DIPLOMATIC THREAT: European hotages killed in Nigeria on a failed rescue mission (Page 17)

Date: 08-03-2012 8:25 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Akeem Jaffe Jaffa
1 ... 14 15 16 [17] 18
- Commonsense at 11-03-2012 02:58 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: wilat on  9-03-2012 10:35 PM
All comments well read and digested..I wouldn't have said what am about to say but some comments call for it. This is not a challenge or a debate thrown to anybody though if you feel it touched you,you are free to say anything.
Firstly,nobody talked about what could have transpired between the so called kidnapees and the kidnapers,.
Secondly has the boko haram groups claimed responsibity for the act like they usually do whenever they commit suicide bombing and did they state their resons for doing so.
Thirdly,we are too sentimental and biased about religion that we fail to realize the major truth behind any atrocities committed..if anything happen just immediately and it comes from the north,it would be attributed to religion immediately.
During the killings and kidnappings in the niger-deltan,no one attributed to to religion,no one said they were christians and therefore they r not good people,no one said just because some sets of militants involved in such,it then means all niger deltans are bad.
The fact that a particular set of people does things doesn't mean all others are the same. There are rape cases,armed robbery,killings among others in every part of the world and every part of nigeria in particular. Bad things happen everyday.
Naijapals is no longer as educative as it used to,all we do to ourselves in to insult even our parents that are even innocent,they do not know what our activities are. We do not know each other physically and yet we have no respect for one another. Naijapals alone is enough to show that we lack context on coexistence among one another. All we do is wait for a post that is religion or ethnic critic and we beginning to say all sort of things. We are humans and not fools. No one is happy about the situation of the country but must we fight,insult or criticize ourselves everyday before we would catch fun on a social site? NO. The act of living in peace begins among ourselves.
I know some low-thinkers would still quote this and instead of making a positive comment,they would insult me. Its ok if you do that. Atleast the mosrt important thing is that have passed a message.

it seems u are the biggest fool here, boko haram says they want to islamitise nigeria, what is it that u dont understand there? are u trying to protect them or what? niger delta (MEND) are fighting for a fair share of the oil from there land that is being devastated, what is in your thick head that you dont understand there, or you are just an attention seeking bitch. i am quite sure you are a sympathiser of boko haram simply because u are a muslim. Ewu
Posted: at 11-03-2012 02:58 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Commonsense at 11-03-2012 03:25 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: wilat on  9-03-2012 11:29 PM
May the souls of the dead foreigners rest in peace. Cos no matter how much we don't like the european,th soul of the dead must still be respected.
Going back to the europeans killed,how this is well pronouced because they have good governance who cares for the welfare and welbeing of their people,we hear so many evil things being done to nigerians outside daily and yet we do not get support from our governments to fight for us to investigate what happened and plead on behalf of these nigerians whom some may be innocent. Capital punishments is being placed upon nigerians outside and yet no one fight for their freedom.
The europeans took us as fools and keep perpetuating their evil deeds against us and yet we see them as "over-superior".
We have the mind to also know that these people are the thief and at the same time the catcher. They cause confusion into a particular state and in turn come as rescuers.
Nigeria is a diverse country with over 500 ethnic groups and diff religions. We have been created among ourselves and we can't but live with that fact. Unless with the intervention of God,this country can never move forward. I support ONE NIGERIA in PEACE and HARMONY.
Thos destroying nigeria knows their private aims.

now i can understand that u are a member of boko haram. and for your information, we are not created among ourselves in nigeria. Britain just join north and south together for their own selfish end. have you ever seen cat and dog live in peace when put to live together? since the past 50 years many countries have divided because of differences in ethnicity, race, religion or culture, why should nigeria be different?

just for example:

Russia - Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Tajikistan.
Yougoslavia - Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Mercedonia, Slovania.
United Kingdom - Rep. of Ireland
Sudan - South Sudan
Ethiopia - Eritria
Czech Rep. - Slovakia
Georgia - Abkhazia, South Ossetia
Indonesia - East Timor

All these I mentioned are just a few and are not more than 20 years now, there are many more countries that have divided, nigeria cant be an exception because the differences in there citizens are just too much and there can never be peace unless nigeria is divided into as many countries as is posible.
Posted: at 11-03-2012 03:25 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Commonsense at 11-03-2012 03:34 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Dejola24856 on 10-03-2012 07:16 AM
Mr Bachelorette.......See below the response to your comments heheheh

These are your words----------I think you're in the right position to answer these questions. Why must it always be Muslim countries dat one person wants to rule forever? As it is with Nigeria. Buhari, Babangida, among others, have all been leaders in one way or the other, yet they still want to come and continue where their looting stoped. Even Abacha of blessed memory never wanted to leave until God took his life. What is it with MUSLIM and power? Is it in the Quoran that you study too?

See below the response to your comments heheheh

Buhari--------Dec 1983 - 1985 Approximately 2yrs

Abacha--------Nov 1993 - 1998 approximately 5yrs

Look at this man oooo....What about In 1976 Gen. Obasanjo was made the head of state after the death of Murtala Muhammed

In 1999, this same obasanjo came back and became the president for 8yrs after which this your same Obasanjo (A Christain) still want to ammend the constitution to favor him so as for him to rule for another 4yrs hahahahaha aba.....

You no see this history ooooo abi? Man, you better stop this your controversial /bias/hipocratic judgment and be sure that lots of under G evils are been done by your soul called Christain leaders and to confirm to you that your present Christain president Badluck Jonathan is the greatest EVIL and the greatest hazard that has ever happened in Nigeria and he remains your BOKO HARAM.....You better make a perfect investigation and get the true facts before going on social networks and spreading false news and irrelevant fake stories.

you are truely a mad person
Posted: at 11-03-2012 03:34 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Dejola24856 at 11-03-2012 03:43 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Commonsense on 11-03-2012 03:34 AM
you are truely a mad person

Of alll that i wrote....is this the right response? and if you can see all my comments, did i ever use the word mad?

This shows the rate of a FAILURE u r man!!! we are only enligtening each other and in one way or the other everyone has learnt one or two things.....Really, people like you are not invited here....we need a more intelligent and high profile persnalty to responds to polls if there is any in your generation

To Bachellorette, i will get back to you soon as i'm kinda busy now and cant type much

Peace
Posted: at 11-03-2012 03:43 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Commonsense at 11-03-2012 03:56 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: fateewase on 10-03-2012 08:43 AM
I think u need more enlightenment miss. This is shouldn't be an insulting media just an explanatory one. You ask if u could live in saudi arabia without dressing like a muslim. "There's a saying that says "when you get to rome,do like the romans" their culture is the islamic form and you just have to abide by what they want. Islamically,a woman is meant to cover her body and shouldn't leave any part exposed to avoid men from seeing that which is meant for her hubby alone.
If u must live successfully in a particular region,you must abide by their rules. I have people in missionary private schools in nigeria,all students does morning devotions,mass and all christian doctrines whether you are a muslim or not its compulsory. Am only trying to enligthen you that the law of a particular place must be followed. If in nothern nigeria,they say this is waht they want,you must abide by it if you want to live there successfully.
You can't go to a muslim dominated community today and start preaching the bible to them,u don't expect them to watch you,they must chase you away. Its just like you asking me to go to a church during sunday service and start asking people to accept islam.
If christianity is that perfect and doesn't force someone why is it that christians even in public buses,gatherings,they preach. Why not live an examplary life and allow people to embrace willingly.

you can see now that u are a very foolish hypocrite, you want people to do whatever muslims say in their country, but when they go to other people's country they will never abide by the country's way. go to portharcourt and see how muslim women go about covering their faces with burqa, every morning a lot of noise comes from the minaret in their mosque and the locals complain bitterly about it, upon all of that no muslim is molested or killed. go to london, paris or switzerland and see how they shout from the minaret in their mosque or women covering their face and going about their business without disturbance. muslims will carry placards in the USA chanting for the downfall of USA without disturbance, do that in a muslim country as a christian they will fry you like akara without hesitation.
Posted: at 11-03-2012 03:56 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Commonsense at 11-03-2012 03:59 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Dejola24856 on 11-03-2012 03:43 AM
Of alll that i wrote....is this the right response? and if you can see all my comments, did i ever use the word mad?

This shows the rate of a FAILURE u r man!!! we are only enligtening each other and in one way or the other everyone has learnt one or two things.....Really, people like you are not invited here....we need a more intelligent and high profile persnalty to responds to polls if there is any in your generation

To Bachellorette, i will get back to you soon as i'm kinda busy now and cant type much

Peace

nothing good comes from u, I cant learn anything from u. better remove ur dead body from here. idiot
Posted: at 11-03-2012 03:59 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Dejola24856 at 11-03-2012 04:02 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Commonsense on 11-03-2012 02:28 AM
Why do you continue to deceive yourself? Why are u such a fool? You think you can come here to fool anyone. You better go and fool ur father instead. There are lots of mosques in Israel and muslims are free to practice their faith, while in Saudi Arabia there is no single church whatsoever because other religions are banned from practicing in public, even Bible is banned in Saudi Arabia. Even for a muslim to convert to christianity carries death sentence and you are telling me islam is peace, you can tell that to a dog. Boko Haram has come out openly to say they want Nigeria to be converted to islam country, they dont want any church in the north and they want any nigerian president to be a muslim, these are the things they want and you open your dirty mouth to tell us that its not an islamic movement. I can see you are empty headed and just need some attention. MUMU

Your profile says you are 32 but still i see no maturity in you and you got no morals and shows how awfully you were been brought up!!! It doesn't have to be this way and lots of people on here in one way or the other knows how to insult or curse people.....But if you got good morals and and really knows what to say not just been a fool who just has to say something.........Age is just a number and @ 32 your behaviour/moral and attutude still remains this way.....Man you really need deliverance and ireally mean it.

Please just let a more Logical person in your generation respond if there is ANY cause its all about HEREDITY

Take your time, check my comments and see how i respond to people irrespective of there race/religion/tribe.

It gives you full definition of ME.......I pray for you ooooo
Posted: at 11-03-2012 04:02 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Commonsense at 11-03-2012 04:08 AM (12 years ago)
@Dejola24856
better go and examine yourself because you are empty. how on earth do you think i will keep quiet while u type nonsense here, do u think we are kids or what? if i get hold of you i will teach a bitter lesson you will never forget in your life. Pig
Posted: at 11-03-2012 04:08 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- jeromchis at 11-03-2012 04:09 AM (12 years ago)
'What has befall Nigeria?..OKAY lets think this way first. (a) We need to find peace and upgrade our BILATERAL RELATIONSHIP.(b) While the North where seeking for Islamic state and making the country more insecure then we need to adapt with the formal system of government which the British colonial left by - let the 3 (three) ethnic group in Nigeria choose the best government suitable for them and in all Igbo,Yoruba and Housa will have one prime minister that will answer to the needs of each three region " as you can see the map of Nigeria how river Benue and river Niger made a natural boundary= if i am to choose let IGBO'S TAKE- Anarchy or anarchism - No rulers. A social order built through free and equal association.

LET HOUSA'S TAKE-Autocracy, oligarchy, etc. - A small ruling class. A social order marked by violence and hierarchies.

LET YORUBA'S TAKE -Democracy - Any of several systems partway between anarchism and autocracy. These may involve indirect representation, direct voting, or consensus. Indirect representation tends to come closest to autocracy, and consensus tends to come closest to anarchism...AND THERE WILL BE ONLY ONE ELECTION FOR A TENURE OF 5 FIVE YEAR'S WHICH THE PRIME MINISTER WILL BE EQUAL TO THE SAME MINISTERS OF THE 3 THREE ETHNIC GROUPS...LET EVERY REGION BEAR ACCOUNT OF THERE PROBLEM'S..OR NIGERIA WILL SPLIT !!! 
Posted: at 11-03-2012 04:09 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Dejola24856 at 11-03-2012 04:17 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Commonsense on 11-03-2012 04:08 AM
@Dejola24856
better go and examine yourself because you are empty. how on earth do you think i will keep quiet while u type nonsense here, do u think we are kids or what? if i get hold of you i will teach a bitter lesson you will never forget in your life. Pig

But as a good christain/ealder with good morals and personalty who is filled with wisdom will never insult or use abusive words against man kind. You want me to accept christainity this way as well? You are a good example of violence in christianity and preaching the gospel just like the holy bible said indicates nothing like abusing people.

It shows how evil your mind is and you are of no difference to the Boko Harams. Only the dumb will support what the folks so called Boko haram are doing.....All i am saying here is Islam never seems to be violence as you see it.........people doing evils all in the name of Islam are devils not the true Muslims.

You called me pig, idiot, mumu e.t.c but still i never called you one hehehe.........I am sure at this point in time, lots of people are following this poll and i am sure you are a big disgrace to the xtians and christ followers in general
Posted: at 11-03-2012 04:17 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Dejola24856 at 11-03-2012 04:38 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Commonsense on 11-03-2012 04:08 AM
@Dejola24856

Just now i visited your profile and view your posts.....I realized that who you truly are is awful/synthetic/dire cause nothing good and educative never comes from you as all you are filled with is curse....man you really need dilverance......this place is really not meant fpr you at all......

To other members, please you need to visit this guy's profile and see who and what he really is (Commonsense) He makes no sense at all

Please ignore all odd comments by this man, its his way.....HEREDITY....i just hope he can fight and stop the curse to avoid passing it to his offspring cause this is really of no good man.

Believe.....i will ignore what ever comment posted by you henceforth
Posted: at 11-03-2012 04:38 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Commonsense at 11-03-2012 05:10 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Dejola24856 on 11-03-2012 04:38 AM

Just now i visited your profile and view your posts.....I realized that who you truly are is awful/synthetic/dire cause nothing good and educative never comes from you as all you are filled with is curse....man you really need dilverance......this place is really not meant fpr you at all......

To other members, please you need to visit this guy's profile and see who and what he really is (Commonsense) He makes no sense at all

Please ignore all odd comments by this man, its his way.....HEREDITY....i just hope he can fight and stop the curse to avoid passing it to his offspring cause this is really of no good man.

you are a loser, son of a bitch. you have no tangible arguement to convince anyone, rather you try to confuse and deceive people here. count me out u can never deceive me so just fcuk off
Posted: at 11-03-2012 05:10 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bachelorette at 11-03-2012 08:17 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Dejola24856 on 11-03-2012 04:38 AM

U didn't comment on my last post...why?

Posted: at 11-03-2012 08:17 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 11-03-2012 08:43 AM (12 years ago)

you are a bloody idiot lier , this is no boko haram , this is not nigeria but somalia , why lying to us?
Quote from: Bachelorette on 10-03-2012 11:56 PM

Perhaps, this will make a little sense to you:

In December 2008, I was making my third trip to Niger as the United Nations Special Envoy, attempting to broker a peace between the government and rebel Tuareg groups. One Sunday, two weeks before Christmas, my colleague, Louis Guay, and I were returning to the capital, Niamey, in a UN vehicle when a truck passed us, slewed in front and forced us to a stop.

Two AK-47s were aimed at the face of our driver, and within the blink on an eye all three of us were torn from our seats and thrown into the back of their truck. The whole grab took perhaps 40 seconds.

Thus began our 56-hour descent into hell, a 1,000 km off-road nightmare into the middle of the Sahara desert. Twelve hours into that appalling journey, we stopped for a couple of hours rest. As I paced back and forth, the sentry, a young Senegalese, looked up from where he was making tea and asked, “Have you figured out who we are yet?” Refusing to acknowledge the dawning reality, I shook my head and he spat “We are al-Qaeda,” enjoying the effect as the bottom fell out of my world.

Three days later, we were ushered toward a large, dark tent, and when I saw the assembled video equipment, I despaired at the thought of my family watching a You Tube video of our beheading. Instead, we recorded a message in which I stated that we had been captured by al-Qaeda in the Islamic Maghreb (AQIM), and urged the UN and the government of Canada to bend every effort to secure our release and — as instructed — warned them to avoid violence in any effort to win our freedom.

We then settled uncomfortably into the rhythm of our desert captivity, but from the outset it was made excruciatingly clear by the 31 members of the group which held us, that as representatives of the hated United Nations, we were “prisoners of war” and not some random targets of opportunity.

We had spent five days reaching their operations area deep in the desert, remained in the first “camp” for 56 days and then spent the final 68 days shuttling vast distances among 23 different camps. A camp, though, was simply a place in the sand where a thin tree might offer a little shade from the unrelenting sun. We were always held in the open: no buildings, tents, furniture, or toilets. There were venomous snakes and scorpions and wild dogs, hyenas, and a variety of biting insects, and awful food; but the greatest threat to our lives was so evidently from the two-legged monsters who held us. Indeed, there was hardly a moment when I didn’t anticipate it would end with my head being sawn off.

