UN Says: "Nigeria is one of the world's worst places to have a baby"

Date: 27-05-2011 5:58 am (12 years ago) | Author: WhoBdat
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6
- at 27-05-2011 05:58 AM (12 years ago)
I found this story on BBC and I was angry as well as surprised! What's your view.

"A Nigerian family planning expert has told the BBC it would be difficult to implement the suggestion that Nigerians should only have three children.

Isaac Ogo pointed to the tradition of polygamy and the belief that the children were seen as a "gift from God" in a male-dominated society.

Recent UN figures suggest Nigeria's population could jump to 730 million by 2100 - behind only India and China.

UN special adviser Jeffrey Sachs said this prospect alarmed him.

"It is not healthy. Nigeria should work towards attaining a maximum of three children per family," he told the AFP news agency.

Mr Ogo, from the Planned Parenthood Federation of Nigeria, agrees with the goal but says it will be hard to change the views of many Nigerians.

He says Nigeria is a "high birth, high death" society where many people think: "I need to have as much children as I want, as I don't know which will survive."

Nigeria is one of the world's worst places to have a baby, according to the UN.

About 145 women die each day in pregnancy or childbirth, as do 2,300 children below five years of age.
'Not their business'

Mr Ogo also told the BBC's Focus on Africa programme that many women are unable to visit an organisation such as his without their husband's agreement.

On the streets of the northern city of Kaduna, some people told the BBC that God decided how many children they had and so it would be wrong to try to limit the number of births.

"[The UN] should try to advise the government how to make the lives of Nigerians better, not telling Nigerians not to have children - that is not their business," one angry woman said.

But one woman agreed with Mr Sachs, saying that in a poor country such as Nigeria, it was better to have fewer children and look after them properly.

Nigeria's population is currently 160m - by far the most populous in Africa but a long way behind those of China and India."

source:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-13530649

Posted: at 27-05-2011 05:58 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- frayobkk at 27-05-2011 06:23 AM (12 years ago)
I dont agree with Un on this not everything the say we most afree with
this so call Un sef lia lia full there moutn
soday the will come up one story, tomorrow another diference one

Posted: at 27-05-2011 06:23 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maryclaret at 27-05-2011 06:36 AM (12 years ago)
The guy is right on saying that the government can advise, but they shouldn't start enforcing child limiting laws like The Republic of China. That is where problems will set in. No one likes to be told what to do so this one will be a hard message to get across in a land where culture and religion are highly valued.

Posted: at 27-05-2011 06:36 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- whome at 27-05-2011 06:40 AM (12 years ago)
Atleast i was born in nigeria and am still alive uptil now.So phyuk UN
Posted: at 27-05-2011 06:40 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 27-05-2011 06:47 AM (12 years ago)
well 3kids is ok
Posted: at 27-05-2011 06:47 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- lilian1 at 27-05-2011 06:53 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: whome on 27-05-2011 06:40 AM
Atleast i was born in nigeria and am still alive uptil now.So fcuk UN

I know self. This people are just talking rubbish. I am alive, well, and healthy.I am a Nigerian, born and raised. Nothing never do me. Mchewwwwwww!..Just Waka Pass!
Posted: at 27-05-2011 06:53 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Ibrutex at 27-05-2011 07:10 AM (12 years ago)
Dats Our bis. Nt their's aftral na dem dey feed us  Huh?

Posted: at 27-05-2011 07:10 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyimau20 at 27-05-2011 07:19 AM (12 years ago)
Well, i do not agree with UN's observation towards nigeria..But it's better to hv 3 healthy, well trained kids than to hv them 6 or more without giving them the neccessary care/training they need in life.
Posted: at 27-05-2011 07:19 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 27-05-2011 07:28 AM (12 years ago)
nonsense and stupid idea
Posted: at 27-05-2011 07:28 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 27-05-2011 07:31 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 27-05-2011 07:28 AM
irresponsible reports and poke nosing inro our affairs in a civilised society, madness
Posted: at 27-05-2011 07:31 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- Jeonleon at 27-05-2011 07:33 AM (12 years ago)
These experts should relax....Nigeria will get there in due time. Every advanced society passed thru this stage in their growth. But first, they tackled their basic problems, which is what Nigeria is still struggling to do.
Posted: at 27-05-2011 07:33 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- slimben at 27-05-2011 07:50 AM (12 years ago)
am a proud 9ja born of 8 children we all alive strong and living life to its fullest phyuk un
Posted: at 27-05-2011 07:50 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- skyleo at 27-05-2011 08:26 AM (12 years ago)
Well no matter the number a family want to give birth to, there can be a body that will be looking into the standard of the families to know if they are capable of taking care of their children.
Posted: at 27-05-2011 08:26 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- dogodajiabuja at 27-05-2011 08:31 AM (12 years ago)
kai!
dis people wan make AJANNI no marry 4 wives.
AJANNI,  make you turn to christian begin deh prayoooooooo
ur own don finish be dat!
Posted: at 27-05-2011 08:31 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Nonso85 at 27-05-2011 08:36 AM (12 years ago)
@Poster why are you surprised, OUR NEIGHBORS IN THE NORTH ARE INto Pikins production...... 
Posted: at 27-05-2011 08:36 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- GOLDENMEDAH at 27-05-2011 08:50 AM (12 years ago)
whatever...
Posted: at 27-05-2011 08:50 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 27-05-2011 08:52 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: dogodajiabuja on 27-05-2011 08:31 AM
kai!
dis people wan make AJANNI no marry 4 wives.
AJANNI,  make you turn to christian begin deh prayoooooooo
ur own don finish be dat!

you dey craze , badboy , over my dead body so , never in our own time
Posted: at 27-05-2011 08:52 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- chicanorose at 27-05-2011 09:09 AM (12 years ago)
3 kids are okay.
i will i like the law to be implemented because many u will see a common laborer who earns 500 daily marry like 3 wives with 15 children, tell mebhow that 500 will be enough to feed the whole family. u will all see that at the end of the day, the children will be forced to fend for them selves and before u know it, they have become nuisance to the society.
lets learn to live life according to our pockets

Posted: at 27-05-2011 09:09 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kingsley005 at 27-05-2011 09:20 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: whome on 27-05-2011 06:40 AM
Atleast i was born in nigeria and am still alive uptil now.So fcuk UN

phyuk UN too..i was born in niaja too
Posted: at 27-05-2011 09:20 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 27-05-2011 09:23 AM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 27-05-2011 09:23 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6