WHY ARE NIGERIANS NOT ASHAMED OF TELLING LIES?

Date: 06-06-2011 10:59 am (12 years ago) | Author: Ben David
[1] 2 3 4
- at 6-06-2011 10:59 AM (12 years ago)
It all starts with lies.

Nigeria is chosen as a better example because of its population and strategic position among the 'black race in the world'.

Why are most Nigerians not ashamed of telling lies?
The Government Treasury lootings, 419 - scammings, thieves and robbers, ritual killings and murders, infidelity to spouses and not sticking to one girl or boy friend, coming late to meetings, deceiving women, bribery and corruption, and to the police it seems legalized, Muslims killing Christians since and before 1967 till date (over 40 years) and continuing, etc. etc.

YET we call the name God, God, Jesus, Jesus, Allah, Allah, and ironically churches and mosques are scattered everywhere more than in any part of the world.

Is that not loss of diminished responsibility (disease of the mind and confusion), hypocrites and self-deceit?

Posted: at 6-06-2011 10:59 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- sophiebaby at 6-06-2011 11:03 AM (12 years ago)
Lieing is in everyone's Blood.. Sometimes we lie by not even knowing that we just lied..
SOBEIT

Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:03 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- betty55 at 6-06-2011 11:09 AM (12 years ago)
 l dey come back
Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:09 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- RealOnyeigbo at 6-06-2011 11:14 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on  6-06-2011 11:03 AM
Lieing is in everyone's Blood.. Sometimes we lie by not even knowing that we just lied..
SOBEIT

SOPHIE dear, with all the love and admiration I have for u, you are among the last person I would never like to openly disagree with, but here sorry, I tend to differ because I have seen to my surprises in countless places where lieing is criminalized, even just a small lie to a bf/gf (for e.g. I will come at 5.00 pm and u come at 7.00 pm without phone call) can destroy over ten years or lifetime relationship.
Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:14 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Kissme69 at 6-06-2011 11:23 AM (12 years ago)
I agree with the post 95%. Am half nigerian, and american. I do not know why most, at least 95% of nigerian men lie so much. And we go to church alot.............. fast, speak in tongues .. get blood money (ritual), corruption, bribery e.t.c .............. But having said all this, we still have few nigerian men who are honest, hard-working..........but they are so hard to find. Smiley
Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:23 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- dirtykid at 6-06-2011 11:24 AM (12 years ago)
Well i don't know why, I believe anyone with such life style should learn to drop it, because lies will never lead you to anywhere and no matter how long it takes, the truth must surely prevail !! is just like a bottle thrown into ocean, no matter how much it sink, it will surely come up shore again and remain.  

Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:24 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Kissme69 at 6-06-2011 11:34 AM (12 years ago)
I still blame the nigerian government (not for the lies, but for the corruption, bribery, 4.1.9, ritual e.t.c). Most nigerians are very educated and very hard-working. But when they finish school, uni, masters e.t.c.. NO JOB!!!, for most of them. So one reason y ritual is very rampant. I ;)ts so sad to do this, but its going on........All in the name to surivive, be famous or what ever reasons............. The government should please help the citizens!!!!!!!................ Hope the new GOVERNMENT can change this....... (Keep our fingers crossed). God bless NIGERIA.!!
Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:34 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- sophiebaby at 6-06-2011 11:37 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: RealOnyeigbo on  6-06-2011 11:14 AM
Quote from: sophiebaby on  6-06-2011 11:03 AM
SOBEIT

SOPHIE dear, with all the love and admiration I have for u, you are among the last person I would never like to openly disagree with, but here sorry, I tend to differ because I have seen to my surprises in countless places where lieing is criminalized, even just a small lie to a bf/gf (for e.g. I will come at 5.00 pm and u come at 7.00 pm without phone call) can destroy over ten years or lifetime relationship.

thats why i say evryone naaaaaaaaaa.. cos u'll lie and take it no to be a lie.. Cheesy

Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:37 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 6-06-2011 11:38 AM (12 years ago)
weda big/small lie.. lie na lieee

Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:38 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- RealOnyeigbo at 6-06-2011 11:41 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on  6-06-2011 11:38 AM

but is it not a shameful act?
Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:41 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- dirtykid at 6-06-2011 11:44 AM (12 years ago)
Hahaha.. i had a friend no matter how much i've tried to teach him how to keep time and be sincere to that when he make appointment, he must be late for that.. I don't know why, he told me is African time, is there anything like that existing ( African Time ) ?? Personally i see that as not been serious and lack of integrity in a person.

Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:44 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 6-06-2011 11:45 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: RealOnyeigbo on  6-06-2011 11:41 AM

depending on the type of lie sha..

Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:45 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 6-06-2011 11:47 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: dirtykid on  6-06-2011 11:44 AM
Hahaha.. i had a friend no matter how much i've tried to teach him how to keep time and be sincere to that when he make appointment, he must be late for that.. I don't know why, he told me is African time, is there anything like that existing ( African Time ) ?? Personally i see that as not been serious and lack of integrity in a person.

to me theres Nothing like African time.. if u wanna be punctual u will..

Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:47 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dirtykid at 6-06-2011 11:50 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on  6-06-2011 11:45 AM
Quote from: RealOnyeigbo on  6-06-2011 11:41 AM

depending on the type of lie sha..

So lies get types ? Kindly name them for me  Cheesy

Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:50 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Kennee at 6-06-2011 11:56 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: RealOnyeigbo on  6-06-2011 10:59 AM
It all starts with lies.

Nigeria is chosen as a better example because of its population and strategic position among the 'black race in the world'.

Why are most Nigerians not ashamed of telling lies?
The Government Treasury lootings, 419 - scammings, thieves and robbers, ritual killings and murders, infidelity to spouses and not sticking to one girl or boy friend, coming late to meetings, deceiving women, bribery and corruption, and to the police it seems legalized, Muslims killing Christians since and before 1967 till date (over 40 years) and continuing, etc. etc.

YET we call the name God, God, Jesus, Jesus, Allah, Allah, and ironically churches and mosques are scattered everywhere more than in any part of the world.

Is that not loss of diminished responsibility (disease of the mind and confusion), hypocrites and self-deceit?

Nigerians are not Ashamed of Telling Lies cos Lies have been Transfered down from Generation to Generation and most times they tell yu these Lies are for the Better Results

Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:56 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- RealOnyeigbo at 6-06-2011 11:58 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on  6-06-2011 11:47 AM

[/color]

Seconded!

I think the lie in Nigeria lies mostly in the upbringing of children. Little example, as a child, most children heard their parents say:

"If soso and soso person comes and asks about me, tell him that I am not around or I traveled, while in fact, it's a complete lie. And when the person comes around, one mistakenly say the truth,  The boss, Mama or Papa can sack you from your job without remedy or thoroughly beat u up for saying d truth. How then can the person become the President of the country and feel ashamed of telling lies? when in fact, parents and the society approved lie from childhood???
Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:58 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- sophiebaby at 6-06-2011 12:02 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: RealOnyeigbo on  6-06-2011 11:58 AM

[/color]

Seconded!

I think the lie in Nigeria lies mostly in the upbringing of children. Little example, as a child, most children heard their parents say:

"If soso and soso person comes and asks about me, tell him that I am not around or I traveled, while in fact, it's a complete lie. And when the person comes around, one mistakenly say the truth,  The boss, Mama or Papa can sack you from your job without remedy or thoroughly beat u up for saying d truth. How then can the person become the President of the country and feel ashamed of telling lies? when in fact, parents and the society approved lie from childhood???

heheheheh that na if the mama or papa dey owe d person money naaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 6-06-2011 12:02 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- RealOnyeigbo at 6-06-2011 12:10 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on  6-06-2011 12:02 PM

[/color]

u don talk am b4, lie na lie. But such a lie is even a more serious and dangerous one, because the children learns that no truth when it comes to money matter. Is that not more absurd? money, money, money, Nigeria's biggest sickness! instead of rescheduling with the debtor and creditor honestly and amicably even if it means given him four, five or even seven months notice to repay d debt and stick to that time and do repay it even if it means borrowing from Peter to pay Paul? I see it happen in many societies apart from Naija

Seconded!

heheheheh that na if the mama or papa dey owe d person money naaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 6-06-2011 12:10 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- RealOnyeigbo at 6-06-2011 12:17 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: RealOnyeigbo on  6-06-2011 12:10 PM
Quote from: sophiebaby on  6-06-2011 12:02 PM

[/color]

u don talk am b4, lie na lie. But such a lie is even a more serious and dangerous one, because the children learns that no truth when it comes to money matter. Is that not more absurd? money, money, money, Nigeria's biggest sickness! instead of rescheduling with the debtor and creditor honestly and amicably even if it means given him four, five or even seven months notice to repay d debt and stick to that time and do repay it even if it means borrowing from Peter to pay Paul? I see it happen in many societies apart from Naija

Seconded!

CORRECT Sophie. Dat is the root issue!
U don talk am b4, lie na lie. But such a 'money' lie is even a more disastrous, serious and dangerous one, because the children learns from outset that no truth should exist, when it comes to money matter, which is very bad and not so in many countries. Is that not more absurd? Money, money, money, Nigeria's biggest sickness! instead of rescheduling with the creditor honestly and amicably even if it means giving four, five or even seven months or one year notice to repay d debt and honestly and sincerely stick to that time and do repay it even if it means borrowing from Peter to pay Paul? I see it happen in many societies apart from Naija. Why?
Posted: at 6-06-2011 12:17 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- dirtykid at 6-06-2011 12:19 PM (12 years ago)
Na waoo !! Just learning and wandering why is like that !! No wonder if here on NP some people even pretend with lies all over their post even when you don't see who is behind there  Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 6-06-2011 12:19 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4