My husband runs away when rent is due’

Date: 07-03-2012 2:59 am (12 years ago) | Author: Paddy Hayes
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 7-03-2012 02:59 AM (12 years ago)
MARCH 6, 2012 BY TEMITAYO FAMUTIMI

A 37-year-old woman, Mrs. Ada Amonu, told a Grade ‘B’ Customary Court sitting in Oshodi, Lagos, on Monday that her estranged husband, Andrew, was in the habit of absconding from home whenever their rent was due.

She said Andrew resorted to the mischievous act in a calculated attempt to evade rent payments, thereby putting the burden on her.

Ada, a businesswoman, who urged the court to dissolve her 10 years marriage, said her 49-year-old husband was irresponsible and did not care about his family.

She said, “My husband shies away from his primary responsibilities on the home front. Even when he has money, he spends it all alone on frivolities.

“Whenever the rent of the flat where we reside in Oshodi is due, he will run away from home and return weeks after I might have paid the rent.

“Even at that, he extorts money from me at will. Whenever I am unable to meet his demands, he beats me up and doesn’t stop until I sustain injuries.

“He picks up quarrels with me on trivial issues. He calls me names and despite mediation by both families, he continues with his bad ways.

“Sometimes in March 2011 when we had a little disagreement, he threw a broken mirror at my head and I sustained injuries. The incident was reported at a police station. I am really tired of this marriage. The beating and assault are just too much for me.”

But Andrew’s lawyer, Mrs. B.C. Ferguson, dismissed Ada’s assertions as false.

Ferguson said Ada was only trying to bite the finger that fed her, adding that Andrew was a perfect gentleman that could not hurt a fly.

“Andrew made Ada who she is today. He set up a business for her and it is a pity that she is now seeking for divorce,” Ferguson said.

The lawyer also accused Ada of instituting a criminal proceeding against Andrew on a petty issue as a result of which he was in prison custody for days.

“When they had a brawl in March 2011 at home, Ada got his husband arrested by the police and instituted criminal charges against him at a Magistrate’s Court. As a result of this, Andrew languished at the Kirikiri Prisons for days when he could not meet the bail conditions on time,” Ferguson said.

She assured the court that Andrew would explain the real situation of things when he gives evidence at the next adjourned date.

The President of the court, Mrs. A. I. Olorunnimbe, adjourned the matter to April 4 for further hearing.

via Punch

Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:59 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Unikpearl at 7-03-2012 03:07 AM (12 years ago)
Na wa o,..he is not man enough 2 cater 4 a family
Posted: at 7-03-2012 03:07 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 7-03-2012 07:18 AM (12 years ago)
Is lawyer Ferguson saying she is lying, does she live wit them at home? Andrew shld take care of his responsiblities not assault his wife. Divorce is nt d solution.
Meanwhile poster u wrote she is an housewife but d husband lawyer said she has a business. Am confuse there.
Posted: at 7-03-2012 07:18 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mallorca at 7-03-2012 01:39 PM (12 years ago)

Posted: at 7-03-2012 01:39 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Lekan22 at 7-03-2012 01:46 PM (12 years ago)
He is not man enough.
Posted: at 7-03-2012 01:46 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- verah at 7-03-2012 01:52 PM (12 years ago)
y him dey ru up nd dwn nah? he no get wok? abi him dey stingy to carter for his family.. men men men where all of una dey mak una com talk sense into this una brother wey dey run up nd dwn

Posted: at 7-03-2012 01:52 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kajola at 7-03-2012 02:07 PM (12 years ago)
The reasons for bitterness are best understood by parties involved alone. Those who are not yet married should not comment on this matter at all, because they lack the requisite experience to judge this matter. Meanwhile lets wait till April 4, when the husband will give his version of what happened, for our opinions on this case to be balanced. I will appeal to the poster to follow up this matter sufficiently.
Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:07 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- lanudja at 7-03-2012 02:10 PM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:10 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- priceless87 at 7-03-2012 02:41 PM (12 years ago)
Let him run away to hell, useless man
Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:41 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- verah at 7-03-2012 02:51 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: kajola on  7-03-2012 02:07 PM
The reasons for bitterness are best understood by parties involved alone. Those who are not yet married should not comment on this matter at all, because they lack the requisite experience to judge this matter. Meanwhile lets wait till April 4, when the husband will give his version of what happened, for our opinions on this case to be balanced. I will appeal to the poster to follow up this matter sufficiently.
are u married? y  did u comment? answer me now bfor i  Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 7-03-2012 02:51 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kattie77 at 7-03-2012 03:06 PM (12 years ago)
Oga abeg face ur responsibilities
Posted: at 7-03-2012 03:06 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- purityjustice at 7-03-2012 03:18 PM (12 years ago)
some men are lyk dat
Posted: at 7-03-2012 03:18 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Tomnwakor at 7-03-2012 03:34 PM (12 years ago)
na waoh
Posted: at 7-03-2012 03:34 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- BonnyLuv at 7-03-2012 03:41 PM (12 years ago)
He's not responsible.
Posted: at 7-03-2012 03:41 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ssstrawberry at 7-03-2012 03:59 PM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 7-03-2012 03:59 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- kebella at 7-03-2012 04:03 PM (12 years ago)
4nny  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 7-03-2012 04:03 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kebella at 7-03-2012 04:04 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: chisparlis on  7-03-2012 03:53 PM
Now, all this nonsense girls are looking for men to blame, in this kind of situation none of us have the right to insult anyone one because women can lie, especially when they find another man they want to use lie and divorce their man, women like changing men like how they change their dress, it is in their style of life, everything about them is changing and changing until they can never change again.

beg ur pardon Huh?

Posted: at 7-03-2012 04:04 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- escapedprince at 7-03-2012 04:11 PM (12 years ago)
But we need to hear from the husband as well !!!...........
Posted: at 7-03-2012 04:11 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- open_reality at 7-03-2012 04:47 PM (12 years ago)
weak man! Real men knows how and when to take responsibility.

Posted: at 7-03-2012 04:47 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Princestevo at 7-03-2012 05:08 PM (12 years ago)
no be u say u be oga ;DLol Grin
Posted: at 7-03-2012 05:08 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 5

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

3. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

4. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

5. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

6. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

7. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

8. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

9. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu