GIANT OF AFRICA! South Africa apologizes to Nigeria

Date: 08-03-2012 12:34 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Akeem Jaffe Jaffa
[1] 2 3 4 ... 9
- at 8-03-2012 12:34 PM (12 years ago)
PRETORIA, South Africa — South Africa apologized Thursday for a mass deportation of Nigerians, trying to contain a diplomatic spat that has again focused attention on its sometimes strained relations with the rest of the continent.

“We wish to humbly apologize to them, and we have,” South Africa’s deputy foreign minister, Ibrahim Ibrahim, told reporters. “We are apologizing because we deported a number of people who should not have been deported

Two diplomats from the Nigerian High Commission who accompanied Ibrahim to the news conference at South Africa’s foreign ministry refused to comment beyond a joint statement that described tit-for-tat deportations. The two countries say the incidents will not affect their relations.

On March 2, South Africa deported 125 Nigerians who, according to airport health authorities, carried fraudulent yellow fever cards. Since then, authorities in Lagos, raising health concerns, have deported South Africans.

Ibrahim said South African airport authorities did not properly check to determine whether the cards were authentic. He said South Africa was considering reopening a health clinic at the airport to ensure such deportations are not repeated.

South Africa and Nigeria are allies, but also sometimes rivals for influence in Africa.

Nigeria Foreign Minister Olugbenga Ashiru, speaking to his National Assembly on Tuesday, linked the deportations to what he called the “xenophobia” faced by Nigerian immigrants living in South Africa who fear police who arrest them without cause.

Ibrahim rejected Ashiru’s charge.

“We are not a xenophobic country,” Ibrahim said Thursday.

But in 2008, South Africa saw a wave of violence against foreigners from elsewhere in Africa that left scores dead. Most of the attacks occurred in squatter camps, where South Africans and foreigners — both camps impoverished — compete for housing and jobs.

South Africa has the continent’s most successful economy, and that draws immigrants from further north. But the wealth is far from equally distributed, creating volatility.

South Africans have economic might and, because they are celebrated for peacefully toppling apartheid, international diplomatic stature. South African periodically question whether that makes them arrogant, or results in their being seen as arrogant, when they meet other Africans. They also say the long years of isolation under apartheid left ignorance on both sides.

Such soul-searching was evident earlier this year, when South African politician Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma failed to win enough votes in the African Union to unseat Gabon’s Jean Ping as chairman of the continentwide body.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/africa/south-africa-apologizes-over-nigerian-deportations-faults-airport-health-officials/2012/03/08/gIQAPNigyR_story.html

Posted: at 8-03-2012 12:34 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moralemike07 at 8-03-2012 12:58 PM (12 years ago)
Nigeria needs to meet up in many ways, it shouldn't be in terms of this type of incident alone.
Posted: at 8-03-2012 12:58 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kris9ice2u at 8-03-2012 01:00 PM (12 years ago)
they are crazy the only way we can accept thier apology is unless the give us visa free and even with free visa i no fit go that country because the only buisness the get for that country na hearts and kidney sell they go just catch you commot your heart or kidney go sell
Posted: at 8-03-2012 01:00 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kris9ice2u at 8-03-2012 01:05 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: STUDENTSAGENT on  8-03-2012 01:01 PM
Admission into malaysia university is available.masters,degree,certificate program.contact me for details. [email protected]
lol....malaysia wey i wan run commot na em u wan troli person come.....laff wan kill me...lol
Posted: at 8-03-2012 01:05 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- cadanre at 8-03-2012 01:05 PM (12 years ago)
Aha!

Posted: at 8-03-2012 01:05 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Idbabe at 8-03-2012 01:11 PM (12 years ago)
Giant or dwarf of Africa?  Abeg clarify.  Make dem keep dia apology.  We have more pressing problems now
Posted: at 8-03-2012 01:11 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- DrSoba at 8-03-2012 01:19 PM (12 years ago)
Imagin south Africans, i don´t blame them
Posted: at 8-03-2012 01:19 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bachelorette at 8-03-2012 01:25 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Idbabe on  8-03-2012 01:11 PM
Giant or dwarf of Africa?  Abeg clarify.  Make dem keep dia apology.  We have more pressing problems now

Call it whatever. No matter where u may be, "No place is like Home" Nigeria is my fatherland!

Posted: at 8-03-2012 01:25 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lee22 at 8-03-2012 01:29 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: kris9ice2u on  8-03-2012 01:05 PM
lol....malaysia wey i wan run commot na em u wan troli person come.....laff wan kill me...lol
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 8-03-2012 01:29 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Angelita2 at 8-03-2012 01:31 PM (12 years ago)
GUD.
Posted: at 8-03-2012 01:31 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 8-03-2012 01:37 PM (12 years ago)
teach them a hard lessons , idiots , if not for because of my good friend , pa Mandela, i would have order the thunder to destroys them right now
Posted: at 8-03-2012 01:37 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- FinlandGuy at 8-03-2012 01:40 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: STUDENTSAGENT on  8-03-2012 01:01 PM
Admission into malaysia university is available.masters,degree,certificate program.contact me for details. [email protected]

See the kind country wey u dey advertise for here,country we my villiage better pass their country.No dey mention this kind place for here a beg
Posted: at 8-03-2012 01:40 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lanudja at 8-03-2012 01:42 PM (12 years ago)
Na iron hand them need... same shld also be applied to other counties dat do nt av respects Nigerians
Posted: at 8-03-2012 01:42 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- lanudja at 8-03-2012 01:43 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: lanudja on  8-03-2012 01:42 PM
Na iron hand them need... same shld also be applied to other counties dat do nt av respects FOR Nigerians
Posted: at 8-03-2012 01:43 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Neglito at 8-03-2012 01:55 PM (12 years ago)
They should also demand apology from Germany, Holland, Spain,France, Canada, U.K, Australia. Austria, Italy, etc, for their inhumane treatment of Nigerians.
Posted: at 8-03-2012 01:55 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FinlandGuy at 8-03-2012 01:58 PM (12 years ago)
""apartheid south Africa""

I know how much wey i country that time,i was in primary four that time,everyday my teacher dey flog me say make i bring 50kobo for apartheid in South Africa,my broda that time,i no even know wetin be South Africa,i no even now wetin be apartheid but i was paying that money every term for them.

Our class teacher don flog me and Henry until we begin dey call her madam apartheid south Africa,everybody come copy dey call her that name. Money wey i use chop diet for one week during recreation time,i use dash them.

90 Percent of their citizens are living with HIV/AIDS  and they are talking about common yellow card of 500 naria.Foolish people.

For any South African ciztizens comming to Niaja Make our Minister of Health dey  re check their HIV statues anytime they enter our airport because they carry the thing for hand dey waka.

Upon all the whole money wey them dey chop for Nigeria say na MTN,they still get mouth to deport Nigeria for just a yellow card where as na me born the Killier Disease HIV
Posted: at 8-03-2012 01:58 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zuby4life at 8-03-2012 02:00 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on  8-03-2012 01:37 PM
teach them a hard lessons , idiots , if not for because of my good friend , pa Mandela, i would have order the thunder to destroys them right now
stop making mouth ur thunder no go cross d roof of ur hot
Posted: at 8-03-2012 02:00 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- sege2001 at 8-03-2012 02:03 PM (12 years ago)
It is not their fault, God will help us
Posted: at 8-03-2012 02:03 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- FinlandGuy at 8-03-2012 02:03 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Neglito on  8-03-2012 01:55 PM
They should also demand apology from Germany, Holland, Spain,France, Canada, U.K, Australia. Austria, Italy, etc, for their inhumane treatment of Nigerians.

Broda Our Govt No time for this one and even if they get time,no chance,even if there is chance,no space,even of space dey no accommodation.

This one wey they even do,na because two Ministers were involved,if it were to be ordinary Nigerian Citizens,they will keep Quiet and will not do anything.

When it has to do with something overseas,our Govt dey first condemn us before the foreign country condemn us. It is only During Abacha regime that Nigerians abroad dey Enjoy.
Posted: at 8-03-2012 02:03 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zuby4life at 8-03-2012 02:06 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Neglito on  8-03-2012 01:55 PM
none of dat country hv time 4 nigeria hw many of der national or business are in naija
Posted: at 8-03-2012 02:06 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 9

1. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

2. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

3. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

4. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

5. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

6. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

7. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

8. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

3. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

4. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

5. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

6. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

7. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

8. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

9. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

10. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria