fuel subsidy removal are you for it or against it

Date: 27-12-2011 3:27 am (12 years ago) | Author: don uche
- at 27-12-2011 03:27 AM (12 years ago)
i think we the youth have a role to play towards making this country a better place for all of us. in that case lets have your opinion on weather to support the removal of subsidy in our oil sector or not. this is an opinion poll and everybody is entitled to his or her opinion. pls no insult.

Posted: at 27-12-2011 03:27 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- audharoon2020 at 27-12-2011 06:46 AM (12 years ago)
I dnt support d remover of fuel subsidy, gov't have many ways dt can improve d economy without removing subsidy. We d masses are benefting d subsidy to our level, atlest we cam affort 2 buy six littre a day, 3 for generator b'coz of poor or no electricity in nigeria and 3 for motorcyle. Pls, mr. President dnt remove subsidy if nt d condition will b critical and relocation will be necessary.
Posted: at 27-12-2011 06:46 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Sabioye at 27-12-2011 09:38 AM (12 years ago)
Let d government remove it, dat is only way to move dis nation forward cos government have nothing to offer d citizen. Let look at telecommunication issue it was wen de sold Nitel out dat was d time we started enjoying d divided of telecom, thou it was difficult & agony wen started but now it's ok now and we have any cus to applause or complain to Government but service provider, d same thing wil happen to fuel subsidy as wel. Pls let govt remove his hand in everything even NEPA/PHCN.
Posted: at 27-12-2011 09:38 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- osenigeboh at 27-12-2011 08:00 PM (12 years ago)
L-O-O-K, I am against it for the following reasons;
1. them sanusis, okonjos and diezanis have not told us how many official jeeps, jaguas, lexus they parade without fuelling any with a single kobo from their pockets. They all do this from my tax, your tax.
2. They have not told us who chosed to subsidised the pump price whereas that huge money could have repaired the refineries, built two additional and the vandalised pipes line
3. They have not told us why the President and his Vice would take #1.0 billion naira as feeding pocket money for their families.
4. They have not told us why for 12 years running the refinries are still dead.
5.they refuse to tell us how much has been made since subsidy was remove from AGO (diesel) and Kerosine.
These and many more are begging for answers. So, for me there has never be subsidy. If the Govenment tells Nigerias it wants toincrease pump price, I think that will be reasonable to listen to.
Posted: at 27-12-2011 08:00 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- donuche at 28-12-2011 05:18 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Sabioye on 27-12-2011 09:38 AM
Let d government remove it, dat is only way to move dis nation forward cos government have nothing to offer d citizen. Let look at telecommunication issue it was wen de sold Nitel out dat was d time we started enjoying d divided of telecom, thou it was difficult & agony wen started but now it's ok now and we have any cus to applause or complain to Government but service provider, d same thing wil happen to fuel subsidy as wel. Pls let govt remove his hand in everything even NEPA/PHCN.

this is a different issue with what they did in the telecommunication sector.what they are saying here is that they will remove the money that the government is putting into the oil sector to cussion or reduce what they call the landing cost,refinery cost since they were refined abroad,the cost of price of crude oil in the international market,the bridged cost and etc on the masses. i can not recall all the big grammars they used in trying confuse us so that they will loot our treasury once this time around.this people do not mean well for me and you"none of this agents of subsidy removal buy fuel with their money or even from the public filling stations where we buy ours from. if they are sincere with themselves the let them build the refineries here,make it function at full capacity and then the subsidy would remove itself without even them telling us all this trash. i have never heard or seen any country that have crude oil that refined or import their fuel product from abroad. they said that cost of fuel per liter after all the expensive is about 110 to 120 naira and it is because they subsidysed it that we can be able to get it at the rate of 65 naira" which means that if the subsidy is removed then we should be buying fuel at the rate of 110 to 120 naira and above.  Argentina do not have a crude oil and yet they have a functioning refinery where they refine all the fuel they use in their country.OBJ and even all the past millitary presidents we have had never increased fuel to that price because that is what is likely to happen after the subsidy is removed. why the importation of fuel for goodness sake?. there are hundred of Argentines,Phillipines and even Moroccans engineers working in the oil companies in Nigeria even when they do not have oil.  it is a shame
Posted: at 28-12-2011 05:18 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- donuche at 28-12-2011 05:24 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Sabioye on 27-12-2011 09:38 AM

this is a different issue with what they did in the telecommunication sector.what they are saying here is that they will remove the money that the government is putting into the oil sector to cussion or reduce what they call the landing cost,refinery cost since they were refined abroad,the cost of price of crude oil in the international market,the bridged cost and etc on the masses. i can not recall all the big grammars they used in trying confuse us so that they will loot our treasury once this time around.this people do not mean well for me and you"none of this agents of subsidy removal buy fuel with their money or even from the public filling stations where we buy ours from. if they are sincere with themselves then let them build the refineries here,make it function at full capacity and then the subsidy would remove itself without the even telling us all this trash. i have never heard or seen any country that have crude oil that refined or import their fuel product from abroad. they said that cost of fuel per liter after all the expenses is about 110 to 120 naira and it is because they subsidized it that we can be able to get it at the rate of 65 naira" which means that if the subsidy is removed then we should be buying fuel at the rate of 110 to 120 naira and above.  Argentina do not have a crude oil and yet they have a functioning refinery where they refine all the fuel they use in their country.OBJ and even all the past military presidents we have had never increased fuel to that price because that is what is likely to happen after the subsidy is removed. why the importation of fuel for goodness sake?. there are hundred of Argentines,Phillipines and even Moroccans engineers working in the oil companies in Nigeria even when they do not have oil.  it is a shame
Posted: at 28-12-2011 05:24 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- donuche at 28-12-2011 05:33 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: osenigeboh on 27-12-2011 08:00 PM
L-O-O-K, I am against it for the following reasons;
1. them sanusis, okonjos and diezanis have not told us how many official jeeps, jaguas, lexus they parade without fuelling any with a single kobo from their pockets. They all do this from my tax, your tax.
2. They have not told us who chosed to subsidised the pump price whereas that huge money could have repaired the refineries, built two additional and the vandalised pipes line
3. They have not told us why the President and his Vice would take #1.0 billion naira as feeding pocket money for their families.
4. They have not told us why for 12 years running the refinries are still dead.
5.they refuse to tell us how much has been made since subsidy was remove from AGO (diesel) and Kerosine.
These and many more are begging for answers. So, for me there has never be subsidy. If the Govenment tells Nigerias it wants toincrease pump price, I think that will be reasonable to listen to.

we also need them also to tell us why they are more serious of this subsidy removal than our national security and why our refinery can not work. they also owe us an explanation as to why we are still buying cement at the rate of almost 20 dollars while cement is cheaper than a bottle of beer in some other countries.
Posted: at 28-12-2011 05:33 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rayOFsunshine at 28-12-2011 03:05 PM (12 years ago)
I DONT SUPPORT IT
SEE THEM FLYINY THE KITE OF 'IF WE CONTINUE WITH SUBSIDY, THE NATION ECONOMY WOULD CRASH'
THEY SHOULD START WITH THEMSELVES FIRST
THEY SHOULD CUT THEIR SALARIES AND ALLOWANCES BY 50%
THEY SHOULD START PAYING FOR THE FUEL THEY USE
THE NIGERIAN GOVERNMENT IS THE MOST SUBSIDIZED GOVT IN THE WORLD, THEY PAY FOR ALMOST NOTHING
THEY SHOULD GET OUR REFINERIES WORKING
UNTIL THAT IS DONE, THEY SHOULD NOT TOUCH FUEL SUBSIDY
MTCHEWWW
Posted: at 28-12-2011 03:05 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ADEF at 28-12-2011 03:54 PM (12 years ago)
If it is inevitable that the Federal Government of Nigeria must remove fuel subsidy, they must first and foremost lead by example. Let them reduce the number of cars in their convoys such that the President wont have more than six cars and Governors three. Let them abolish the office of First Lady of the Nation and that of the states and any programmes the wives want to embark upon should be from their individual purses not from the state covers.
Let the President sponsor a bill as a matter of urgency in the National Assemble that will change the current constitutional provision of one minister from each state of the federation to at just between two or three ministers form each of the geopolitical zones of the nation to be followed by a restructuring of the ministerial posts such that for example, Youth, Sports and Tourism can be one ministry; Transport and Aviation one Ministry, Works and Housing one ministry etc because in actual facts, it is the civil service that does the job not the Ministeers. The Ministers are just in office mostly as a compensation for roles played during electioneering or as a compensation for an old boy or old girl (whatever that means). What do we see after a FEC Meeting? Individuals who are merely satisfied with the photo-shots that will come after the meeting (not the contributions they made or value added). no. just let my townspeople/old school mates see their own in national dailies as one of the "choppers" of our collective wealth.
Let there be a sincere and thorough investigation of the Petroleum Ministry and her agencies from 1999 to date and bring all culprits who may be indicted to justice. This is imperative considering how much we are told has been sunk into "Turn-Around Maintenance" and yet we import close to 80% of our fuel consumption in the nation.
If Government can do all of these between January and September, then they can go ahead and remove the subsidy by the last quarter of 2012.
thanks.
Adeola Festus
Posted: at 28-12-2011 03:54 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- abubakarzain at 4-01-2012 09:17 AM (12 years ago)

