Nigerians and interracial relationships

Date: 07-09-2011 10:36 am (12 years ago) | Author: Omo
[1] 2 3 4 ... 10
- at 7-09-2011 10:36 AM (12 years ago)
I've noticed here in the states that Nigerians tend to be against interracial relationships and marriages.  I'm not sure what the perception is in Nigeria but it's clear that here in America a majority of the migrant Nigerian population is against allowing their children to marry outside of their race.  We can argue about divorce rates, family respect, and all the other circumstances and excuses that are used to counter-attack interracial relationships but my question is why are most of our people so against it other than pure racist tendencies?

I've heard many different sides to this but no one is yet to give me a valid, logical explanation for it.  Some individuals from other ethnic groups have this narrow-mindedness as well, especially many indians and people of asian and hispanic cultures.  In my opinion, it all seems foolish.  If someone is in love and has the financial, academic, and psychological maturity and security to do so, why stop them simply because their partner is not of the same racial or ethnic group?  A quote from an unknown author I read states:  "Supremacists can never make a sound argument using logic and fact because the premise of the superiority of any race in itself is illogical and based on lies."  Any thoughts regarding this issue?

Posted: at 7-09-2011 10:36 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- HOPEA23 at 7-09-2011 11:23 AM (12 years ago)
i will never allowed my sons to marry an akata woman or women...reasons because they lack respect and are not well trained.also,they don't know the basic knowledge of what marriage is ;Dmarriage to dem is define as divorce or child support.additionally,is just between them both no family or families .but in nigeria,as a nigera woman or man...you are will taught what marriage is,not just you and your hubby but your family and your husband family.what i  meant is that,when a naija woman get married...she know that she is not only married to her  husband but also all her hhusband families..and she will treats  dem like she will treats her own family...however,marriage in nigeria is between two families..they but come together as one and when there is problem in that marriage they both also come together to solve the problem ...and they are not in support of divorce.meanwhile,no matter how nigeria man/woman is educated he/shestill carry on the tradition...he/she still practice it...its already built in us that  cannot leave.a naija man need a woman who can prepare that delicious egusi soup with correct pounded yam....not a woman that will prepare or what for her man to come back from work and say honey let order mcdonalds...hope i answer you tho.

Posted: at 7-09-2011 11:23 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- repnigeria at 7-09-2011 11:37 AM (12 years ago)
There are thousands of other people besides "akata."  Gosh I hate that word it's so demeaning.  Anyway, yes I can understand where you're coming from but there are other cultures which harbor the same moral and ethical standards that nigerians do as well.  And not all American-born blacks fit into the negative stereotype that you claim.  I personally am not attracted to "akata" or whatever but as people some of them are well-meaning individuals who are educated with high moral standards.  On the other hand, nigerians tend to hail as if their marriages are the cream of the crop when in reality I've seen nigerian marriages that are in shambles.  They hesitate showing it in public but you can tell they are absolutely MISERABLE.  I actually know Nigerians who have gotten divorced yet so many of us act as if such a thing doesn't exist among us.  The point I'm trying to drive across is that all the qualities we tend to think are only limited to Nigerians can be found in individuals from many other cultures.  It's a thing of preference I agree but there's no need to disallow someone to marry who they please because it doesn't suit your desires.  Nigerians definitely have a false sense of cultural or racial superiority and many of us act as if our sh*t don't stink.  We're so quick to point out the flaws in others without looking at ourselves first and that is why I think Nigeria can be such a backward nation at times.  As a people we still have a whole lot to work on in my honest opinion.

Posted: at 7-09-2011 11:37 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- giftmurphy at 7-09-2011 01:08 PM (12 years ago)
WE JUST DONT KNOW WHERE LOVE AND BLIND LOVE CAN LEAD US TO. M OUT OF HERE.
Posted: at 7-09-2011 01:08 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- FlyMamacita at 7-09-2011 01:14 PM (12 years ago)
I'm suprised to hear this, cos i see Nigerians dey mix with
all race. All for their own reasons ofcourse.
Posted: at 7-09-2011 01:14 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- FlyMamacita at 7-09-2011 01:16 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: HOPEA23 on  7-09-2011 11:23 AM
i will never allowed my sons to marry an akata woman or women...reasons because they lack respect and are not well trained.also,they don't know the basic knowledge of what marriage is ;Dmarriage to dem is define as divorce or child support.additionally,is just between them both no family or families .but in nigeria,as a nigera woman or man...you are will taught what marriage is,not just you and your hubby but your family and your husband family.what i  meant is that,when a naija woman get married...she know that she is not only married to her  husband but also all her hhusband families..and she will treats  dem like she will treats her own family...however,marriage in nigeria is between two families..they but come together as one and when there is problem in that marriage they both also come together to solve the problem ...and they are not in support of divorce.meanwhile,no matter how nigeria man/woman is educated he/shestill carry on the tradition...he/she still practice it...its already built in us that  cannot leave.a naija man need a woman who can prepare that delicious egusi soup with correct pounded yam....not a woman that will prepare or what for her man to come back from work and say honey let order mcdonalds...hope i answer you tho.

