‘We slept in more than 50 hotels’

Date: 13-06-2011 10:31 am (12 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 13-06-2011 10:31 AM (12 years ago)
A member of the sixth legislative House of Ogun State House of Assembly and a member of the Group of 15, Mr. ‘Leye Odunjo has reviewed the activities of the group during their political differences with the immediate past Governor of the state, Otunba Gbenga Daniel and sensationally revealed that members saw hell in the hands of the ex-governor.

In an interview with journalists, Odunjo who was the Chairman of the Parliamentary Caucus of the House also disclosed that the group slept in more than 50 hotels in the country to avoid “landing in a lion’s den.”
His words: “We patronized big hotels in our bid to avoid arrest by the state government or allow any untoward to happen to us because at that time, our lives were in danger.”

He adds: “We were being monitored all over the place. It took us a lot of time before we knew that we had trackers in our official vehicles.  So we were compelled to drop all our official vehicles.“During the struggle, the maximum we stay in an hotel is one week, because by the time we would have spent that much in such an hotel, information would have reached the state government that we were there and we had no choice than to leave for another one.

“In our bid to avoid the killer squad which we feared existed in the state, we virtually slept in no fewer than 50 hotels across the country moving from one place to another. I remember vividly one time when someone asked us to go and rest and we had to leave the country for Ghana and we had to do so by road for security reasons.”
Explaining why the group did not go by air, he said: “We decided not to go by air because we feared we would be sighted at the airport or the manifest would have given us away to deadly agents of government who were desperate to silence us.’’

“We thank God who made it possible for us to be alive and we also thank the people of Ogun State who stood by us. It was an experience we would not forget for life.  However, we also leave others who did not support us to their conscience. My future plans? ‘’Everybody has future plans, I have just completed two-term at the House of Assembly. So I need to rest, because it has been so tough. Don’t forget the fact that I contested the PDP governorship primaries and lost to Chief Adetunji Olurin and I was later appointed the campaign coordinator for the Ado-Odo Local Government Area of the state. It has been so tedious for me in recent time.

“For your information, for over a year, I have not seen my wife and children. So I am eager to see them and rest for sometime and later come back to continue politics.” Asked whether he would join some of his colleagues who had defected to the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) or remain in the Peoples Democratic Party , Odunjo said: “Don’t be in a hurry, just watch.

“But I can tell you that currently, I am still a bonafide member of the PDP. Even in 1999 when we lost to the Alliance for Democracy in the South-west, I remained in the AD until I later joined the PDP and I still remain in the party till now.

Posted: at 13-06-2011 10:31 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- malamy at 7-02-2012 11:22 PM (12 years ago)
Una try.
Posted: at 7-02-2012 11:22 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac