A Historic Hatered of Jews by the Christians

Date: 23-05-2011 10:48 am (12 years ago) | Author: Musa Yusuf
- at 23-05-2011 10:48 AM (12 years ago)
Anti-Jewish attitudes developed from the early years of Christianity and persisted over the ensuing centuries, driven by numerous factors including theological differences, competition between Church and Synagogue, the Christian drive for converts, misunderstanding of Jewish beliefs and practices, and alleged Jewish hostility toward Christians.

These attitudes persisted in Christian preaching, art and popular teaching of contempt for Jews over the centuries. In many Christian countries, it led to civil and political discrimination against Jews, legal disabilities, and in some instances to physical attacks on Jews which occasionally ended in emigration, expulsion, and even death.

From time to time, anti-Jewish sentiments within European society were exploited for internal political purposes and sometimes to extract a financial advantage from Jewish subjects. Such sentiments made the expansion of anti-Jewish measures politically acceptable.

Antisemitism has been described as primarily hatred against Jews as a race with its modern expression rooted in 19th century racial theories, whilst anti-Judaism is described as hostility to Jewish religion but in Western Christianity it effectively merged into antisemitism during the 12th century.  Scholars have debated how Christian antisemitism may have played a role in the Nazi Third Reich, World War II and the Holocaust.

Popular antisemitism

Antisemitism in popular European Christian culture escalated beginning in the 13th century. Blood libels and host desecration drew popular attention and led to many cases of persecution against Jews. Antisemitic imagery such as Judensau and Ecclesia et Synagoga recurred in Christian art and architecture.

Expulsion of Jews from England

King Edward I expelled all the Jews from England in 1290 (only after ransoming some 3,000 among the most wealthy of them), on the accusation of usury and undermining loyalty to the dynasty.

Expulsion of Jews from Spain

In 1492 Ferdinand II of Aragon and Isabella I of Castile, the rulers of Spain who financed Christopher Columbus' voyage to the New World just a few months later in 1492, declared that all Jews in their territories should either convert to Catholicism or leave the country. While some converted, many others left for Portugal, France, Italy (including the Papal States), Netherlands, Poland, the Ottoman Empire, and North Africa. Many of those who had fled to Portugal were latter expelled by King Manuel in 1497 or left to avoid forced conversion and persecution

WWI to the eve of the WWII

In 1916, in the midst of the First World War, American Jews petitioned Pope Benedict XV on behalf of the Polish Jews.

On April 26, 1933 Hitler declared during a meeting with Roman Catholic Bishop Wilhelm Berning of Osnabrück:

“I have been attacked because of my handling of the Jewish question. The Catholic Church considered the Jews pestilent for fifteen hundred years, put them in ghettos, etc., because it recognized the Jews for what they were. In the epoch of liberalism the danger was no longer recognized. I am moving back toward the time in which a fifteen-hundred-year-long tradition was implemented. I do not set race over religion, but I recognize the representatives of this race as pestilent for the state and for the Church, and perhaps I am thereby doing Christianity a great service by pushing them out of schools and public functions.”

The transcript of this discussion contains no response by Bishop Berning. Martin Rhonheimer does not consider this unusual since, in his opinion, for a Catholic Bishop in 1933 there was nothing particularly objectionable "in this historically correct reminder".

Pope Pius XI, who was pontiff prior to the outbreak of the Second World War, was particularly opposed to antisemitism
Nazi antisemitism
Archbishop Robert Runcie asserts that: "Without centuries of Christian antisemitism, Hitler's passionate hatred would never have been so fervently echoed...because for centuries Christians have held Jews collectively responsible for the death of Jesus. On Good Friday Jews, have in times past, cowered behind locked doors with fear of a Christian mob seeking 'revenge' for deicide. Without the poisoning of Christian minds through the centuries, the Holocaust is unthinkable. The dissident Catholic priest Hans Küng has written that "Nazi anti-Judaism was the work of godless, anti-Christian criminals. But it would not have been possible without the almost two thousand years' pre-history of 'Christian' anti-Judaism...”
According to American historian Lucy Dawidowicz, antisemitism has a long history within Christianity. The line of "antisemitic descent" from Luther, the author of On the Jews and Their Lies, to Hitler is "easy to draw." In her The War Against the Jews, 1933-1945, she contends that Luther and Hitler were obsessed by the "demonologized universe" inhabited by Jews. Dawidowicz writes that the similarities between Luther's anti-Jewish writings and modern antisemitism are no coincidence, because they derived from a common history of Judenhass, which can be traced to Haman's advice to Ahasuerus. Although modern German antisemitism also has its roots in German nationalism and the liberal revolution of 1848, Christian antisemitism she writes is a foundation that was laid by the Roman Catholic Church and "upon which Luther built." Dawidowicz' allegations and positions are criticized and not accepted by most historians however. For example, in "Studying the Jew" Alan Steinweis notes that, "Old-fashioned antisemitism, Hitler argued, was insufficient, and would lead only to pogroms, which contribute little to a permanent solution. This is why, Hitler maintained, it was important to promote 'an antisemitism of reason,' one that acknowledged the racial basis of Jewry." Interviews with Nazis by other historians show that the Nazis thought that their views were rooted in biology, not historical prejudices. For example, "S. became a missionary for this biomedical vision... As for anti-Semitic attitudes and actions, he insisted that 'the racial question... [and] resentment of the Jewish race... had nothing to do with medieval anti-Semitism...' That is, it was all a matter of scientific biology and of community.

Posted: at 23-05-2011 10:48 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 23-05-2011 07:18 PM (12 years ago)
So their hatred is not against Muslims alone, but Jews. Chai!

Posted: at 23-05-2011 07:18 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- chik001 at 24-05-2011 08:13 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 23-05-2011 07:18 PM

...on the contrary...The Muslims inherited the hatred of the Jews from Adolf Hitler...
...Go read about the role of  Haj Amin el-Husseini with Nazism...The Mufti is Jerusalem in 1943...
Posted: at 24-05-2011 08:13 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 25-05-2011 11:46 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: chik001 on 24-05-2011 08:13 PM
Quote from: cadanre on 23-05-2011 07:18 PM

...on the contrary...The Muslims inherited the hatred of the Jews from Adolf Hitler...
...Go read about the role of  Haj Amin el-Husseini with Nazism...The Mufti is Jerusalem in 1943...

But I wonder why history bury this serious case of anti Semite. I really wonder that it was only Christians own that is so pronounce and well known from early history. History should not forgive itself for that mistake.

Posted: at 25-05-2011 11:46 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 25-05-2011 11:51 AM (12 years ago)
@ chik0000000000000000000001

CHRISTIANS VERSUS JEWS

Jews killed Jesus and Christians pogrom the Jews. An undeniable fact.

Posted: at 25-05-2011 11:51 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- chik001 at 25-05-2011 07:00 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 25-05-2011 11:51 AM

CHRISTIANS VERSUS JEWS

...Christian don't hate Jew...give us a recent example...if you have any...?
Posted: at 25-05-2011 07:00 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 27-05-2011 11:21 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: chik001 on 25-05-2011 07:00 PM

CHRISTIANS VERSUS JEWS

Recent? So it is only a fault when you pogrom them in recent times? All the harm you have done to them in years back does not count?

Posted: at 27-05-2011 11:21 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- chik001 at 27-05-2011 06:54 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 27-05-2011 11:21 AM
Quote from: chik001 on 25-05-2011 07:00 PM

CHRISTIANS VERSUS JEWS

Recent? So it is only a fault when you pogrom them in recent times? All the harm you have done to them in years back does not count?

Whatever happened then can only be read from history books...
Pogrom or whatever you called it...is a Russian word for havoc...and crime against non indigene is rampant in that part of the world...
So...largely...The crusade was politically motivated by France and The Roman empire...and carried out by extremist in the name of Christianity...which todays Christian found unacceptable....
 if you don't agree with that...then that means you support the violence being perpetuated by your fellow Islamic extremist...
Posted: at 27-05-2011 06:54 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 27-05-2011 07:59 PM (12 years ago)
@ chik0000000000001

I have already responded to this issue on the other topic. Refer to it for your response. It looks as if there is a kind of copy and paste between two different topics...............

Posted: at 27-05-2011 07:59 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- chik001 at 28-05-2011 12:05 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 27-05-2011 07:59 PM
@ chik0000000000001

I have already responded to this issue on the other topic. Refer to it for your response. It looks as if there is a kind of copy and paste between two different topics...............

...ok ...now you want to make this issue a controversial one...na your way...!!!

...Whatever your respond is/was does not satisfy the fact that...Jesus The Christ did not or ever preached violence...intimidation or slaughter of ones neighbor in the name of crusade or God....
Posted: at 28-05-2011 12:05 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 30-05-2011 06:53 PM (12 years ago)
This has nothing with making it to be controversial. You are only trying to apply your double-standard system on the topic. I kept on telling you this: CHRISTIANS CARRIED OUT THE CRUSADE AND IN THE NAME OF CHRISTIANITY, ALL THOSE THAT HAVE DIED, DIED BECAUSE EITHER THEY ARE NOT CHRISTIANS, OR THEY DID NOT BELONG TO THE RIGHT WING CHRISTIAN GROUP. NOBODY WILL EVER BLAME JEWS, MUSLIMS OR ANY OTHER PERSON FOR CARRYING OUT THE CRUSADE BUT CHRISTIANS. THEY SUCKED BLOOD OF INNOCENT PEOPLE, MEN AND WOMEN, OLD ONES AND SMALL KIDS (remember the stream of blood?)Huh?

Posted: at 30-05-2011 06:53 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- chik001 at 31-05-2011 08:44 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 30-05-2011 06:53 PM
This has nothing with making it to be controversial. You are only trying to apply your double-standard system on the topic. I kept on telling you this: CHRISTIANS CARRIED OUT THE CRUSADE AND IN THE NAME OF CHRISTIANITY, ALL THOSE THAT HAVE DIED, DIED BECAUSE EITHER THEY ARE NOT CHRISTIANS, OR THEY DID NOT BELONG TO THE RIGHT WING CHRISTIAN GROUP. NOBODY WILL EVER BLAME JEWS, MUSLIMS OR ANY OTHER PERSON FOR CARRYING OUT THE CRUSADE BUT CHRISTIANS. THEY SUCKED BLOOD OF INNOCENT PEOPLE, MEN AND WOMEN, OLD ONES AND SMALL KIDS (remember the stream of blood?)Huh?

...simple question...:
...show me in Jesus The Christown words where he endorsed or asked his followers to indulge in violence against anyone...and I will show you hundred of such verses in The Koran...
True Christainity which is rooted in The words of Christ do not kill people...,People kill people...
...anyone...no matter the rank in the Church...who carry out a violent act and intimidation does so at their own selfish or political motive...
Posted: at 31-05-2011 08:44 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 2-06-2011 11:01 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: chik001 on 31-05-2011 08:44 PM

...simple question...:
...show me in Jesus The Christown words where he endorsed or asked his followers to indulge in violence against anyone...and I will show you hundred of such verses in The Koran...
True Christainity which is rooted in The words of Christ do not kill people...,People kill people...
...anyone...no matter the rank in the Church...who carry out a violent act and intimidation does so at their own selfish or political motive...

Still trying to deviate? I was only trying to figure out how and why Christians hate Jews not saying Jesus or who ask them to do it.

Posted: at 2-06-2011 11:01 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 2-06-2011 12:26 PM (12 years ago)

You can go ahead and tell me where and how Qur'an told us to kill. I am fully ready to deal with it.

Posted: at 2-06-2011 12:26 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 23-07-2012 04:25 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on  2-06-2011 12:26 PM

You can go ahead and tell me where and how Qur'an told us to kill. I am fully ready to deal with it.
mad man..
Posted: at 23-07-2012 04:25 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- hosbert at 23-07-2012 06:18 PM (11 years ago)

@Cadanre,I believe your are well informed and I strongly hold the opinion that what we need in Nigeria right now is discourse that would promote harmonious corporate existence of our dear country rather than fanning embers of disunity that would utimately lead to self destruction.I want you to know that people out of either ignorance or premeditatively acting out a well thoughtout script by their paymasters go about carrying out the acts you have chronicled erroneously believing to be preserving or protecting of their faith;or calculatedly in obedience to the biddings of their masters.Any christian who kills another purporting to have done so in order to advance christianity is not a christian but claiming to be one.Jesus Christ never killed,nor thought His followers to kill and anyone being a christian that kills to preserve christianity is not doing it for the sake of the gospel of Christ but for his selfish reason and only using christianity as a medium to achieve same just as it is with fanatics the world over.

The bible condemns killing for whatever reason but preaches forgiveness to those who offend us no matter how painful or bad the offence might be and to do otherwise is not the will of God but clearly will of that man that so commit the act.Blood letters and suckers exist among fanatics who have found religion as a more convenient medium through which they can vent their anger on their perceived enemies.
Posted: at 23-07-2012 06:18 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming