Boko Haram members kill 2 Pastors in Borno

Date: 10-06-2011 7:50 am (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 10-06-2011 07:50 AM (12 years ago)
An Islamic sect, Boko Haram, struck again yesterday in Maiduguri, Borno State capital killing the Pastor of Church of Christ in Nigeria, Rev. David Usman and the assistant secretary of the church.

This came as VicePresident Namadi Sambo yesterday presided over a two-hour Security Council meeting over the Boko Haram insurgence which has reached alarming proportion in recent weeks,  claiming several lives.

Borno State Commissioner of Police, Mallam Mohammed Abubakar, who confirmed this, blamed Boko Haram for the attack, arguing that the same sect also participated in bomb blasts and attacks hours earlier that left at least 10 people dead.

The meeting came a day after President Goodluck Jonathan in New York promised to adopt the “carrot and stick” options to contain violent activities mostly associated with the Boko Haram religious sect.

Speaking on the outcome of the meeting, Governor Kashim Shettima of Borno State said security chiefs at the meeting cross-fertilised ideas on security challenges facing Borno.

He disclosed that the Vice President pledged full Federal Government support towards “nipping in the bud, once and for all, the Boko Haram insurrections in the North-East.”

On the carrot and stick approach, he said: “Dialogue is an ongoing business. For those that are ready to lay down their arms, the President was very empathic in New York when he said we were going to apply the carrot and stick approach.

For those that are willing to lay down their arms, I believe the Federal Government and the state government will be very magnanimous. This is an agenda the state government has been championing since we came to power.

“Let open the line of dialogue, know their grievances and see how we can address them but the line of dialogue is very much open. Boko Haram, I wish to reiterate, is a political problem and a political problem always need a political solution.

“We cannot talk to them from a position of weakness, we have to talk to them from a position of strength and the Federal Government has pledged all the support needed for us to restore peace and tranquillity to Borno State.”

Shettima also dismissed allegation by the leading opposition party in the state of politicising crisis, saying some of the utterance by the opposition members “are contempt,” noting that he would not join issues on such thing with them.

“ I am a leader for all the people of Borno State irrespective of their political affiliation, religious persuasion and professional background. It is not for me to pass comment and give them the oxygen of relevance by responding to such diatribe,” he said.

Also in attendance were Chief of Defence Staff, Air Chief Marshal Oluseyi Petinrin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt. Gen. Azubuike Ihejirika; Chief of Air Staff, Air Vice-Marshal Mohammed Dikko Umar, Borno C0ommisoner of Police M. D. Abubakar, representatives of Chief of Naval Staff and Inspector General of Police.

Posted: at 10-06-2011 07:50 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- slimben at 10-06-2011 08:01 AM (12 years ago)
GOD pass them fool
my brothers in faith be happy when you die on a good cause for ur reward is in haven hard
luck to ur humble family R.I.P  :'( :'( :'(
Posted: at 10-06-2011 08:01 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- segzydu at 10-06-2011 08:32 AM (12 years ago)
fear not the man that can kill the body,but not the soul.God pass them uncountable times.......... Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 10-06-2011 08:32 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- slimben at 10-06-2011 08:34 AM (12 years ago)
na so may GOD help us
Posted: at 10-06-2011 08:34 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- engrtope at 10-06-2011 08:40 AM (12 years ago)
May God help us
Posted: at 10-06-2011 08:40 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bomsiluv at 10-06-2011 08:43 AM (12 years ago)
Dis malu dem no go rest?
Posted: at 10-06-2011 08:43 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimben at 10-06-2011 08:54 AM (12 years ago)
sister how we go do now with this people GOD dey
Posted: at 10-06-2011 08:54 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Jeonleon at 10-06-2011 08:57 AM (12 years ago)
I hav doubts dat dis 'carrot n stick' approach wil work just lyk the 'amnesty' did 4 Niger-Delta militants.
Dats bcoz the fuel dat powered the militants insurgency were thia grievances. But, the Boko Haram is powered by thia deeply-rooted belief!
Posted: at 10-06-2011 08:57 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- baby14life at 10-06-2011 09:00 AM (12 years ago)
R I P My brother`s

Is well........God kws all about us
Posted: at 10-06-2011 09:00 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- slimben at 10-06-2011 09:10 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: baby14life on 10-06-2011 09:00 AM
R I P My brother`s

Is well........God kws all about us
  baby where u go hide Cool Cool Cool
Posted: at 10-06-2011 09:10 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ibrutex at 10-06-2011 09:20 AM (12 years ago)
Make dem segregate dis malus go Niger republic   Lips Sealed

Posted: at 10-06-2011 09:20 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lopez2424 at 10-06-2011 09:24 AM (12 years ago)
When will those blood suckers, call Boko Haram  come to their sense.
Posted: at 10-06-2011 09:24 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- zellion at 10-06-2011 09:58 AM (12 years ago)
"those that are ready to lay down arms the Federal Govt will be magnanimous to them".BULLSHIT!!. dat is how they spoil them.in civilizeed countries they will b punished but not so in 9ja.instead they will b put on monthly salaries and oda sweet bénéfits while graduates go about looking for jobs.no wonder more peeps are taking to a life of crime/violence.idiots![color=][/color] Angry
Posted: at 10-06-2011 09:58 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- dadido at 10-06-2011 10:09 AM (12 years ago)
only God can answer dis boko harram of animals dat call dem self people, may God help his people!
Posted: at 10-06-2011 10:09 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- eskor9 at 10-06-2011 10:20 AM (12 years ago)
When will it stop. Oh Lord have Mercy on us. Amen
Posted: at 10-06-2011 10:20 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- eskor9 at 10-06-2011 10:21 AM (12 years ago)
When will it stop. Oh Lord have Mercy on us. Amen
Posted: at 10-06-2011 10:21 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- abbasali at 10-06-2011 10:37 AM (12 years ago)
the security of this country is  only God that will save us not our leadars
Posted: at 10-06-2011 10:37 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- onyimau20 at 10-06-2011 10:58 AM (12 years ago)
RIP pastors. These animals that called themselves Boko haram, when will they come to their senses..
Posted: at 10-06-2011 10:58 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Adikpe at 10-06-2011 11:12 AM (12 years ago)
God will surely visit these cows one day.
Posted: at 10-06-2011 11:12 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicanorose at 10-06-2011 11:16 AM (12 years ago)
 :'(      BOKO HARAM nt again. What have the pastors got to do with them? When will all this violence come to an end? What do the BOKO HARAM really want? I gat so many  questions, but no answers. May GOD help us. RIP  to the deceased and may GOD give their families the heart to bear the great and sudden loss.

Posted: at 10-06-2011 11:16 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7

1. Singer Portable Slams His Wife, Bewaji, For Excluding Him From Her Birthday Message To Herself

2. Lawyer With BSc Drops A Memo For EFCC & Nigerian Lawmakers Over Naira Abuse Brouhaha

3. Man Arrested By Police For Allegedly Slaughtering 80Yr Old Boss, Wife In Their Abuja Home

4. Nigerian Man Who Hates Cake, Celebrates Birthday With Bread, Butter, And Akara

5. '4 Holy Spirits Came Down From Heaven To Rescue Me' -Tiktoker Who Accused Skibii Of Ritual Says

6. BBN Neo Cries Out Over Accusations Of His Having Affair With AY Makun's Estranged Wife, Mabel

7. VIDEO: Lady Cries Profusely After Boyfriend Of 6 Years Impregnated Her Best Friend

8. Nina Ivy Recounts Her Delivery Journey as She Celebrates Her Son’s 4th Birthday (Video)

9. VID: “I’m Scared, EFCC Are Planning To Arrest Me Because Of VeryDarkMan”– Portable

10. VIDEO: "I Am A Late Bloomer" - Lady Says As She Acquires Her First Car At 32

11. JNR POPE: AGN President, Emeka Rollas Speaks on Dragging Adanma Luke to Court

12. Burna Boy Receives Accolade From Canadian Senate Over ‘Sold Out’ Concert

13. Davido Collaborates With UnitedMasters To Launch New Music Label

14. Comedian Sydney Talker Calls For Prayers For Ailing Singer Khaid

15. Lagos Driver Nabbed For Cramming 11 Children Into His Car Meant For Transporting 5 People

16. New Super Eagles Head Coach Will Be Announced in Two Weeks - Sports Minister Reveals

17. Jubilation in JUTH As 49 Year Old Woman Welcomes Quadruplets After 15 Years of Waiting

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Moment Lady Was Busted For Lying During Her Testimony in Church (Video)

8. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

9. VIDEO: Five Cars And BRT Bus Collide in Multiple Crash Along Lagos-Ibadan Expressway

10. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line