Policeman survives Boko Haram attack

Date: 28-10-2011 6:57 am (12 years ago) | Author: Pat Chinsley
- at 28-10-2011 06:57 AM (12 years ago)

BY NDAHI MARAMA

MAIDUGURI— THREE suspected Boko Haram gunmen, Thursday, shot a police officer (name withheld) at his Bulunkutu residence in Maiduguri, Borno State capital at 12.45pm.

Bulunkutu and Gomari Airport wards of the metropolis have become notorious in the past one week, as three policemen and two civilians had been killed by yet-to-be identified gunmen

An eyewitness, Mallam Haruna Audu, said one of the gunmen pulled out a Kalashnikov rifle from his flowing gown and fired two shots at the police officer, which pierced through one of his arms, after which the gunmen fled into the neighbouring wards of Gomari and Pompomari, few kilometres away from the scene.

Audu said: “As the police officer was coming out of his Bulunkutu Tsaleke residence, we saw three men walking on foot towards the house and thereafter, we heard gun shots; and people started fleeing the areas, before men of the Joint Task Force (JTF) arrived the scene.”

Confirming the attacks and shooting, Borno State Police Commissioner, Simeone Midenda, said: “I was holding a conference with the Divisional Police Officers at the Police Force Headquarters in Maiduguri, when we received a distress call that one of our officers was shot in the arm by members of the Boko Haram sect about 1pm.

He was coming out from his house, when the gunmen attacked and shot him in the arm. Fortunately, the policeman did not die and was rushed to University of Maiduguri Teaching,UMTH, by JTF for treatment.”

On the attacks and shooting, Midenda said the police officer had earlier been warned in a letter addressed to him to leave Bulunkutu without delay, but the policeman refused to heed the warnings, until he was shot in the arm at his residence.

He said no arrest had been made over the attack.

via Vanguard

Posted: at 28-10-2011 06:57 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- D-GodFather at 28-10-2011 07:02 AM (12 years ago)
Do we have any army in Nigeria since police people cant handle this aboki fools.
Posted: at 28-10-2011 07:02 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Youngstoriez at 28-10-2011 03:40 PM (12 years ago)

BY NDAHI MARAMA
MAIDUGURI— THREE suspected Boko Haram gunmen,  Thursday, shot a police officer (name withheld) at his Bulunkutu residence in Maiduguri, Borno State capital at 12.45pm.

Bulunkutu and Gomari Airport wards of the metropolis have become notorious in the past one week, as three policemen and two civilians had been killed by yet-to-be identified gunmen

An eyewitness, Mallam Haruna Audu, said one of the gunmen pulled out a Kalashnikov rifle from his flowing gown and fired two shots at the police officer, which pierced through one of his arms, after which the gunmen fled into the neighbouring  wards of Gomari and Pompomari, few kilometres away from the scene.

Audu said: “As the police officer was coming out of his Bulunkutu Tsaleke residence, we saw three men walking on foot towards the house and thereafter, we heard gun shots; and people started fleeing the areas, before men of the Joint Task Force (JTF) arrived the scene.”

Confirming the attacks and shooting, Borno State Police Commissioner, Simeone Midenda, said: “I was holding a conference with the Divisional Police Officers at the Police Force Headquarters in Maiduguri, when we received a distress call that one of our officers was shot in the arm by members of the Boko Haram sect about 1pm.

He was coming out from his house, when the gunmen attacked and shot him in the arm. Fortunately, the policeman did not die and was rushed to University of Maiduguri Teaching,UMTH, by JTF for treatment.”

On the attacks and shooting, Midenda said the police officer had earlier been warned in a letter addressed to him to leave Bulunkutu without delay, but the policeman refused to heed the warnings, until he was shot in the arm at his residence.

He said no arrest had been made over the attack.

Vanguard Nigeria
Posted: at 28-10-2011 03:40 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- babyleslie at 28-10-2011 06:10 PM (12 years ago)
  Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 28-10-2011 06:10 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Youngstoriez at 29-10-2011 02:51 AM (12 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 29-10-2011 02:51 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- HOPEA23 at 30-10-2011 02:30 AM (12 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool

Posted: at 30-10-2011 02:30 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chidiex at 27-02-2012 03:42 AM (12 years ago)
what is going on in our country, lets divide   or there will be no peace,we need to divide, MR president please do some thing now before it is too late, ISLAMIC never want' nor like peace in there life, cos there conspire against  only Christians that shows the don't want peace and would not stay with peace maker, this people are dogs and wolf, there are distasteful. unpleasant set of humans ,there have cost distress to  our country,pains,sufferings, unhappiness, damage,and difficulty's ,  MR president discrete and do  not disregard this matters,  ISLAMIC believe are discreditable, there religion is discourteous and discourtesy to human,it is inconsiderate. our peaceful country is disarray, please MR PRESIDENT you should disarm them, there are devilish ,evil and cruelty ,mischievous wicked and very difficult to stay with or live with, i owe no apology to no one  ,we need to divide in other to have our peace, go to united kingdom there are problem there ,  there have no peace, and don't want peace,so we need to divide to have our Owen peace MR president , i don talk my owen make every body heream, i no de Nigeria but e de pain me so much , may GOD help us and give our president wisdom to know how to divide this country,
Posted: at 27-02-2012 03:42 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming