93.9% of Nigerians are Poor – National Bureau of Statistics

Date: 13-02-2012 10:15 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 10
- at 13-02-2012 10:15 PM (12 years ago)
It was about a year ago that CBN Governor Lamido Sanusi said that 70% of Nigerians are very poor
Now the Statistician-General of the Federation, Mr Yemi Kale, disclosed at a news conference while presenting the “Nigeria Poverty Profile Report’’ that in total 93.9% of Nigerians are Poor.

He said the figure was higher than the 54 per cent recorded in 2004, and that the North-West and North East geo-political zones recorded the highest poverty rates in the country with 77.7 per cent and 76.3 per cent respectively.

Kale said the South-West geo-political zone recorded the lowest with 59.1 per cent.

He said that among the states from the North-West and North- East geo-political zones, Sokoto had the highest poverty rate with 86.4 per cent in 2010 against 95 per cent recorded by Jigawa in 2004.

The Statistician-General said Niger had the lowest with 43.6 per cent in 2010 against 22 per cent recorded by Anambra in 2004.

He said that Nigerians, who had minimal standards of foods, clothing, healthcare and shelter stood at 60.9 per cent in 2010 as against 54.7 per cent recorded in 2004.

“Among the geo-political zones, the North-West and North-East recorded the highest rates at 70 per cent and 69 per cent respectively, while the South-West had the least at 49.8 per cent.

“Sokoto had the highest at 81.2 per cent, while Niger had the least at 33.8 per cent during the review period.’’

Kale said that 93.9 per cent of Nigerians considered themselves to be poor in 2010 against 75.5 per cent recorded in 2004.

He said the FCT with 97.9 per cent, recorded the highest number of people, who considered themselves to be poor, while Kaduna with 90.50 per cent, recorded the least number of people.

The Statistician-General said the income inequality in the country as measured by the Gini-Coefficient rose from 0.429 in 2004 to 0.447 in 2010.

The Harmonised Nigeria Living Standard Survey was produced by the NBS in collaboration with the World Bank, Department for International Development and UNICEF. (NAN)

Posted: at 13-02-2012 10:15 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ugochuks at 13-02-2012 10:26 PM (12 years ago)
That 93% re the masses nd the 7% rich ones re the politicians with certain individuals who play along!!! Even the Rich ones re still hungry

Posted: at 13-02-2012 10:26 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- MilleniumMan at 13-02-2012 10:50 PM (12 years ago)
just too bad yet our so called leaders don't seems to see anything.
Posted: at 13-02-2012 10:50 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- stikerxxx at 13-02-2012 10:51 PM (12 years ago)
GOD help us.Are we growing or falling?are these estimate real or is that a joke?93.9 are poor.
Posted: at 13-02-2012 10:51 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- stikerxxx at 13-02-2012 10:57 PM (12 years ago)
upon all the crude oil we still have high rate of poverty.wht are all the money in exporting crude oil used for?wht kind of government are we practicing?this is crazy.
Posted: at 13-02-2012 10:57 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Helives4ever at 13-02-2012 11:05 PM (12 years ago)
The issue with Nigeria is that people are still looking to the government to elevate them from the ashes of poverty! I personally have nothing against such an unrealistic idea--evidenced by the government inaction--but it's time to wake up from that dream. Our leaders have 51 years of record to prove that they care nothing for the people. It's about time that we the people kick them aside, and make lives for ourselves. If you wish to be something in Nigeria, you must do so independent of our so-called government! They have not desire to assist the masses; only self-interest driven.
Posted: at 13-02-2012 11:05 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Tomnwakor at 13-02-2012 11:49 PM (12 years ago)
no bi lie.
Posted: at 13-02-2012 11:49 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ILOVEIT at 13-02-2012 11:59 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on 13-02-2012 10:15 PM
It was about a year ago that CBN Governor Lamido Sanusi said that 70% of Nigerians are very poor
Now the Statistician-General of the Federation, Mr Yemi Kale, disclosed at a news conference while presenting the “Nigeria Poverty Profile Report’’ that in total 93.9% of Nigerians are Poor.

He said the figure was higher than the 54 per cent recorded in 2004, and that the North-West and North East geo-political zones recorded the highest poverty rates in the country with 77.7 per cent and 76.3 per cent respectively.

Kale said the South-West geo-political zone recorded the lowest with 59.1 per cent.

He said that among the states from the North-West and North- East geo-political zones, Sokoto had the highest poverty rate with 86.4 per cent in 2010 against 95 per cent recorded by Jigawa in 2004.

The Statistician-General said Niger had the lowest with 43.6 per cent in 2010 against 22 per cent recorded by Anambra in 2004.

He said that Nigerians, who had minimal standards of foods, clothing, healthcare and shelter stood at 60.9 per cent in 2010 as against 54.7 per cent recorded in 2004.

“Among the geo-political zones, the North-West and North-East recorded the highest rates at 70 per cent and 69 per cent respectively, while the South-West had the least at 49.8 per cent.

“Sokoto had the highest at 81.2 per cent, while Niger had the least at 33.8 per cent during the review period.’’

Kale said that 93.9 per cent of Nigerians considered themselves to be poor in 2010 against 75.5 per cent recorded in 2004.

He said the FCT with 97.9 per cent, recorded the highest number of people, who considered themselves to be poor, while Kaduna with 90.50 per cent, recorded the least number of people.

The Statistician-General said the income inequality in the country as measured by the Gini-Coefficient rose from 0.429 in 2004 to 0.447 in 2010.

The Harmonised Nigeria Living Standard Survey was produced by the NBS in collaboration with the World Bank, Department for International Development and UNICEF. (NAN)

this is absolutely crazy..93.9 %?? wow!!!! Shocked :'(

Posted: at 13-02-2012 11:59 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- toibeli at 14-02-2012 12:02 AM (12 years ago)
By George, I think somebody finally got it right Angry
Posted: at 14-02-2012 12:02 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- open_reality at 14-02-2012 12:06 AM (12 years ago)
The truth of the matter is this, 99.9% of the northeners...(i.e abokis) are all poor. Poverty originated from the north. It's just a shame that leprosy and krokro is attached to the poverty. My poster get ur facts right.

Posted: at 14-02-2012 12:06 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- toibeli at 14-02-2012 12:13 AM (12 years ago)
OK we don hear, but wetin government go do about it Huh?
Posted: at 14-02-2012 12:13 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- open_reality at 14-02-2012 12:16 AM (12 years ago)
The truth of the matter is this, 99.9% of the northeners...(i.e abokis) are all poor. Poverty originated from the north. It's just a shame that leprosy and krokro is attached to the poverty. They are all lazy bastards. All they know is sharia and how to commit haram. Their line of business include selling goro(kola nut), carrot, sugar cane, magani burantashi(man power) and chasing cow from north to south. Little or no wonder they hate the igbos cos they are successful educated and business people, the yoruba's because they like going to school and work hard, and even the niger delta's cos they are blessed with oil. Basically, they hausa's are enemy of progress cos they got nothing. Their only natural resources is bomb and dagger. My opinion. No let am vex u ooo. But if e vex u, abeg romance naked wire.

Posted: at 14-02-2012 12:16 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dollar22 at 14-02-2012 12:24 AM (12 years ago)
i don't think so
Posted: at 14-02-2012 12:24 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- stevpromise at 14-02-2012 12:25 AM (12 years ago)
this seems unbelievable but it is the very truth of the whole matters.only political related officers can boost of a comfortable living in Nigeria. SHAMELESS RULERS
Posted: at 14-02-2012 12:25 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- przystojny at 14-02-2012 12:38 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: open_reality on 14-02-2012 12:16 AM
The truth of the matter is this, 99.9% of the northeners...(i.e abokis) are all poor. Poverty originated from the north. It's just a shame that leprosy and krokro is attached to the poverty. They are all lazy bastards. All they know is sharia and how to commit haram. Their line of business include selling goro(kola nut), carrot, sugar cane, magani burantashi(man power) and chasing cow from north to south. Little or no wonder they hate the igbos cos they are successful educated and business people, the yoruba's because they like going to school and work hard, and even the niger delta's cos they are blessed with oil. Basically, they hausa's are enemy of progress cos they got nothing. Their only natural resources is bomb and dagger. My opinion. No let am vex u ooo. But if e vex u, abeg romance naked wire.

Babe you hit the nail on the head and you are 110% right inshort i dey behind you hahaha Aboki be yeye people for real
Posted: at 14-02-2012 12:38 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- umehudoka at 14-02-2012 12:53 AM (12 years ago)
why i like my fellow youth of naija is that they all know where there problem is coming from but can never act. na to dey write comments up and down. nonsense  Angry
Posted: at 14-02-2012 12:53 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- AriyaToday at 14-02-2012 01:15 AM (12 years ago)
There are poor people all over the world but Nigeria's Case is nothing to write home about. Too many people are suffering in that country. I served in Akure, Ondo State in 2005/2006 and I saw poverty that just too bad to describe. I saw goats sleeping in the same room with people. It was just too bad. However, I would like to ask how the Poverty rate in Nigeria was arrived at Sad Sad Sad  Many Nigerians are not living badly though. I've seen many Nigerians with good jobs and all that. What about all the Nigerian Guys and Babes employed by MTN, Airtel, Glo, Etisalat etc? We can't say they are all living in steep poverty. There are thousands of Nigerians that travel to Europe and North America for shopping and holidays on yearly basis. They have money to spend and they're doing well for themselves. I believe poverty is not the main issue here, but how to live comfortably with the money one has in Nigeria. Many Nigerians do not know how to take care of themselves and eat proper diets with the food crops all around them. I agree that many Nigerians cannot afford to buy things at Shoprite and the likes of them, but I guess the percentage of Nigerians that are poor are 75%. This is my own belief though. Cheers.

www.twitter.com/ariyatoday
Posted: at 14-02-2012 01:15 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Georgementus at 14-02-2012 01:42 AM (12 years ago)
@madam hoha eziokwu ka enekwu, but are they using magani burantashi for?
Posted: at 14-02-2012 01:42 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Georgementus at 14-02-2012 02:02 AM (12 years ago)
  @ madam hoha eziokwu ka inekwu, but what are they using maganiburantash for?
Posted: at 14-02-2012 02:02 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- babyleslie at 14-02-2012 02:07 AM (12 years ago)
Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Grin Grin Grin Grin Wink Wink Wink Wink
Posted: at 14-02-2012 02:07 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 10