Nigeria ranked 5th on UK student visa application list

Date: 08-04-2011 2:43 am (13 years ago) | Author: Peter Izu
- at 8-04-2011 02:43 AM (13 years ago)
London – Nigeria is ranked fifth among 20 countries who top the list of those with highest application for students visa into the United Kingdom between 2005 and 2010.
According to a report by the British Parliament’s Committee on Home Affairs a total of 2,468 Nigerian students applied for British visas between January to March 2010
Out of these 1,716 were approved while 1,082 were refused visas.
The report titled, “Student Visas,'' obtained by the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Wednesday in London, indicated that a total of 54,096 student visas were issued during the period.
Further breakdown showed that a total of 6,856 visas were issued in 2005, 7,036 in 2006 and 8,385 in 2007.
The report further showed that 9,666 visas were issued in 2008, while 11,205 were issued in 2009 and 10,948 in 2010.
Meanwhile, a UK Border Agency document stated that the new migration cap policy affecting non-EU countries, including a new visa and immigration fees would take effect from April 6.
The statement explained that the fees would allow the British government to generate revenue to be used in funding the UK immigration system and to support wider government objectives.
“The revenue generated will contribute towards securing our borders and controlling migration for the benefit of the UK,'' the statement said.
According to the new visa regime applicants requiring a short visit visa will now pay 76 pounds instead of the previous 70 pounds while those who require visa for up to two years will pay 265 up from 245 pounds.
A 10-year visa, according to the new visa regime, will now attract 702 instead of 650 pounds.
Others are short term student visa (12 months) now 140 pounds from 70 pounds.
NAN recalls that the UK government recently unveiled a cap on migration, which aims to reduce net migration from hundreds to tens of thousands over the next four years.
To attain this level, the immigration cap proposal targets non-EU migrants, with a special focus on student visas, which would receive severe cuts.
The new visa regime is expected to affect fresh applications and those already in the UK seeking post-study work visas.

Posted: at 8-04-2011 02:43 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deboalabi262 at 8-04-2011 02:50 AM (13 years ago)
Thanks, but I don't need no UK visa since I be European Resident......

Posted: at 8-04-2011 02:50 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- MissyBarbie at 8-04-2011 11:29 AM (13 years ago)
I hia
Posted: at 8-04-2011 11:29 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- koliano4me at 8-04-2011 11:50 AM (13 years ago)
LIFE IS DISMERIT AND MERIT........
Posted: at 8-04-2011 11:50 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- KUDOS-GUTSY at 8-04-2011 01:25 PM (13 years ago)
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH I LAUGH IN SPANISH Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 8-04-2011 01:25 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- KUDOS-GUTSY at 8-04-2011 01:28 PM (13 years ago)
ABROAD NA-EWUZI ONWERO IFE NA-EME Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool
Posted: at 8-04-2011 01:28 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Larrykingomoj at 8-04-2011 02:10 PM (13 years ago)
And what is this mad rush to go to UK, if i had known that life abraod is not easy but the ones there will make it look like Heaven, if i had any experience at the begining i would not have left Naija. Bros life here no dey easy at all.
Posted: at 8-04-2011 02:10 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- frayobkk at 23-04-2011 06:24 PM (12 years ago)
is bc Nigierian company respect those that study in Uk more than those that graduated in our country
this make is msot do thing about our youth that ready to do anything just to study abroad

Posted: at 23-04-2011 06:24 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- KINGJHOE at 24-04-2011 06:36 AM (12 years ago)
nothing much dey abroad....focus on whatever your doing
Posted: at 24-04-2011 06:36 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- soljurn16 at 24-04-2011 06:56 AM (12 years ago)
Very good Smiley we are getting there Wink
Posted: at 24-04-2011 06:56 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- purityjustice at 24-04-2011 07:26 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Larrykingomoj on  8-04-2011 02:10 PM
And what is this mad rush to go to UK, if i had known that life abraod is not easy but the ones there will make it look like Heaven, if i had any experience at the begining i would not have left Naija. Bros life here no dey easy at all.
my broda keep on telling them about uk. they said seeing is believing. they won't understand until they come. most of nigerians in uk sold all there properties for them to come to uk thinking that uk has money making machine in the street at the end they get frustrated because of fund. life in uk is not easy as my broda said. so if u are in nigeria be proud of it, at least u have freedom of choice, the chance of breathing fresh air, not exposing urself in temperature of -10 degree Celsius, drinking natural water not recycled as we in here in uk. am proud of nigeria only that our governments are not making i possible.   
Posted: at 24-04-2011 07:26 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac