Differences between Holy ghost or Holy spirit

Date: 19-09-2011 11:41 am (12 years ago) | Author: Justus izebhijie
- at 19-09-2011 11:41 AM (12 years ago)
Why do pple, especially surposed men of God  use the xpression holy ghost? Cos i understand that a ghost is the surposed spirit of a dead person. So when they say holy ghost, whose dead person's ghost are they referring to. Rather, spirit are lifeform or forces higher than the physical. The bible teaches that the holy spirit is that holy active force emernating from God & goes forth to acheive that 4 which it is bein sent. So i stand to be corrected when i say the use of the expression 'Holy ghost' is wrong & demonic.

Posted: at 19-09-2011 11:41 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- jaykay123 at 20-09-2011 06:09 AM (12 years ago)
i stil dey wait...
Posted: at 20-09-2011 06:09 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- jaykay123 at 20-09-2011 10:47 PM (12 years ago)
stephen, wat do u tink na?
Posted: at 20-09-2011 10:47 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Archi01 at 21-09-2011 12:17 AM (12 years ago)
Bros, Holy Ghost and Holy Spirit are the same the only difference is the Bible versions. Like KJV always refers to the Spirit as Holy Ghost.

But come to think of it ain't you christian? or don't you read your bible? cos this question sounds like it is coming from a kindergarten mind.......
Posted: at 21-09-2011 12:17 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- jaykay123 at 21-09-2011 05:07 AM (12 years ago)
arch01, i'm a xtian. Rememba dat d bible says dat dos who worship God must worship hi  in spirit ' truth. I dnt tink u undastand my question hence ur unguided remark. Ther is a big diff btw d word ghost and spirit. Ghost is used to refer to dead person. The word ghost shld neva b used for anytin holy comin from God. Rememba we're talkin abt d almighty here. Pls do ur research b4 u respond. There ar dictionaries everywher. Even online.
Posted: at 21-09-2011 05:07 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Archi01 at 21-09-2011 09:15 AM (12 years ago)
Bros, it is now you are coming. please as a christian I exhort you to not just read the bible but study it, there a difference.

Please if you study the word in the light of english dictionary and carnalmindedly you may lost out completely... study it in the light of it languages for e.g the new testament was written in Greek study it in the light of the spirit and of this language and you'll be amaze of the revelations you'll get this is part of taking advantage of technologies we are bless to be part of this generation.

Finally, One of the Greek synonyms of the English word Ghost is "PNEVMA" which means the samething as Holy Spirit hence the King James Version (KJV) is right for using that term.

Thanks and God Bless.
Posted: at 21-09-2011 09:15 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- jaykay123 at 21-09-2011 10:57 AM (12 years ago)
well, Chairman, now dat u knw wen nxt u pray use it & den listn to wat ur conscience sincerely tell u.  I'lld luv to  knw. Dnt rush to reply, try it qen u wnt to rely pray. Jah bless...
Posted: at 21-09-2011 10:57 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Archi01 at 21-09-2011 12:13 PM (12 years ago)
Can't get you right this time...........
Posted: at 21-09-2011 12:13 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- mchinwendu at 21-09-2011 11:23 PM (12 years ago)
My brother...any sincere question is a good one.  We are all still learning...and, we are to strive to be available for one another. 

The world uses 'ghost' to refer to dead people, but there's a scripture that says when breath leaves the body it returns to God.  So, it's the world's definition of ghost that is inaccurate.   

The use or expression 'Holy Ghost' is not wrong or demonic.  Holy Ghost and Holy Spirit are the same.