My dear, pls do u tink Nigerians or Africans or the only ones who get gud
home training??! Beliv wetin i tell u, i don see many Nigerians who act like bastards too, no knowledge
no hometraining, nottin!
Please we have many 'white ppl' who had a GREAT hometraining, and they know the meaning of marriage.
We also hav ppl who are in marriage for over 40 years.
Posted: at 7-09-2011 01:16 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- giftmurphy at 7-09-2011 01:43 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: FlyMamacita on  7-09-2011 01:16 PM
Quote from: HOPEA23 on  7-09-2011 11:23 AM

My dear, pls do u tink Nigerians or Africans or the only ones who get gud
home training??! Beliv wetin i tell u, i don see many Nigerians who act like bastards too, no knowledge
no hometraining, nottin!
Please we have many 'white ppl' who had a GREAT hometraining, and they know the meaning of marriage.
We also hav ppl who are in marriage for over 40 years.

we have pple who have stayed in marriage over 40 years in nigeria 2,general africa but i fink its everywhere good and bad.
Posted: at 7-09-2011 01:43 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- FlyMamacita at 7-09-2011 01:46 PM (12 years ago)
Ofcourse u get gud/bad ppl all ova d globe...
And i understand why Hope talk like dat cos many white no dey see how important marriage is, but not ALL!
Posted: at 7-09-2011 01:46 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- HOPEA23 at 7-09-2011 02:01 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: FlyMamacita on  7-09-2011 01:46 PM
And i understand why Hope talk like dat cos many white no dey see how important marriage is, but not ALL!

thank for seeing that...and i hope you remain my in-law for life...sup?

Posted: at 7-09-2011 02:01 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kebella at 7-09-2011 02:05 PM (12 years ago)
passing..............not my kinda.......... Cool

Posted: at 7-09-2011 02:05 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- HOPEA23 at 7-09-2011 02:11 PM (12 years ago)
seeing what? Angry Angry

Posted: at 7-09-2011 02:11 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- HOPEA23 at 7-09-2011 02:11 PM (12 years ago)
i meant what are your kind?

Posted: at 7-09-2011 02:11 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kebella at 7-09-2011 02:17 PM (12 years ago)
i dont live in state pls can i pass now b4 akata boyz break my head lols Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 7-09-2011 02:17 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- FlyMamacita at 7-09-2011 02:31 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: HOPEA23 on  7-09-2011 02:01 PM

ofcos my sweetheart  Kiss am ok, wht abt u?
Posted: at 7-09-2011 02:31 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- HOPEA23 at 7-09-2011 02:34 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: FlyMamacita on  7-09-2011 02:31 PM
Quote from: HOPEA23 on  7-09-2011 02:01 PM

ofcos my sweetheart  Kiss am ok, wht abt u?
same ohh

KB...you too dey lie...you have berra come back here before i break your head..

Posted: at 7-09-2011 02:34 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kebella at 7-09-2011 02:41 PM (12 years ago)
i dey come Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 7-09-2011 02:41 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sobeit at 7-09-2011 03:32 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: repnigeria on  7-09-2011 11:37 AM
There are thousands of other people besides "akata."  Gosh I hate that word it's so demeaning.  Anyway, yes I can understand where you're coming from but there are other cultures which harbor the same moral and ethical standards that nigerians do as well.  And not all American-born blacks fit into the negative stereotype that you claim.  I personally am not attracted to "akata" or whatever but as people some of them are well-meaning individuals who are educated with high moral standards.  On the other hand, nigerians tend to hail marriages are cream of the crop when in reality I've seen nigerian marriages that are in shambles.  They hesitate showing it in public but you can tell they are absolutely MISERABLE.  I actually know Nigerians who have gotten divorced yet so many of us act as if such a thing doesn't exist among us.  The point I'm trying to drive across is that all the qualities we tend to think are only limited to Nigerians can be found in individuals from many other cultures.  It's a thing of preference I agree but there's no need to disallow someone to marry who they please because it doesn't suit your desires.  Nigerians definitely have a false sense of cultural or racial superiority and many of us act as if our sh*t don't stink.  We're so quick to point out the flaws in others without looking at ourselves first and that is why I think Nigeria can be such a backward nation at times.  As a people we still have a whole lot to work on in my honest opinion.

you are blaming Hopea23 of being "stereotyping" while u are actually doing the same.u can see it from the highlighted words.the fact is that not everyone see it that way and besides interracial relationships/marriage faces prejudice and discrimination all over the world, no society or country is immune from it.As long as i'm concern there is absolutely no significant difference that distinguish one racial group from another.all racial group got it own uniqueness..it's all comes down to preference and what you want cuz interracial relationship isn't made for weaklings,narrow minded and shallow people, but for those that are strong enough to embrace and acknowledge the cultural differences. 
Posted: at 7-09-2011 03:32 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FlyMamacita at 7-09-2011 04:46 PM (12 years ago)
 Smiley Smiley Wink
Posted: at 7-09-2011 04:46 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- giftmurphy at 7-09-2011 07:35 PM (12 years ago)
 Cheesy
Posted: at 7-09-2011 07:35 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- trolling at 7-09-2011 07:40 PM (12 years ago)
i sure dont want to pollute my Dna
Posted: at 7-09-2011 07:40 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 10

1. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

2. Netizens React As a Catholic Reverend Sister is Spotted in Public Drinking Alcohol (Video)

3. Binance Executives Drag NSA Ribadu, EFCC To Court

4. Rapper, Cynthia Morgan Reveals Why She Was Never S3xually Harassed in The Industry

5. Man Emmanuel Okpara Arrested For Reportedly B£ating His Wife to D£ath in Lagos

6. See List: Nigeria, Egypt Named Among World’s Lowest Salary Earners

7. A Thief Who Robbed me Was Dating The Police Officer in Charge of my Case – Lady Recounts Ordeal

8. Singer Waje Expresses Pride as Her Daughter, Emerald Turns 25, Pens Emotional Note to Her

9. Court Awards Late Biafran Leader, Ojukwu's Will to Bianca, Throws Out First Son, Debe's Case

10. VIDEO: NAFDAC Raids Factory Where Fake Bottled Water is Produced in Port Harcourt

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

5. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

6. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

7. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

8. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)