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

7. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

8. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)