Nigerian sex workers in Larissa, Greece (REAL FOOTAGE)

Date: 04-04-2011 8:08 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Big Sley
[1] 2 3 4 ... 8
- at 4-04-2011 08:08 PM (13 years ago)
Nigerian girls appeared on the streets of Athens during the Olympic Games of 2004. They never left. Nobody knew where they came from, nor did anybody care.
Most of them arrived transiting through Italy and France.
The EU's invisible borders have made it easy for traffickers to move girls around. And Nigeria has its own powerful --and highly lucrative-- criminal ring. Although it may cost 1000 Euros to transport girls to their destination cities, the latter will be forced to pay back their traffickers up to 80,000 Euros. And girls are kept from rebelling by the strong hold of voodoo oaths --and threats to their families.
Larissa is a city with a population of 200.000. It lies between the two major cities of Greece, Athens and Thessaloniki.
It is a major agricultural centre and a national transportation hub.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nk4xfCnJseE" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">Nigerian sex workers in Larissa, Greece..mp4</a>

Every night besides the town hall of Athens, next to Omonia square, where the narrow streets of the popular entertainment hub district Psirris begin, black girls from Nigeria gather to work.
Dressed provocatively, they approach people who pass by and offer their services. "Come on baby I know you want me", you hear one say playfully with a big smile on her face. Or is it a mask she wears?
The beautiful young Nigerians, between 20 and 25 years old, are victims of trafficking, forced to prostitute themselves for little money.

"Everyone knows that. The young Athenians who gather in Psirris to have fun; the policemen who casually drive through the area to keep an eye on things; the mayor of Athens; most of all the 'customers'," says resident Miltiadis Papathomopoulos, as he stares at the girls, and the people walking by.
Nigerian girls appeared on the steers of Athens during the Olympic Games. They never left. Nobody knew where they came from, and no one particularly wanted to. Until Dina Daskalopoulou, a journalist working on social issues, thought that this could not go on.
"I did it for two reasons," she told IPS, talking of her decision to start investigating the issue. "First, because everybody, citizens and officials, had an attitude that 'these things happen, nobody can stop them'. And then because anyone I talked with insisted that no one can really go out there and tell this story."
Her story, put together after six months work, circulated Mar. 24 in Eleftherotipia, a big national daily. She found that the girls come from Edo region in Nigeria, a place which regularly provides people to global slave labour networks.
The girls are sold for a couple of thousand euros by their families, or they are lured by traffickers with promise of a better life. There are an estimated 50,000 girls from there being segxwally exploited around Europe.
Most transit through Italy. They are charged up to 40,000 euros for the trip, and they are then forced into prostitution to pay their debt. Several of the women have said that traffickers, most often Nigerians, use tribal voodoo superstition to persuade the girls that if they escape or speak up, they and their families will suffer.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GCMhrhB0VMQ" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">NIGERIAN GIRLS IN THE STREET OF ATHENS</a>

Posted: at 4-04-2011 08:08 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- gimac at 4-04-2011 08:16 PM (13 years ago)
what is this
Posted: at 4-04-2011 08:16 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Fantastic2m at 4-04-2011 09:59 PM (13 years ago)
Abeg free this poor girls.
Dem just de do business.
9ja nor legit at all.
See only one man when dem call JEGA just de play ball de dribble over 2million people in de country.
Posted: at 4-04-2011 09:59 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- HOPEA23 at 4-04-2011 10:34 PM (13 years ago)
what an annoying post

Posted: at 4-04-2011 10:34 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dirtykid at 4-04-2011 10:48 PM (13 years ago)
High time to stop the Human trafficking and bring those involve in this to Justice !! Nonsense  Angry Angry Angry Angry

Posted: at 4-04-2011 10:48 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ILOVEIT at 4-04-2011 10:51 PM (13 years ago)
hmm na wa oo

Posted: at 4-04-2011 10:51 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- HOPEA23 at 4-04-2011 10:52 PM (13 years ago)
you will be number one to be jail DK..u think sa i nor know you.

Posted: at 4-04-2011 10:52 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nickki at 4-04-2011 10:54 PM (13 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 4-04-2011 10:54 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- dirtykid at 4-04-2011 10:58 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: HOPEA23 on  4-04-2011 10:52 PM

I'm highly against such thing, You don't know the bad image and name they're bringing to all black nations of Afrique, Even some silly Westerns see our gorgeous girls that are even studying in various Universities as one of the hawks !! if i really have access to know the so called dealers i will inform CNN and Police about them... Rubbish !!  Angry Angry

Posted: at 4-04-2011 10:58 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ILOVEIT at 4-04-2011 11:40 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: dirtykid on  4-04-2011 10:58 PM

I'm highly against such thing, You don't know the bad image and name they're bringing to all black nations of Afrique, Even some silly Westerns see our gorgeous girls that are even studying in various Universities as one of the hawks !! if i really have access to know the so called dealers i will inform CNN and Police about them... Rubbish !!  Angry Angry

i feel u bro!!

Posted: at 4-04-2011 11:40 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- chimauzo247 at 4-04-2011 11:42 PM (13 years ago)
chaiii see the same wey our girls dey bring come for this county................i dey travel abroad person no go sabi say na ashawo dem dey go do there.
Posted: at 4-04-2011 11:42 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- HOPEA23 at 4-04-2011 11:45 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: dirtykid on  4-04-2011 10:58 PM

i got u bro's....i wish i know dem too..

Posted: at 4-04-2011 11:45 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dirtykid at 4-04-2011 11:51 PM (13 years ago)
If anyone will have a clue to people involve in this Modern day slavery kindly report it here to me or report it direct to this Link, You will be given a guide line on what to do at the right time to bring such people to justice.  we can all impact to kick them off the business of modern day slavery.

http://thecnnfreedomproject.blogs.cnn.com

Posted: at 4-04-2011 11:51 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- HOPEA23 at 4-04-2011 11:53 PM (13 years ago)
ok DK

Posted: at 4-04-2011 11:53 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dirtykid at 4-04-2011 11:54 PM (13 years ago)
 Cool Cool

Posted: at 4-04-2011 11:54 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ILOVEIT at 4-04-2011 11:57 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: dirtykid on  4-04-2011 11:51 PM
If anyone will have a clue to people involve in this Modern day slavery kindly report it here to me or report it direct to this Link, You will be given a guide line on what to do at the right time to bring such people to justice.  we can all impact to kick them off the business of modern day slavery.

http://thecnnfreedomproject.blogs.cnn.com

good one

Posted: at 4-04-2011 11:57 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- maskalade at 5-04-2011 02:47 AM (13 years ago)
The same gross Local Issues should be resolved foremost before we get ahead of ourselves and talk about Nigerian-privileged living oversees !!
Posted: at 5-04-2011 02:47 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Ajento at 5-04-2011 03:53 AM (13 years ago)
I was actually having a nice day not until I bumped into this post. All my joy-filled-day just went down the drain. My heart is broken to pieces, am sick to the pit of my stomock and  I just felt like running naked through an automated car wash for my soiled ego to get a good wash down. Pals, am in tears for our beloved country Naija. Has it gotten to that extent?? Lowest of all lows. Look at our beautiful women making up in street corners, running after cars like crazy and half naked, having their dignity trashed, buttocks pinched, their Bosom  sized up by the greasy dirty hand of some Greek labourer right in their face like - if you don't like it get the hell out of town. Chaii, ewu atala Nigeria igu nisi . Where do we go from here, are we all going stand aside and watch our country slip further into this bottomless pit of shame?? Nigerian oil money is constantly being share by our rogue politicians while our people are suffering, dying and prostituting themselves abroad just to make a little to keep them breathing. I know, I can rant all I want and cry myself to sleep and nothing is going to change. All I know is that A LONG TIME IS NOT FOREVER. It took Egypt 30yrs to wake up from their slumber and many more around are waking up gradually. The wakeup call will soon get to us, and we surely will answer.
Posted: at 5-04-2011 03:53 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sugaDaddy1forU at 5-04-2011 05:51 AM (13 years ago)
ONYE AMU DI NMA AMAGI IHE ONYE IBI NAHU..I PITY FOR THEM SHAA....

Posted: at 5-04-2011 05:51 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ozowalu at 5-04-2011 06:56 AM (13 years ago)
Street girls ''ego odi kwa na ya'' na ehm b my own
Posted: at 5-04-2011 06:56 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 8

1. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

2. Man Catches His Wife In Bed With Another Man, Stabs Her To Death With Knife In Imo

3. American Idol Star, Mandisa Lynn Hundley Found Dead At Her Nashville Home

4. 45-Year-Old Man, Samson Adedokun Defiles His 16-Year-Old Daughter Inside Their Home In Lagos

5. IMF Urges Nigeria To Remove Fuel Subsidies: Here's Why

6. Man Detained For Trying To Sneak Into London-Bound Airplane

7. Five-Year-Old Boy Dies After Falling From Fence While Playing With His Friends In Lagos

8. Tragic As Suspected Fulani Militia Kill Plateau State Uni Student, Dading James Jordan

9. Eight Nigerians Arrested For Assaulting Police During Drug Raid In Northern Cape, S/Africa

10. Fatal Collision Claims Two Lives, Leaves Three Injured On Ijebu-Ode-Ore-Benin Expressway

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

4. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

7. Tragedy As Two Teenage Girls Drown As Canoe Capsizes In Niger State

8. Actor, Yul Edochie Mocks Comedia, AY Makun Over His Failed Marriage

9. PDP NEC Meeting: Tensions Rise Within Wike’s Camp As Gov. Makinde Dumps G-5 Governors

10. Alleged Naira Abuse: Singer, Davido Reacts To Cubana Chief Priest’s Bail