Posted: at 21-09-2011 11:23 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Archi01 at 22-09-2011 12:44 AM (12 years ago)
Thanx ma brother!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 22-09-2011 12:44 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- jaykay123 at 24-09-2011 11:52 PM (12 years ago)
@mchiwendu, sorry but pls i dont undastand wat u min by 'its  the world's definition of ghost dats nt acurate ' & pls let me ask, wat is dis spirit dat is being refered to as holy. Wheda by d world or ur asumed bible definition, can dis spirit realy be refered to as a ghost. Wat kind os spirit is it apat frm it being holy?
Posted: at 24-09-2011 11:52 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- jaykay123 at 25-09-2011 12:14 AM (12 years ago)
d scripture verse u refered to is Eccl. 12:7, & 3:19-22.  The spirit her is the force of life emanatin frm God dat maks both man &  oda animal livin things. It is diff frm the Holy spirit dat Jesus promised his desciples who alredy possess the life force spirit. Tho both are from the same source, God .
Posted: at 25-09-2011 12:14 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- CammyWhite at 25-09-2011 12:38 AM (12 years ago)
Jaykay, I think Mchinwendu explained it well enough. It's a needless confusion caused by bad translation, sorta like the whole "thou shalt not suffer a witch to live"; the original actually refers to poisoners, not witches.
Posted: at 25-09-2011 12:38 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kapixyz at 25-09-2011 04:22 PM (12 years ago)
Cammy uve said it all. It is bad translation on the side of KJV. The word ghost sholdnt be in d bible at all. So now dat we knw, we hv a resposibilty to correct dat mistake, nt acept it d way it is. Abi?
Posted: at 25-09-2011 04:22 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- mchinwendu at 25-09-2011 05:29 PM (12 years ago)
@jaykay123

The world’s definition of ghost is inaccurate because there is no such thing as ghost…as the world use the word; the spirit of dead people do not roam around haunting the living.

I have to say that places where people submit themselves to demonic influences, and allow demons to freely operate (when they are suppose to be underfoot and bound in Jesus name, not controlling people or their lives) have all different types of manifestations that the eyes can see (and can‘t see).  The people who die, their breath has been returned to God but their spirit/soul goes where it is to go.  There is no way they can be roaming around on earth.  In the story of the rich man and poor man, it shared that the gulf was too great between the two places.  So, what is it that people see here?  What they see is what they have labeled as ghosts according to the world‘s definition of ghost.  Not only, but especially, the ghost of loved ones or people they have known.  But, how can it be?  As you already know, the scriptures are deep, in many layers…one verse can minister to different situations at different times (it‘s too amazing!).  Taken from everything I have read, to include the Bible, my personal thought is that what people believe are ghost are actually demons.  These demons mimic or pretend to be the dead person.  And most times used as a deception and a lure.  There is more to this.

The Spirit, Holy Spirit, Holy Ghost, The Holy Spirit, The Comforter, etc….all the same,  the Spirit of God Almighty.  My Bible dictionary and exhaustive concordance is still packed away in boxes (I recently relocated) but I’ve been temporarily using www.blueletterbible.org.  I found that the Hebrew word for ghost is ‘gava’ means to breath out (4 were listed).  The Greek word for ghost is ‘ekpneo’ to expire--give up the ghost (3 were listed).  Next, is to find where Holy Ghost is used in the Bible and Holy Spirit is used in the Bible, and find out what that word is in it’s perspective language.  Then compare it to the Hebrew (if in the Old Testament) and find out the Greek (if in the New Testament).  Example:  If the word green is used in the OT of the Bible, find out what that word used in the Bible is in it’s Hebrew form, then one will know which correct Hebrew word to use.  (Hope this makes sense the way I‘m saying it? A pastor's spiritual guidance is beneficial here.)

Biblically, we all have a spirit (soul), the questions are if it is now alive or dead; and what will be the final eternal destination.  Those who accept Jesus, our spirit is alive (re-born) and we are spiritually alive.  Those who do not accept Jesus is not alive and is spiritually dead.  There is much more to this. 

Sorry, the 2nd part of your first question, I don’t understand.

Oookk…on your second question, with the scriptures you referenced, I now understand what might have prompted your question.  My brother it’s a very good question…!  Though, I do have an answer…but on this part, I’m not sure I can say it in away that would be helpful in clearing up the question you have.  I hope you are a member of a Bible believing church, if so I believe it would be more beneficial if you speak to your pastor (And please, if you would share with us what he shares with you).  If there is a pastor here at naijapals, additionally we would greatly appreciate your input always.  As well, I can ask my pastor, please just feel free to let me know.   
Posted: at 25-09-2011 05:29 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- jaykay123 at 27-09-2011 09:19 AM (12 years ago)
i'm glad ure givin this a tot. My point is dis... Ghost is an english word wit a meaning- the spirit of a dead entity. Dat is it meaning anywhere, anytime.   It is a form of spirit as there ar different forms of spirit. The hebrew word Gava or the greek word Ekpneo refer to a different form of spirit force comin from God himself. It was an error of bible translators to  translate the words as ghost becos it distort d meaning. Ther ar other hebrew/greek words dat refer to spirit entity diff from d holy spirit also That is y other translations choose to use the word spirit instead of ghost. Ghost is not a hebrew or greek word. It is english.  D bible do nt give meaning to any english word. It was writen in hebrew and greek languages.  Translation of the bible by various translators was done so other languages cld read it also. Kjv was among d 1st translation & u'll agree wt me dat english was in a sense stil in the makin. Let me mention at this point dat dis is nt d only disputed translation of a hebrew or greek bible word into english context. Let us cleans God's word of all error. Andd like u ritly said, the belief in ghost is nt a bible teaching. It is demonic. As far as the bible is concerned. There is nothing like ghost and dat shld b d stand of all true christians.eaning to any english word. It was writen in hebrew and greek languages.  Translation of the bible by various translators was done so other languages cld read it also. Kjv was among d 1st translation & u'll agree wt me dat english was in a sense stil in the makin. Let me mention at this point dat dis is nt d only disputed translation of a hebrew or greek bible word into english context. Let us cleans God's word of all error. Andd like u ritly said, the belief in ghost is nt a bible teaching. It is demonic. As far as the bible is concerned. There is nothing like ghost and dat shld b d stand of all true christians.
Posted: at 27-09-2011 09:19 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- jaykay123 at 27-09-2011 02:07 PM (12 years ago)
Ghost is nt d word we're translatin to hebrew/greek.  It is an english word  & cannot be subtituted as a proper translation of wat the original words min which is the spiritual  active force of action that God uses to acheive his purposes, in the strictest sense, of which he can also give to requestin, deserving ones.  u cannot give a ghost, in wateva form or sense, to any1.
Posted: at 27-09-2011 02:07 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- CammyWhite at 29-09-2011 01:31 PM (12 years ago)
Jaykay, it's been explained, so I don't know why you're worrying on this issue. Holy Ghost, Holy Spirit - you Christians know what you're talking about.
Posted: at 29-09-2011 01:31 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hosbert at 29-09-2011 04:47 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: jaykay123 on 25-09-2011 12:14 AM
d scripture verse u refered to is Eccl. 12:7, & 3:19-22.  The spirit her is the force of life emanatin frm God dat maks both man &  oda animal livin things. It is diff frm the Holy spirit dat Jesus promised his desciples who alredy possess the life force spirit. Tho both are from the same source, God .
@Poster,the dead is simply a corpse and biblically,at death,his spirit which symbolically is his breath returns to the creator (Genesis 2:7).In essence,the dead has no spirit.Holy Ghost here is actually the Holy Spirit and this is an issue of interpretation.The holy Spirit is one whether called so or otherwise.
Posted: at 29-09-2011 04:47 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- jaykay123 at 2-10-2011 01:09 PM (12 years ago)
I'll stil say it's nt  an issue of interpretation, but a problem of translation. Wrong translation.  Lets try & maks God's worship cleaner.
Posted: at 2-10-2011 01:09 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming