Sovereign National Conference;Not The Answer

Date: 11-02-2012 11:09 am (12 years ago) | Author: osmond eze
- at 11-02-2012 11:09 AM (12 years ago)
I feel very strongly and agitated when people I hold in very high esteem and who are well educated and informed too,descend to a level of reasoning that in my humble opinion,amounts to not only playing to the gallery but would also take very serious toll on our already emasculated and battered economy,as well as tends to circumvent and upset the existing structures upon which the government funct...ions.

Am talking about the call for the convocation of a Sovereign National Conference or National Discuss or whatever name so advanced by these very respectable and distinguished Nigerians in the recent past.Laudable and well thought out as the call may be,I beg to disagree with the proponents and advocates of the cause for the simply reason that it is not the way out of whatever problems,challenges and travails that have bedevilled the country of late.

Going down memory lane,such conferences in the past never yielded any tangible result and this may not be an exception,I stand to be corrected though.Economic analysis and consideration of this call,would weigh against it in the light of the economic realities of the time.I see such conference as nothing but another jamboree; an avenue to waste and further milk our national treasury as were the cases in the past.In my humble opinion,if the proponents and advocates of this cause love Nigeria this much,then let them go ahead and fashion out the way forward on their own and not waiting for/or to be members of a constitutional conference to contribute to nation building.

Constitutionally,since our constitution did not make a provision for the convocation of such conference,it would not only amount to a breach of the constitution but would also,waste the Assembly's precious time trying to make the necessary constitutional requirement to accomodate it.More so,such conference was not captured in this year's Appropriation Bill,so how do we fund it.At least,we want government to cut down her personnel and overhead cost (recurrent expenditure).This has also imposed on us the moral burden to act in that direction if we want to be taken seriously.

What I think should be done is for the proponents and advocates of the call for the convocation of the national conference to discuss on their own,consult widely from all the stakeholders in the country and finally,table their findings,imputs and reccomendations before the National assembly for consideration.This I am very sure would save cost and also,recieve support and commendation from all,rather than stampede government into wasteful spending.Just thinking aloud.

Posted: at 11-02-2012 11:09 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- binshehu at 11-02-2012 11:25 AM (12 years ago)
It sure is the answer. Sometimes you do not realise the importance of what you have until you lose it.Do not be afraid, even if Naija breaks up it will stitch itself back in the course of time. We have come a long way to live permanently apart.
Posted: at 11-02-2012 11:25 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- hosbert at 11-02-2012 11:39 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: binshehu on 11-02-2012 11:25 AM
It sure is the answer. Sometimes you do not realise the importance of what you have until you lose it.Do not be afraid, even if Naija breaks up it will stitch itself back in the course of time. We have come a long way to live permanently apart.

@binshehu
Well there is no doubt that we are entitled to our opinions.In that light,I'd say that our mannerisms do not suggest that we'd break up as a nation and thinking along that line means we've lost touch with the realities on ground.Our coming together as a nation in my humble opinion was not a mistake,even as I do not doubt the obvious which is that there is something we are not telling ourselves-the truth.Once we tell ourselves the truth,wounds will heal and frailed nerves and tempers would calm down.Nigeria is a great country and so are we all.
Posted: at 11-02-2012 11:39 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- binshehu at 13-02-2012 11:09 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: hosbert on 11-02-2012 11:39 AM
@binshehu
Well there is no doubt that we are entitled to our opinions.In that light,I'd say that our mannerisms do not suggest that we'd break up as a nation and thinking along that line means we've lost touch with the realities on ground.Our coming together as a nation in my humble opinion was not a mistake,even as I do not doubt the obvious which is that there is something we are not telling ourselves-the truth.Once we tell ourselves the truth,wounds will heal and frailed nerves and tempers would calm down.Nigeria is a great country and so are we all.
Aye, the truth of coexistence,strength of numbers, of resource and that universal African value of being our Brothers keeper.May GOD save Naija
Posted: at 13-02-2012 11:09 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie