Genotype Issue (Page 8)

Date: 03-03-2012 8:11 am (12 years ago) | Author: Jossy Donald
1 ... 5 6 7 [8] 9
- chicanorose at 7-03-2012 09:18 AM (12 years ago)
Poster lets forget abt dis peoples story and face reality. Genotype is a very big issue in terms of marriage and d results especially wen it involves two peopls with AS shld nt be neglected atall. Remember dat a healthy child is d joy of every parents/home. Wen a child is always sick, d happiness in dat home will reduce drastically and d child‘s mother will be blamed for whatever happens to dat child.

Posted: at 7-03-2012 09:18 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 09:50 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: jossy4reall on  3-03-2012 10:03 AM
I Gbadu ur comment cuz I have seen AS+AS couple......... they had four children and none is SS

u know all these are probabilities , its possible they will have all kids with AA ,AS or SS

So it better u dont temp your God

Posted: at 7-03-2012 09:50 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 09:54 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: jossy4reall on  3-03-2012 09:56 AM
Most of our parents does not go for genotype test.......in fact many of our parents does not even know their genotype... But its scarce to see SS child...... Now that the same civilization and technology that made us to understand the disadvantage also made us to understand that it can be detected if a baby will be SS just within two weeks a woman conceived. ..............Why is it still a paramount issue to some??  

The bible says that the years of ignorance God overlooks. The leven of information we heve now were not available to our forefathers and believe u me that soo many families lost their child with conditions related to sicle cell anaemia crises but these deaths were believe to be associated with one fetish procedure or another .
In my compound i know a womant that lost all her kids before the age of 5 but they believe a particular god was against her but finally she hed a son who survived to adulthood and that man happen to be an AS

Posted: at 7-03-2012 09:54 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 09:58 AM (12 years ago)
What will be the joy of any parent watching his child spend most of his life in hospital or in agony ? why would one even take the risk of bringing a child into this world only for that child to suffer especially when these could be prevented ?

Posted: at 7-03-2012 09:58 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 7-03-2012 10:13 AM (12 years ago)
I dunno
Posted: at 7-03-2012 10:13 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 02:12 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: jossy4reall on  3-03-2012 10:03 AM
I Gbadu ur comment cuz I have seen AS+AS couple......... they had four children and none is SS

its a game of probability .....................

Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:12 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 02:19 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: jossy4reall on  3-03-2012 10:16 AM
They could be right or wrong......... but do u know that AS is the commonest genotype in Africa Huh?............ so if she have not find someone...........I don't think she would have taken d decision.

i dont know where u got ur statitics from but you are talking of AS and not SS .AS can be seen in families of couples of AS ans AA and there is nothing wrong in that .This is a heriditery blood disorder that can be prevented and possible eradicated ,why cant we all join in eradicating it ?
I dont know if u know any family with a sickler , if not try and find one and ask them what their experiences are ..............

Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:19 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 02:21 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: amric on  3-03-2012 10:53 AM
love is blind oooo

Love is never blind , it sees more than humans do , so if ur own love is blind, take it to a specialist  Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:21 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 02:22 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: tmaxdon on  3-03-2012 11:08 AM
The girl is aware of the punishment they are about to impose on their unborn kid because the first child could be the carrier(SS) or the second...I am not saying that they should breakup but they must think of the difficulties that comes with having a carrier kid even if they are rich....If they are very rich  there may be a solution with the use of Genetic design(Designer baby) but there may be repercussion for doing this too..one that is known to me is that this child will contract Malaria like the  AAs and the ASs because the sickle cell anaemia has resistance to malaria and another disease might come up...No one is perfect though,we all have one genetic problem or the other, harmful or harmless...

A very scientific based response .Thats totally true  Grin Grin

Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:22 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 02:25 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: nellykelly008 on  3-03-2012 12:26 PM

AND I HAVE SEEN A FRIEND HAVE 3 CHILDREN ALL IS SS
IF YOU  AND YOUR GF IS ' AS' PLEASE LET HER GO, FIND AA TO MARRY
BEEN WITH GIRL FROM YOU CHILDHOOD HAS NOTHING TO DO ABOUT WITH UR FUTURE CHILDREN,
IN FUTURE WHEN U HAVE SS AS A CHILD U WILL BE THE ONE TO SUFFER MOST, GOING TO HOSPITAL ALL TIMES AND SO ON,
NO CHILD WILL BE HAPPY WITH HIS PARENTS IF HE/HER IS SS. I HAVE SEE THAT ALSO

gbam !!

Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:25 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- giftmurphy at 7-03-2012 02:27 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: onyiis on  7-03-2012 02:21 PM
Love is never blind , it sees more than humans do , so if ur own love is blind, take it to a specialist  Grin Grin Grin Grin
tell him again...
Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:27 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 02:34 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: xter on  3-03-2012 12:38 PM
Una funny sha! U want make ur pikin dey curse u? How u go marry as if u be as? Der is a big possibilty say all ur pikin fit be ss sef

i wonders ooo

Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:34 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 02:37 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: buks on  3-03-2012 01:19 PM
This depends on the country u live in,my husband and i have 3 kids and we are both AS.All our kids are fine but that's thanks to the system we have here in the UK.When i was 11 weeks pregnant test were carried out to determine the genotype.But its a personal choice and depends on health care facilities in the country u live in.

your profil says u are a male but not withstanding , so u were ready to abort that pregnancy if the test result said its SS? Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked

Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:37 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 02:39 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: jossy4reall on  3-03-2012 01:34 PM

Na my friend just told me that............he is a veterinarian Wink

heheheheheeeeeeeeeeeee !!! so na animal statistics u take they compare with humans ?

Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:39 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 02:41 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sojstyles on  3-03-2012 03:08 PM
My dear, its a sin to bring a child into this world with an SS genotype, knowing  fully well the consequence. Yes some people on here said,if you guys get married, you can have all AS children and some where giving you the multiplication method of AA,AS,AS,SS.
No be so oh, Google about it, ask doctors, there are cases you can give birth to 4 and all will be SS.
 I dnt knw if she found a replacement or not, but she is making the right step in letting you know its not going to work. if you truly luv her, let her go.

u are soo right

Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:41 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 02:43 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: EMMYBOSS on  3-03-2012 04:44 PM
KNOWING OUR GENOTYPE IS VERY IMPORTANT.  AS+AS MAY BE A VERY BIG RISK IN THE SENSE, THAT ALL YOUR LIFE SAVINGS MAY GO FOR HOSPITAL BILL BCOS OF THE CHILD WITH SS.  ON THE OTHER HAND, WE CAN INVOLVE GOD INTO IT FOR A CHANGE IN GENOTYPE.  THIS DEPENDS ON OUR FAITH AND RELATIONSHIP WITH ALMIGHTY GOD.  I WAS AN (AS) CARRIER WHEN I DID MY FIRST GENOTYPE TEST MANY YEARS AGO B4 MY MARRIAGE.  I KNEW THE IMPLICATION OF THAT, SO, I RESORTED TO SEEKING THE FACE OF GOD FOR YEARS EVEN B4 MARRIAGE.  BY THE TIME, I GREW UP AND WAS GETTING READY FOR MARRIAGE, I NEVER KNEW THAT GOD HAD ANSWERED MY SUPPLICATIONS AND MY GENOTYPE WAS CHANGED FROM (AS TO AA).  TO FURTHER CONFIRM THIS MEDICALLY, I HAVE DONE ABOUT FOUR (4) DIFFERENT TESTS ALL SHOWING AM (AA).  THERE IS NOTHING IMPOSSIBLE WITH GOD.

your type of faith is rare to find .

Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:43 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 02:48 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Zee_tience on  3-03-2012 06:08 PM
I really don't think there can be or should be anything to use as an excuse for breaking up a long built love. As a 5Th year medical student from all I've learnt till this very moment,the very reason why science brought the genotype thing to the knowledge of people which was a long time ago was :
1. Because there wasn't any technology then that could help manage sickle cell diseases . and
2. For people not be very careful on most decision they make so as not to bring to this world innocent children that will come to this world and suffer from all of those sickle cell pain from crises.
     But then these are no longer excuses cos, among 4 children they may want to have as both AS persons, only one kid will be SS, 2 will be AS as the parents and One will be AA and with modern technologies now, there is a cure for sickle cell though has not been generally practice round the world but last year in one of the states in Nigeria, there was a successful treatment of a sickle cell kid who is now AA as a result of bone marrow transplant.
   So therefore, i think dat love conqueres everything and if really they both really are in love with each other as they claim, their genotype shouldn't be a barrier. People who should be more concerned are those who are both SS or an SS and an AS.

The lines in red are soo contradictory that i doubt your claoms strongly  Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked

Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:48 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 02:55 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: FlyMamacita on  4-03-2012 10:44 AM
Ok so please tell me, why do u have to know genotype b4 getting married?

Blood no be blood again  Huh? Sorry to ask but its the first time i go hear this thing.

heheheheheeeeeeee !! thats the funny thing , they knew the implications of genotype in a marital relationship and that was why they went for the test .Now the test result proves that its not adviceable for both to get married and some are advicing them to go against that .
Thou shall not tempt the Lord thy God !

Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:55 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 03:01 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Ustunner on  4-03-2012 04:42 PM
MY ADVICE TO YOU... CALL OF WHAT EVER PLANS YOU HAVE TO BE MARRIED BECAUSE ITS FOR REAL... IT IS SO UNWISE, FOOLISH, WICKED AND INHUMAN TO GO AHEAD WITH SUCH THINGS. DO NOT LET IGNORANCE OR BLIND AND WORTHLESS LOVE LEAD YOU INTO STUPIDITY AND WICKEDNESS. AS+AS HAS A HIGHER POSSIBILITY OF HAVING AN SS INSHORT IT IS 25% CHANCE AS TO AS,AS,AA, MEANING YOU CANT TAKE CHANCES... I THINK YOU SHOULD MAKE YOUR RESEARCH ON THE LIFES OF A SICKLE CELL PATIENT AND THEIR SUFFERING BEFORE MAKING A SELFISH, MYOPIC, SELF CENTERED DECISION IN THE GUISE OF LOVE. ARE YOU WILLING TO BRING IN A CHILD INTO THIS WORD WHO WILL LIVE HIS LIFE IN FEAR OF CRISIS AND EMINENT DEATH, WITH HATE AND COURSE 4 D PARENT HAVING ENUF RESOURCES TO FIND SUCH INFORMATION AND PREVENT IT IN THIS 21ST CENTURY?
IM 24YRS OLD SICKLE CELL, YOU CAN SAY I'VE LIVED LONGER THAN AN AVERAGE SICKLER, TO BE WISE ENUF TO TELL YOU NOT TO MAKE A DECISION THAT WILL END UP SUFFERING, THE CHILD, THE MOTHER AND YOU!

tell them and i hope they will hear

Posted: at 7-03-2012 03:01 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 7-03-2012 03:03 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: MegaOneplusone on  5-03-2012 06:18 PM
There are times in life that we really need to give up modern technology and findings and face life in old school way. We dont have SS in my kindred even though most gave birth at home cos there were no hospitals around them.

Being an SS has nothing to do with the place of birth ............its a genetic constitution

Posted: at 7-03-2012 03:03 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
1 ... 5 6 7 [8] 9

1. Baba Ijesha: Court Of Appeal To Review Rape Conviction Of Nollywood Star, Olanrewaju James

2. JUST IN: Former Aviation Minister, Hadi Sirika Arrested by EFCC Over The Nigeria Air Fraud

3. You Bit The Fingers That Fed You - Actress Hilda Dokubo Shades Gospel Singer Mercy Chinwo

4. Ex Kogi Gov,Yahaya Bello Demanded EFCC To Interrogate Him In His Village – EFCC Boss, Olukoyede

5. Eniola Badmus Sparks Mixed Reactions as She Shows Off The Interior of Her House (VID)

6. UNN Suspends Sex-For-Grade Lecturer In Viral Video

7. ‘There’d Have Been Casualties’ – EFCC Boss Reveals Why Yahaya Bello's Arrest Failed

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office