1. Prayers for Lagos, Nigeria (Page 2)

Date: 01-07-2011 1:55 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Chinwendu
1 [2] 3 4
- mchinwendu at 13-07-2011 10:42 PM (12 years ago)

I would like us to continue prayers from the Impact Team of InTouch (a Christian ministry).  I will post prayers for today through Saturday, July 16, 2011, as I will be travelling.  Please join me in prayer for travelling mercies...in Jesus name, amen.

My brothers and sisters here at 9japals, as the Holy Spirit directs you, please at anytime feel very free to lead us in daily prayers. 

Master God,

We pray that we will listen and act on your ways as we reach out to those in Lagos and in Nigeria who do not yet know you.  Those who have been deceived to believe that you are not helping your people right now, let their eyes be opened in Jesus name.  Let them realize that what they see and/or what they are passing through is NOT too great for you. All it takes is them reaching out to you and accepting the only one that can transform their lives in an instant...Jesus the Christ!  We pray that you grant us favor where ever we go, as we join with those who are also spreading the Good News of the gospel  We ask this in our saviors name, Jesus Christ, amen.

Hebrew 3:13 reads:
Encourage one another day after day, as long as it is still called "Today," so that none of you will be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin.   
Posted: at 13-07-2011 10:42 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mchinwendu at 13-07-2011 11:11 PM (12 years ago)
For July 14, 2011

Glorious One, the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob we praise you.  We thank you for forgiving us all our sins; past, present and future based on the sacrificial death of Christ on the cross.  Jesus rose...hallelujah!  We are ever grateful to you Jesus for taking our place and for bridging the gap for us to return home to the Father.  Unless we forgive others, resentment and bitterness will erode our peace.  Jehovah, please move in the hearts of those reached by your people, leading them to forgive all who have hurt, offended or disappointed them.  We pray for the spiritual, emotional and physical healing to all who are suffering from tragic events in Lagos, Nigeria and everywhere...in Jesus name!!!  We are covered in the blood of Jesus and we stand on your word and your promises now and forever more...in Jesus name, amen.

2 Timothy 1:2
For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love and self-discipline. 
Posted: at 13-07-2011 11:11 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mchinwendu at 13-07-2011 11:42 PM (12 years ago)
For July 15, 2011

In Jesus name Father, we close up any breaches in our life that would give satan and demons access.  We pray that every broken hedge in our life be restored, in Jesus name.  We repent and receive forgiveness for any sin that has opened the door for any spirit to enter and operate in our life..in Jesus name, amen.  Lord, we renounce all crooked speech that would cause a breach in Jesus mighty name. We pray for a hedge of protection around our mind, body, family, friends, finances, and possessions in Jesus wonderful name.  God you alone are our rock and shield...all glory to you for you are worthy to be praised!!!  Thank you heavenly Father for hearing our prayer and for answering our prayer in Jesus name, amen and amen!

Hebrew 13:1-2
Continue to love each other with true Christian/brotherly love.  Don't forget to show hospitality to strangers for some who have done this have entertained angels without realizing it!
Posted: at 13-07-2011 11:42 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mchinwendu at 14-07-2011 12:08 AM (12 years ago)
For July 15, 2011

When I was a small pikin, I remember reading many of these little booklets.  Even today, I can recall the stories and the way they introduce one to Jesus Christ.  The website is www.chick.com

I have embeded one of the booklets here but I'm not sure if it will work.  Let's hope![/
b]

<object width="425" height="240"><param name="movie" value="http://media.chick.com/preview.swf"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://media.chick.com/preview.swf" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="240"></embed></object>

Remain blessed all

Posted: at 14-07-2011 12:08 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mchinwendu at 14-07-2011 12:34 AM (12 years ago)
For July 16, 2011

The booklet "Mean Mama" I just saw for the first time but this one of today...I remember well. 

Heavenly Father,
Let us continue the renewing of ur mind and examine ourselves.  May our desire to serve you with our life remain ever strong, in Jesus name, amen.

1 Thessalonians 5:19-22
Do not stifle the Holy Spirit. Do not scoff at prophecies, but test everything that is said. Hold onto what is good.  Keep away from every kind of evil.

<object width="425" height="240"><param name="movie" value="http://media.chick.com/tract_1.swf"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://media.chick.com/tract_1.swf" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="240"></embed></object>
Posted: at 14-07-2011 12:34 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- CammyWhite at 17-07-2011 02:20 AM (12 years ago)
You know, prayer is no substitute for doing something. In fact it's just slacktivism.
Posted: at 17-07-2011 02:20 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- democrazy at 17-07-2011 12:45 PM (12 years ago)
@CammyWhite

You have hit the nail on the head. This is why Nigeria has greatly deteriorated. People dont work hard, dont help each other, dont will good for anyone except.......PRAY GOD will make things better!!!

One day we will get away from this learned helplessness!!!
Posted: at 17-07-2011 12:45 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mchinwendu at 17-07-2011 07:04 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: CammyWhite on 17-07-2011 02:20 AM
You know, prayer is no substitute for doing something. In fact it's just slacktivism.

So very true my sister.  Just as you said, we are also praying that hearts are changed and filled with God's Spirit which WILL lead to people DOING.   
Posted: at 17-07-2011 07:04 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mchinwendu at 17-07-2011 07:49 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: democrazy on 17-07-2011 12:45 PM
@CammyWhite

You have hit the nail on the head. This is why Nigeria has greatly deteriorated. People dont work hard, dont help each other, dont will good for anyone except.......PRAY GOD will make things better!!!

If I may add please...you are 100% correct, it is mankind, we are not doing our part indeed.  We are suppose to work hard, we are suppose to help each other, we are suppose to will good to each other, we are suppose to be happy for each other's victories/blessings and we are suppose to stand against evil.  God has already done everything that needs to be done and we need to step out and do our part.  Many in Nigeria and abroad are praying...but action is still required.  Faith = action 
Posted: at 17-07-2011 07:49 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mchinwendu at 17-07-2011 08:47 PM (12 years ago)
Happy Sunday! 

I have made it to my destination safely... praise God and I thank you all who sent prayers my way in Jesus name.  Just sharing...I was online here and there over the past days and very happy to find some good movies and music to keep me positively occupied. 

The 2 9ja Christian movies I recently watched (on youtube) that are really so great are  "Destiny For Sale" and "My Birthright".  Also while unwinding, I was so excited to find on (on youtube) uploads from my two favorite Christian artist...Christafari and Sherwin Gardner.  They had a EURO 2011 tour in Germany, France and Amsterdam last month.  I wasn't able to attend but it was awesome watching the uploads.  They both have blessed music ministries. 

Wonderful Father,
Thank you so much for all you have done for us, we are so very grateful.  Thank you for spoiling the plans of those in Lagos, Nigeria and everywhere whose motives are to hurt innocent people...in Jesus name.  Every plan of the enemy is scattered, spoiled and destroyed...in Jesus name.  We praise you for sending help to the little babies, children and adults who called on your name or had those who stood in the gap for them in your name.  May extra angels remain with them. We thank you for those in government, law enforcement, education and child welfare who are keeping to their word in protecting the public and doing right by them.  We thank you for those who are helping the orphans and the widows.  Lord, all that we do is unto you and your glory.  You are mighty and great!  You are our strength and our peace.  Please forgive us for not doing all that we are suppose to do, when you called us to do it.  Let us continue to renew our minds and take action to meet, on all levels, the needs of the people in Lagos, Nigeria and everywhere, standing firmly on the promises you have given to us...in Jesus Holy name, amen.

2 Corinthians 4:8-9 reads:
We are pressed on every side by troubles, but we are not crushed and broken. We are perplexed, but we don't give up and quit.  We are hunted down, but God never abandons us.  We get knocked down, but we get up again and keep going.

Posted: at 17-07-2011 08:47 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- CammyWhite at 18-07-2011 01:35 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: mchinwendu on 17-07-2011 07:49 PM
Quote from: democrazy on 17-07-2011 12:45 PM
@CammyWhite

If I may add please...you are 100% correct, it is mankind, we are not doing our part indeed.  We are suppose to work hard, we are suppose to help each other, we are suppose to will good to each other, we are suppose to be happy for each other's victories/blessings and we are suppose to stand against evil.  God has already done everything that needs to be done and we need to step out and do our part.  Many in Nigeria and abroad are praying...but action is still required.  Faith = action 

Faith does not not equal action. Faith by itself does nothing. And that prayer will have not done the slightest bit of good for those suffering in Lagos - "Every plan of the enemy is scattered, spoiled and destroyed" -  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 18-07-2011 01:35 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mchinwendu at 18-07-2011 07:33 PM (12 years ago)

Sorry for the misunderstanding. 
What is meant by faith = action is, IF you have faith, you WILL BE taking action on that faith.  You are so right, faith without works is dead...and it will always be so.   Faith equals action...only if it is truly faith.   I recall an example one pastor gave of someone seeing a chair and how much faith we use when sitting in a chair.  People will go over to sit on a chair and because the see the chair, they just began sitting down.  It's now automatic.  They have faith that the chair will not move from up under them because they have done it time and time again with good result.  If they didn't have faith or trust the chair to remain in place and NOT break down, they would have never sat down or took action to sit down.  Hope I've cleared up the misunderstanding?

Posted: at 18-07-2011 07:33 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mchinwendu at 18-07-2011 08:30 PM (12 years ago)
RE what you shared..."And that prayer will have not done the slightest bit of good for those suffering in Lagos - "Every plan of the enemy is scattered, spoiled and destroyed"

It ties into faith as well.  Prayer is a mighty weapon and does what needs to be done for those suffering in Lagos who have faith and act on that faith (and there are many).  Again, it takes faith of the person who is suffering to take action, trust God to take care of the problem and not take back into their own hands what they have asked the Lord to handle for them.  This is important.  Since many of us in and ouside of Lagos are sending up prayers to God, those who have faith as small as a mustard seed and step out and act on that faith WILL receive (according to God's will) but for those who are searching and God is working on them and their life...we are standing in the gap for them.  Meaning, they may not have actually surrendered yet (but are close), they may not know exacting what to pray yet and/or they may not know how to pray for their actual situation faithfully...our sending up prayers on their behalf, God still hears and honors and they WILL receive (according to God's will). 

It's like someone putting a million naira in an account for someone who is suffering.  The person now says to the one who is suffering, I have put this million in the bank for you and you can access it at anytime you wish.  The million is their but the person never goes to the bank, and they continue to suffer.  Unfortunately, this is what is happening in Lagos (Nigeria...and so many other places).  Our prayers for those suffering can assist them in getting to where they need to be, with God, which will change their heart and move them to take action.  God has people everywhere in Lagos, Nigeria, etc. and too God can send them to cross the person's path to help them get where they need to be also.  To get the million naira the person still has to GO to the bank and GET it, no one else can get it for them and this will not change.  But prayers of those who trust in God, have faith in God and expect from God... are answered every single day upon numbers.   

I prayed..."Thank you for spoiling the plans of those in Lagos, Nigeria and everywhere whose motives are to hurt innocent people...in Jesus name.  Every plan of the enemy is scattered, spoiled and destroyed...in Jesus name".  Here I thanked God for the people he has helped and saved from the hands of those who seek to hurt innocent people.  But, there are those who are still seeking to hurt innocent people and I prayed that their plans to hurt innocent people be scattered, spoiled and destroyed in Jesus name.
Posted: at 18-07-2011 08:30 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mchinwendu at 18-07-2011 09:30 PM (12 years ago)
Today, I would like to share another Chick Publication. 
To read it, just click the arrow where is says load comic.  Once it loads, to turn the pages just click the bottom right of the booklet. 

Jesus,
There is much happening in the world today.  Though you have done everything that needs to be done for us, many times we still wish to turn and do our own thing.  Please forgive us and strengthen us to do the things we are suppose to do.  Lord, there is a pending national strike by the NLC/TUC regarding the uneven implementation of the Minimum Wage Act.  It is true that it should be implemented evenly, we ask that you remove every obstacle that prevents it from being implemented evenly...in Jesus name.  Those standing on your word and what is right, we lift them up in prayer for continued strength, endurance and protection, in Jesus name.  We hail you Jesus, Prince of peace, Lord of lords and King of kings...and we ask all these things in your great and powerful name, amen.

2 Corinthians 3:17
Now, the Lord is the Spirit, and wherever the Spirit of the Lord is, he gives freedom.

<object width="425" height="240"><param name="movie" value="http://media.chick.com/tract_6.swf"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://media.chick.com/tract_6.swf" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="240"></embed></object>
Posted: at 18-07-2011 09:30 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- CammyWhite at 19-07-2011 09:47 AM (12 years ago)
You may waste your time reading Jack Chick drivel, but I won't.
Posted: at 19-07-2011 09:47 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mchinwendu at 19-07-2011 02:47 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: CammyWhite on 19-07-2011 09:47 AM

I have placed some of Chick booklets here for those who care to read them.  The message shared in them are to the point, straight-forward and powerful.  I myself recall some of the booklets from years ago, detail by detail.  The booklets share real life situations that people face all over the world.  My dear, it may seem to you that I'm wasting my time but truly I'm not, not at all.   It may look like nothing is happening but it is.  God knows what is happening, even if we don't.  None of us are perfect people nor do we know when a person's heart change.  The truth remains the truth no matter who opens their mouth to say it. 

God bless you always
Posted: at 19-07-2011 02:47 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mchinwendu at 19-07-2011 03:51 PM (12 years ago)
Great God, you alone are the alpha and the omega, the beginning and the end.  You alone are truly God and no other compares to you.  No other gives freely and no other is the lover of our souls.  Many have allowed evil to run free in the land, but wish to blame you for it.  We are to blame, mankind...for doing what we are not suppose to do; and not doing what we are suppose to do.  You instruct us through the Bible what not to do so that we don't bring trouble to our life but many are not listening.  You even tell us to choice life and not death but many still choose death.  Heavenly father, forgive us in Jesus name.  Yes, Lord you see all and out of love, you gave us the free will to choose.  Out of love, you gave us the authority to do many wondrous things in your name.  Out of love you gave us power to overcome ALL the power of the enemy.  And out of love we are suppose to be helping those in darkness into the light.  It is rightly said, evil triumphs when good men and women do nothing.  Let your people in Lagos (and everywhere), stand on the boldness that is in them.  Let them take what you have already given to them.  Let them obey your word and stand in the victory that is already there...in Jesus name.  We know that you work everything out for the good of those that love you...we thank you Father God and we forever praise you!!!  Thank you for hearing our prayers and thank you for answering our prayers in Jesus name, amen.   

2 Chronicles 7:14
If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.
Posted: at 19-07-2011 03:51 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mchinwendu at 19-07-2011 04:32 PM (12 years ago)

I shared before that I've been watching these uploaded movies on youtube.com.  Some of you may have seen some of these movies before but I am just seeing some for the first time.  They are so touching, interesting and encouraging.  I watched one last night called, "Just A Little Sin".  Hey...this one now prompted me to share the gist of some of these movies with you here.  I will share the gist of "Just A Little Sin" another time.  Hope you have chance to watch the movies if you have not already?  The messages will bless you.   

Nigerian Christian Movie Gist

FiwaJomi:   This movie is so moving and shows exactly how the enemy tricks us out of our blessings.  Fiwa was brilliant and he received a very high marks in secondary school in the village   He was accepted into a university but the problem was that the father could not afford to pay for Fiwa to go to the university.  A family friend helped Fiwa apply for a scholarship that paid his way through the university.  They were prayerful, especially his mother.  They were able to raise money so that Fiwa could start the university on time, while still waiting to hear of the scholarship.  Fiwa was spiritually strong when he went he got to the university but began hanging out with the wrong kind of guys.  The scholarship news came...Fiwa did not receive it.  But, the family continued in prayer that something would happen to allow Fiwa to remain at the university.  Due to the news of no scholarship, Fiwa began to allow himself to be influenced by the bad guys he was hanging with.  He began looking to get himself involved in a drug deal on campus, rather, his two bad (fake) friends wanted to use him to do a drug deal because they didn't want to risk themselves being caught their last year at the university.  Fiwa was about going to do the drug deal and God sent someone to talk to Fiwa. To try and lead him out of the darkness by receiving Jesus Christ.  Meanwhile, working in the background, the family friend received good news that Fiwa's brilliance was considered and he received favor; they decided to award him a scholarship. Fiwa walked away from the friend without receiving Jesus and did the drug deal.  Of course Fiwa was caught, and the two fake friends got away (so they think).  Fiwa was expelled from the university and loss the scholarship...and returned to the village.  His father was very encouraging during this painful time.         

{Life Notes:  Hope always!!!  Someone may intend to do something (bad) towards you or something may look negative (like no way out) but we are to wait on what God says.  It is his word that counts.  Fiwa blew that opportunity but God can open another window for him.  It's not over just like that for God's people...though we fall many times, we get back up everytime.}

Running Against the Wind:  This movie is of a young girl who receives a scholarship to the university.  She leaves the village, headed to the university as a strong Christian.  Her father and mother prayers are with her always.  She shares a room with 2 other girls, who profess to be Christians also but they sleep with married and unmarried men for money and to fulfill their lustful desires and party from town to town.  They were steadily trying to convince the new girl that she was missing out on something, that she needed to get in with the big girls on campus to survive.  The girl stood strong and rejected.  One of the professors had his eye on her and was trying to force her to have sex with him.  She didn't agree.  This same professor now started to affect her grade by saying she did not turn in work, when she did turn it in.  The girl prayed and asked her family to pray for her because she was getting weak and was feeling pressured.  The professor said if she comes to his place, everything will work out.  Ohhh, the girl went to the professor's place but what she told this man....shocked even him.  It shook him to the core...that this very night, the man repented and she led the professor to Jesus Christ.  The professor was a married man...yesss and had been sleeping with any girl who would allow him at the university.  After he received Christ, he put his wedding band back on his finger and turned back to his wife and two kids to ask for their forgiveness.   

{Life Note:  Prayer is a mighty weapon, one just has to pray and ask God's direction in every matter and he will led the person to safety while helping others along the way.  God bless all the girls who remain in God's strength no matter what others say.  God you are too great ooo!}
Posted: at 19-07-2011 04:32 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mchinwendu at 19-07-2011 04:44 PM (12 years ago)

After posting, I'm now curious...why do you call Jack Chick's booklets drivel?
Posted: at 19-07-2011 04:44 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- CammyWhite at 20-07-2011 12:09 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: mchinwendu on 19-07-2011 04:44 PM

After posting, I'm now curious...why do you call Jack Chick's booklets drivel?

Because they are vile, deceitful, bigoted, proudly ihgnorant wastes of paper.
Posted: at 20-07-2011 12:09 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 [2] 3 4