They were the most single-minded group of young men I have ever encountered. Our captors had no desire for cool sunglasses, no interest in aping the antics of film stars or footballers, no passion for sports or music; their only concern was pleasing their jealous and stern God. They would often explain how the Prophet had said that 99 out of 100 would not make it to paradise, but their place beside those rivers of milk and honey was assured for they were fighting Allah’s fight and would soon, they hoped (as did I) be occupying the house of the mujahideen in paradise. At one point one of them thrust his rifle at me, saying: “kill me now, I’m ready for paradise.”

Kidnappings of Westerners have fueled debate among securocrats as to whether our AQIM captors might simply bandits flying an Islamic flag of convenience. I know that to be the wrong answer. Our kidnappers were utterly focused religious zealots who believed absolutely in their cause. They sought to expel Western infidels from Muslim lands and to destroy what they saw as apostate Western-stooge governments who were usurping God’s purposes across the Muslim world. The concepts and ideals we hold most dear were anathema to them: liberty, freedom, justice, democracy, human rights, equality between the sexes — all matters which they considered to be the exclusive province of Allah.

Our kidnappers were certain, they would prevail, but whether it took 20, 200 or 2,000 years was of no consequence. God’s will would be done.

Their objective was to establish a 7,000 km wide caliphate, stretching from Nouakchott in Mauritania to Mogadishu in Somalia, to be ruled by stern Allah-fearing Islamic sages who could be relied upon to understand and execute God’s will. AQIM believe that by replicating across the Sahel the chaos and anarchy caused by their Al Shabaab colleagues in present day Somalia, they will be creating the perfect growth medium in which their vision will flourish.

In the face of the murderous rampage of Boko Haram in Nigeria over the past year, which included the bombing of Nigerian police headquarters in Abuja and the destruction of UN headquarters, many hundreds have been killed (thousands over the past decade). There seems, though, to be a reluctance to believe that it is all part of the same jihadi movement. Many want to believe that Boko Haram is different, somehow less dangerous than Al Qaeda’s other African affiliates. While I understand the reluctance to acknowledge that Al Qaeda might have won a solid foothold in Africa’s most populous and important country, again, I know that to be the case. One of my captors was a young Nigerian from Kano; clearly what we would call an “exchange officer.”

The threat to the stability of the northern half of Africa posed by militant jihadi Islam is present and real. It has been exacerbated by the fall-out from our Libyan adventure, which has caused weapons in untold quantities to spew across one of the most fragile parts of the world. Not only do Al Qaeda’s predations endanger the development gains of the past half-century in the upper part of Africa, but chaos there will very directly impact Western Europe as human emergencies of immense proportion bloom, and illegal refugee flows multiply by orders of magnitude. Our African friends need help to defeat such a scourge, and we, throughout the West, need to get a lot more serious — and very quickly - about discouraging the Saudis and Gulf States from their generous funding of radical Salafist madrassas across the world, and most immediately in Africa where they are providing the recruits to Al Qaeda’s African franchises.

After intensive diplomacy on the part of all manner of regional players, Louis and I were freed after 130 days of captivity, along with the two female members of a group of European tourists who had been kidnapped by a separate AQIM faction. Six weeks after we returned to Canada, another of that group, the Briton Edwin Dyer, was killed by his captors. Louis and I are very lucky to be alive and we owe our lives to a great many fine, imaginative and hard working people who made it possible.

I welcome this opportunity to extend my deepest sympathies to the families of Chris McManus and Franco Lamolinara, who were not so fortunate. They were murdered this past week following their kidnapping in north-western Nigeria last May. So often during my captivity did I worry about the risks of a rescue attempt, only to fear that it might not be made, so I also extend my empathy to the brave professionals who made the attempt, for I know the extent of their distress at the failure of their enormously risky mission.