Posted: at 4-01-2012 09:17 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pjima at 4-01-2012 08:58 PM (12 years ago)
NIGERIA NEED HELP'' THE WORLD AND AMERICA,EUROPE,HELP THE POOR VOICES OF NIGERIAN CITIZENS''IS TIME WE STOP DYING ENOUGH IS ENOUGH''SUBSIDY REMOVAL IS ACCEPTED BUT WOULD THEY FUFFIL IT'' TO BUILD OUR REFINENARY''GIVE US GOOD ROAD''STEADY ELECTRICITY''WATER''AGRICULTURE''GOOD SALARY FOR CIVIL WORKERS AND LABOURERS''SOUND EDUCATION AT EASE EXPENSE.. AND FINALLY DESTROY BOKO HARAM FOR THE CHRISTIANS TO HAVE PEACE OOO''' GOVERNMENT SHOULD MAINTAIN PEACE BETWEEN MUSLIM AND CHRISTIAN WITH A POWERFUL SANCTIONING OF THE BOTH SIDE'''''IF WE ACHIEVE ALL THIS WE WILL NOT CARE FOR PROFIT OR INCOME IN OIL REVENUE...THE WORLD HELPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP'''''''''''''''''' WE ARE DYING THE CITIZENS ARE CRYING FOR HELP.. PLS HELPPPPPPPPPPPPPP'''''''.
Posted: at 4-01-2012 08:58 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- cadanre at 4-01-2012 09:37 PM (12 years ago)
I am for and against it at the same time. This means, according to my view, the subsidy should be removed and be left at the same time. Do not ask me that question again because I am pretty sure this is our ow making not anybody's. Majority voted for this man and they are responsible for whatever befall this country. I REST MY CASE HERE.

Posted: at 4-01-2012 09:37 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- babyleslie at 5-01-2012 05:20 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ADEF on 28-12-2011 03:54 PM
If it is inevitable that the Federal Government of Nigeria must remove fuel subsidy, they must first and foremost lead by example. Let them reduce the number of cars in their convoys such that the President wont have more than six cars and Governors three. Let them abolish the office of First Lady of the Nation and that of the states and any programmes the wives want to embark upon should be from their individual purses not from the state covers.
Let the President sponsor a bill as a matter of urgency in the National Assemble that will change the current constitutional provision of one minister from each state of the federation to at just between two or three ministers form each of the geopolitical zones of the nation to be followed by a restructuring of the ministerial posts such that for example, Youth, Sports and Tourism can be one ministry; Transport and Aviation one Ministry, Works and Housing one ministry etc because in actual facts, it is the civil service that does the job not the Ministeers. The Ministers are just in office mostly as a compensation for roles played during electioneering or as a compensation for an old boy or old girl (whatever that means). What do we see after a FEC Meeting? Individuals who are merely satisfied with the photo-shots that will come after the meeting (not the contributions they made or value added). no. just let my townspeople/old school mates see their own in national dailies as one of the "choppers" of our collective wealth.
Let there be a sincere and thorough investigation of the Petroleum Ministry and her agencies from 1999 to date and bring all culprits who may be indicted to justice. This is imperative considering how much we are told has been sunk into "Turn-Around Maintenance" and yet we import close to 80% of our fuel consumption in the nation.
If Government can do all of these between January and September, then they can go ahead and remove the subsidy by the last quarter of 2012.
thanks.
Adeola Festus
Nice..Me like dis!.. Cool Cool Cool
Posted: at 5-01-2012 05:20 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- markas2002 at 6-01-2012 12:34 PM (12 years ago)
It will bring more suffering in the country....Jonathan should step down...he is a mad man...i thought he is our helper
Posted: at 6-01-2012 12:34 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ezindu1 at 6-01-2012 01:51 PM (12 years ago)
good luck jonathan.i was thinking that u would have been a moses to nigerians that will leed us to promise land. but now i dont know why u are there?
Posted: at 6-01-2012 01:51 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- lertipha at 6-01-2012 02:41 PM (12 years ago)
I am against it.
Posted: at 6-01-2012 02:41 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- kebella at 6-01-2012 02:55 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ezindu1 on  6-01-2012 01:51 PM
good luck jonathan.i was thinking that u would have been a moses to nigerians that will leed us to promise land. but now i dont know why u are there?
his still waiting 4  God's order Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 6-01-2012 02:55 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- deboalabi262 at 6-01-2012 05:51 PM (12 years ago)
I am for it.  However, the fuel subsidy removal could have been introduced gradually and not so abrupt as it was done by GEJ and his co kabals. The fuel price could have been raised to 100 naira initially instead of 141 as it is now. I pray for peace in Naija....

Posted: at 6-01-2012 05:51 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Imoking at 8-01-2012 11:58 AM (12 years ago)
I  am for it  may God bless and guide Mr President he is a great man for the job and he has taken a bold step forward.
For those who has refuse to understand,Please go through his speech,maybe you understand Mr President intentions
Posted: at 8-01-2012 11:58 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- petmanuel4loura at 27-01-2012 06:37 AM (12 years ago)
IS A GOOD IDEA BY THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT, IF ONLY THE WILL WALK BY WHAT THE STAND FOR...
Posted: at 27-01-2012 06:37 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

3. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

4. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

5. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

6. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

7. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

8. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

9. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu