Female doctor in Akwa Ibom State, commits suicide after testing positive to HIV

Date: 02-08-2011 4:41 am (12 years ago) | Author: Peter Izu
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 2-08-2011 04:41 AM (12 years ago)
A female doctor attached to a private hospital in Eket local government area of Akwa Ibom State has decided to take her life by commiting suicide after she was diagnosed to be HIV positive.
It was a thing of surprise for residents of the town when they were confronted with the gory sight of the body of unmarried lady whose name was given as Annastasia Ekanem dangling from her bedroom.
A source said that the very pretty lady was to be married to a young man from Rivers State in a few months time but that the husband to be had insisted on the two of them having an HIV test and unfortunately, Dr.Ann, as she was fondly called, tested positive to the dreaded disease and instead of battling it like the medical doctor she is, she decided to end it as she could not stand the shame and the stigma.
We gathered that she left a suicide note asking her family to forgive her for the action she had to take.

Posted: at 2-08-2011 04:41 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bafyguy at 2-08-2011 11:25 AM (12 years ago)
What a pity, she shouldn't have take her life.
Posted: at 2-08-2011 11:25 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Systemz at 2-08-2011 11:32 AM (12 years ago)
Nonsense quack doctor Angry Angry Embarrassed Embarrassed
Posted: at 2-08-2011 11:32 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Eucharia at 2-08-2011 11:56 AM (12 years ago)
hmmmm, odiegwu
Posted: at 2-08-2011 11:56 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Eucharia at 2-08-2011 11:59 AM (12 years ago)
MAY HER SOUL REST IN PEACE IF THE SOUL WILL AGREE TO REST IN PEACE, AS SHE COMMMIT SUICIDE
Posted: at 2-08-2011 11:59 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- sammy111 at 2-08-2011 12:05 PM (12 years ago)
y do u hv 2 kill urself bcos u ar HIV positive Doctor, is a pity dere ar people out dere wit HIV not doctors bt dey live 4 their family, i feel 4 u,may God hv mercy upon ur soul.......RIP
Posted: at 2-08-2011 12:05 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- luqcyking at 2-08-2011 12:09 PM (12 years ago)
MFG! can pple still kill them selves over a disease like AIDS i thought pple re more aware now that it could be managed and pple with HIV can live upto 10yrs and beyond. its a shame this one is coming from a doctor who should have been consoling  other carriers.i guess sh** happens. may her soul rest in peace.
Posted: at 2-08-2011 12:09 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- kaccidy at 2-08-2011 12:23 PM (12 years ago)
eyaaaa

Posted: at 2-08-2011 12:23 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- reagand2004 at 2-08-2011 01:00 PM (12 years ago)
If this post is true, then its either she is not well informed or she has other plausible and depressing reasons yet unknown to the wider public or family. As a doctor she should be aware that a certain cocktail of drugs can suppress the viral load for a long period and it is a known fact that she can marry somebody with the same status and give life to a healthy baby and hence life goes on.
This topic should be denounced, the woman involved should not be given a healthy eulogy of any sort so that this kinda unsavory  event would not repeat itself. My regrets to the loving family left behind...
Posted: at 2-08-2011 01:00 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kahyordey at 2-08-2011 01:01 PM (12 years ago)
a doctor 4 dat matter,hw did she?.oga oo Shocked
Posted: at 2-08-2011 01:01 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Debase45 at 2-08-2011 01:16 PM (12 years ago)
May her gentle soul rest in peace,amen.
Posted: at 2-08-2011 01:16 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- DONKARL at 2-08-2011 01:24 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Berlynda on  2-08-2011 11:41 AM
OMFG! can pple still kill them selves over a disease like AIDS i thought pple re more aware now that it could be managed and pple with HIV can live upto 10yrs and beyond. its a shame this one is coming from a doctor who should have been consoling  other carriers.i guess sh** happens. may her soul rest in peace.

I like your option but point of correction, people with AIDS or HIV can live a normal life up 70years or more, if they take care of their selves, by taking an anti Aids drug, or ARV drug, I have a close friend who has been diagnosed  for more than 13years, he lives a normal life too. Take a look at the life of Michael Jordan the American basket ball player who was diagnosed for more than 20years now, Jordan is more than 50years as we speak.

While would that lady Doctor take her life, she just want to die, people with AIDS or HIV still have a normal child with negative result, she can have a Child live a normal life also. May her soul rest in peace
Posted: at 2-08-2011 01:24 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- DHash at 2-08-2011 01:24 PM (12 years ago)
May her soul suffer in hell because she refuse to lead with an example she is big fool, how could a doctor do this kind of a mess nonsense.
Posted: at 2-08-2011 01:24 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ozimso at 2-08-2011 01:32 PM (12 years ago)
Well said....i don't think is best for u guys to draw conclusions dt might b full of assumptions. Yes HIV pts this days  can lead a normal life but there r many ifs and buts involved.....u need to buy d drugs, u need to consistently tk them for d rest of ya life, u need to face d public etc....so jst pray u don't find itself in such a tight corner
Posted: at 2-08-2011 01:32 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- treasure1112 at 2-08-2011 01:44 PM (12 years ago)
hmmmmmm.rest in peace.
Posted: at 2-08-2011 01:44 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- aisha89 at 2-08-2011 01:44 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: DHash on  2-08-2011 01:24 PM
May her soul suffer in hell because she refuse to lead with an example she is big fool, how could a doctor do this kind of a mess nonsense.
NEVA U SPEAK OF THE DEAD LIKE THIS THO SHE IS DEAD!

Posted: at 2-08-2011 01:44 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- aisha89 at 2-08-2011 01:46 PM (12 years ago)
WE ALL AGREE SHE MADE A BIG MISTAKE 4 TAKEN HER LIFE, BT LETS NT JUDGE THE DEAD R.I.P LADY!

Posted: at 2-08-2011 01:46 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- hans121 at 2-08-2011 01:50 PM (12 years ago)
 :'( :'( :'( :'( Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 2-08-2011 01:50 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- malvin2525 at 2-08-2011 01:56 PM (12 years ago)
 :'( :'( :'( :'(
Posted: at 2-08-2011 01:56 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 2-08-2011 02:05 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: DHash on  2-08-2011 01:24 PM

Gaskiyarka! True!

Posted: at 2-08-2011 02:05 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7