Robert R Fowler's account of his captivity, "A season in Hell: My 130 Days in the Sahara with Al Qaeda” is published in Canada by HarperCollins

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/africaandindianocean/nigeria/9136201/My-130-days-in-the-hands-of-al-Qaedas-African-monsters-by-former-hostage.html

http://news2.onlinenigeria.com/headlines/136317-gruesome-murder-of-man-by-boko-haram-video.html

please, watch the video in the last link

Posted: at 11-03-2012 08:43 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- saintdav76 at 11-03-2012 08:47 AM (12 years ago)
Why?
Posted: at 11-03-2012 08:47 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dejola24856 at 11-03-2012 09:18 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Bachelorette on 10-03-2012 11:56 PM

Perhaps, this will make a little sense to you:

In December 2008, I was making my third trip to Niger as the United Nations Special Envoy, attempting to broker a peace between the government and rebel Tuareg groups. One Sunday, two weeks before Christmas, my colleague, Louis Guay, and I were returning to the capital, Niamey, in a UN vehicle when a truck passed us, slewed in front and forced us to a stop.

Two AK-47s were aimed at the face of our driver, and within the blink on an eye all three of us were torn from our seats and thrown into the back of their truck. The whole grab took perhaps 40 seconds.

Thus began our 56-hour descent into hell, a 1,000 km off-road nightmare into the middle of the Sahara desert. Twelve hours into that appalling journey, we stopped for a couple of hours rest. As I paced back and forth, the sentry, a young Senegalese, looked up from where he was making tea and asked, “Have you figured out who we are yet?” Refusing to acknowledge the dawning reality, I shook my head and he spat “We are al-Qaeda,” enjoying the effect as the bottom fell out of my world.

Three days later, we were ushered toward a large, dark tent, and when I saw the assembled video equipment, I despaired at the thought of my family watching a You Tube video of our beheading. Instead, we recorded a message in which I stated that we had been captured by al-Qaeda in the Islamic Maghreb (AQIM), and urged the UN and the government of Canada to bend every effort to secure our release and — as instructed — warned them to avoid violence in any effort to win our freedom.

We then settled uncomfortably into the rhythm of our desert captivity, but from the outset it was made excruciatingly clear by the 31 members of the group which held us, that as representatives of the hated United Nations, we were “prisoners of war” and not some random targets of opportunity.

We had spent five days reaching their operations area deep in the desert, remained in the first “camp” for 56 days and then spent the final 68 days shuttling vast distances among 23 different camps. A camp, though, was simply a place in the sand where a thin tree might offer a little shade from the unrelenting sun. We were always held in the open: no buildings, tents, furniture, or toilets. There were venomous snakes and scorpions and wild dogs, hyenas, and a variety of biting insects, and awful food; but the greatest threat to our lives was so evidently from the two-legged monsters who held us. Indeed, there was hardly a moment when I didn’t anticipate it would end with my head being sawn off.

They were the most single-minded group of young men I have ever encountered. Our captors had no desire for cool sunglasses, no interest in aping the antics of film stars or footballers, no passion for sports or music; their only concern was pleasing their jealous and stern God. They would often explain how the Prophet had said that 99 out of 100 would not make it to paradise, but their place beside those rivers of milk and honey was assured for they were fighting Allah’s fight and would soon, they hoped (as did I) be occupying the house of the mujahideen in paradise. At one point one of them thrust his rifle at me, saying: “kill me now, I’m ready for paradise.”

Kidnappings of Westerners have fueled debate among securocrats as to whether our AQIM captors might simply bandits flying an Islamic flag of convenience. I know that to be the wrong answer. Our kidnappers were utterly focused religious zealots who believed absolutely in their cause. They sought to expel Western infidels from Muslim lands and to destroy what they saw as apostate Western-stooge governments who were usurping God’s purposes across the Muslim world. The concepts and ideals we hold most dear were anathema to them: liberty, freedom, justice, democracy, human rights, equality between the sexes — all matters which they considered to be the exclusive province of Allah.

Our kidnappers were certain, they would prevail, but whether it took 20, 200 or 2,000 years was of no consequence. God’s will would be done.

Their objective was to establish a 7,000 km wide caliphate, stretching from Nouakchott in Mauritania to Mogadishu in Somalia, to be ruled by stern Allah-fearing Islamic sages who could be relied upon to understand and execute God’s will. AQIM believe that by replicating across the Sahel the chaos and anarchy caused by their Al Shabaab colleagues in present day Somalia, they will be creating the perfect growth medium in which their vision will flourish.

In the face of the murderous rampage of Boko Haram in Nigeria over the past year, which included the bombing of Nigerian police headquarters in Abuja and the destruction of UN headquarters, many hundreds have been killed (thousands over the past decade). There seems, though, to be a reluctance to believe that it is all part of the same jihadi movement. Many want to believe that Boko Haram is different, somehow less dangerous than Al Qaeda’s other African affiliates. While I understand the reluctance to acknowledge that Al Qaeda might have won a solid foothold in Africa’s most populous and important country, again, I know that to be the case. One of my captors was a young Nigerian from Kano; clearly what we would call an “exchange officer.”

The threat to the stability of the northern half of Africa posed by militant jihadi Islam is present and real. It has been exacerbated by the fall-out from our Libyan adventure, which has caused weapons in untold quantities to spew across one of the most fragile parts of the world. Not only do Al Qaeda’s predations endanger the development gains of the past half-century in the upper part of Africa, but chaos there will very directly impact Western Europe as human emergencies of immense proportion bloom, and illegal refugee flows multiply by orders of magnitude. Our African friends need help to defeat such a scourge, and we, throughout the West, need to get a lot more serious — and very quickly - about discouraging the Saudis and Gulf States from their generous funding of radical Salafist madrassas across the world, and most immediately in Africa where they are providing the recruits to Al Qaeda’s African franchises.

After intensive diplomacy on the part of all manner of regional players, Louis and I were freed after 130 days of captivity, along with the two female members of a group of European tourists who had been kidnapped by a separate AQIM faction. Six weeks after we returned to Canada, another of that group, the Briton Edwin Dyer, was killed by his captors. Louis and I are very lucky to be alive and we owe our lives to a great many fine, imaginative and hard working people who made it possible.

I welcome this opportunity to extend my deepest sympathies to the families of Chris McManus and Franco Lamolinara, who were not so fortunate. They were murdered this past week following their kidnapping in north-western Nigeria last May. So often during my captivity did I worry about the risks of a rescue attempt, only to fear that it might not be made, so I also extend my empathy to the brave professionals who made the attempt, for I know the extent of their distress at the failure of their enormously risky mission.

Robert R Fowler's account of his captivity, "A season in Hell: My 130 Days in the Sahara with Al Qaeda” is published in Canada by HarperCollins

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/africaandindianocean/nigeria/9136201/My-130-days-in-the-hands-of-al-Qaedas-African-monsters-by-former-hostage.html

http://news2.onlinenigeria.com/headlines/136317-gruesome-murder-of-man-by-boko-haram-video.html

please, watch the video in the last link

After reviewing all this stories.....i made some research and later realize you are doing anything you can in your power to criticize ISLAM which is not fare......You know exactly where you get the story, I CAN GIVE YOU THE LINK TO IT. But i won't cause i will let your lies continue and fool those who you want to fool. At least thats what you want, for everyone to believe ISLAM is Evil.

But be sure, it doesn't have to be this way as you and i knows that all those stories and videos up there are been fabricated.

I just hope you can come out with a more tangible fact rather than show the world fake/lies.....Even a new born baby will read the story and tell you wow' who is the AUTHOR? This is an interesting story!!!

I have more links to more verious make up trash stories and videos like this if you want i can share with you
Posted: at 11-03-2012 09:18 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 11-03-2012 09:22 AM (12 years ago)
with thanks
Posted: at 11-03-2012 09:22 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- wilat at 11-03-2012 10:39 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Commonsense on 11-03-2012 02:58 AM
it seems u are the biggest fool here, boko haram says they want to islamitise nigeria, what is it that u dont understand there? are u trying to protect them or what? niger delta (MEND) are fighting for a fair share of the oil from there land that is being devastated, what is in your thick head that you dont understand there, or you are just an attention seeking bitch. i am quite sure you are a sympathiser of boko haram simply because u are a muslim. Ewu
You see,if it were before,I would have insuted you back and call u that which u called me but no I won't do that. I will only leave u to God to judge who the better person is btw us.

Posted: at 11-03-2012 10:39 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bachelorette at 11-03-2012 11:16 AM (12 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked

Posted: at 11-03-2012 11:16 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bachelorette at 11-03-2012 11:21 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 11-03-2012 08:43 AM
you are a bloody idiot lier , this is no boko haram , this is not nigeria but somalia , why lying to us?

Hahaha...you make me laff. assuming It's not Boko-haram, but could you please explain in one-word the cause they are fighting for?

Posted: at 11-03-2012 11:21 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 ... 14 15 16 [17] 18