Uk Government Translates Pidgin English…Omo We Don Dey Shine

Date: 19-03-2012 10:56 am (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4
- at 19-03-2012 10:56 AM (12 years ago)
'I wan go job but I no well': Pidgin English among 165 languages translated (at taxpayers expense) to help jobless claim dole
The Department for Work and Pensions has hired a translator who speaks Pidgin, a variant of English, despite only 2 per cent of Nigerians using the dialect.

It means a claimant who tells Jobcentre staff: ‘I wan go job but I no well’, would have his words translated to ‘I would like to  work but I am sick’.

Millions of pounds in taxpayer's money is being spent on paying interpreters to help foreign-speaking nationals claim benefits.
Staff at local Job Centre Plus would have also been able to access the translation service
The Department for Work and Pensions offers translators in 165 languages and used interpreters 271,695 times from October 2010 to September last year.
The most popular language is Polish, which was used more than 51,000 times.
The translation services are contracted out by the DWP
This is followed by more than 22,000 for Slovak and Czech while services for Urdu, Portuguese and Punjab were used far less.
Other languages needed for translation include Vietnamese, Italian, Amharic and the Ethiopian language of Tigrinya.
Translation was needed once each for French Canadian and Icelandic. However, the service for Basque, Catalan, Tongan and Pidgin was not needed.
One of the languages offered in England is Welsh however, this was used only three times.
All services are contracted out by the DWP. One of the companies regularly used, the Big Word Interpreting Service Limited, received £3.5million of public money in one year.
Sir Andrew Green, chairman of Migration Watch, told the Sunday Telegraph: 'This is the height of absurdity. It is essential that when migrants come to this country they learn to speak English.'
Jonathan Isaby of the Taxpayers' Alliance said that people needed to make more of an effort to speak English.
The DWP said the number of times translation services was used is small in comparison to the 15 million people who claim pensions and benefits.
'The cost of interpreting and translation is attributable to the economic downturn and subsequent increase in the number of customers using DWP services.'

Posted: at 19-03-2012 10:56 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Idbabe at 19-03-2012 11:01 AM (12 years ago)
Is this news?
Posted: at 19-03-2012 11:01 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 19-03-2012 11:03 AM (12 years ago)
More olds than news.

Posted: at 19-03-2012 11:03 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- ssstrawberry at 19-03-2012 11:10 AM (12 years ago)
Den try
Posted: at 19-03-2012 11:10 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bettygirls at 19-03-2012 11:38 AM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 19-03-2012 11:38 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ebonyz at 19-03-2012 11:49 AM (12 years ago)
I C
Posted: at 19-03-2012 11:49 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Loveday759 at 19-03-2012 11:56 AM (12 years ago)
Hissing..........Poster tell me, how dose it concern me
Posted: at 19-03-2012 11:56 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Shaunie at 19-03-2012 12:00 PM (12 years ago)
So it will be easy for them to deport more Nigerians.
Posted: at 19-03-2012 12:00 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- EMMYBOSS at 19-03-2012 12:09 PM (12 years ago)
I DON HEAR
Posted: at 19-03-2012 12:09 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- verah at 19-03-2012 12:19 PM (12 years ago)
laughin   Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin... chei see wetin joblessness don cause

Posted: at 19-03-2012 12:19 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajims at 19-03-2012 12:37 PM (12 years ago)
The news is tooooooooooo dry for my likin..
Posted: at 19-03-2012 12:37 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- moralemike07 at 19-03-2012 12:55 PM (12 years ago)
Hmm
Posted: at 19-03-2012 12:55 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Simon-Zeletus at 19-03-2012 12:55 PM (12 years ago)
Okayooooooo i we later speak
Posted: at 19-03-2012 12:55 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- luther4real at 19-03-2012 12:58 PM (12 years ago)
noted....what is all about, cos i cant make anything outa here Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 19-03-2012 12:58 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Lekan22 at 19-03-2012 01:21 PM (12 years ago)
alright.
Posted: at 19-03-2012 01:21 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deledan2 at 19-03-2012 01:34 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Idbabe on 19-03-2012 11:01 AM
Is this news?

No news 4 9ja?
Posted: at 19-03-2012 01:34 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- chiamanda360 at 19-03-2012 02:36 PM (12 years ago)
is not news
Posted: at 19-03-2012 02:36 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- malikdadon at 19-03-2012 02:57 PM (12 years ago)
Omo tell d guy say im pidgin no gallant...e no cook am well d pidgin neva don.... Make e enta area go update him pidgin.
Posted: at 19-03-2012 02:57 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- lanudja at 19-03-2012 03:03 PM (12 years ago)
And so what?
Posted: at 19-03-2012 03:03 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- nestoba at 19-03-2012 03:22 PM (12 years ago)
That is part of the organized  fraud against tax payers. Even when you demonstrate excellent English skills they will still hire an interpreter because it is one of the way they spend their budget and keep the services of the interpreters. In some cases they will hire Yoruba man or woman to interprets for an Igbo or Bini person when in fact the person can speak and understand standard English. So at the end of the day to officially find a common ground for the interpreter to get his job done and be paid Pigin will be used. 
Posted: at 19-03-2012 03:22 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4