20 greatest Nigerian actresses (PHOTOS)

Date: 07-04-2012 11:06 pm (12 years ago) | Author: AYOOLA ADEBAYO
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 7-04-2012 11:06 PM (12 years ago)
I have been thinking about how you can accuse Nollywood of everything, but you cannot accuse our industry of a lack of acting talent wide and deep. Some of them are unappreciated, some are overused, other underused, and most mis-used. But under these uninspiring conditions, they have managed to let their talent shine.

By the way, the below is a list of women of a certain age, who have acted in Nigerian movies and who are alive (so that leaves out the greats like Toun Oni and Taiwo Ajai-Lycett). I’m celebrating them!

CLICK HERE TO SEE THE FULL LIST, DESCRIPTIONS AND PICTURES OF NOLLYWOOD GREATEST ACTRESSES OF ALL TIME

Florence Onuma

She was Patience Ozokwor, before Patience Ozokwor became Patience Ozokwor. And was she good! The beauty of Onuma is how she could move so easily from the wicked mother-in-law to the banking executive screaming ‘Hit the Streets!’ She was always so good to watch, and always blended right into her character – whatever happened to her?

Eucharia Anunobi

Whether leading the charge of the moneyed women in August Meeting or she’s taking her turn as the nagging wife, Eucharia -now a pastor- always knows how to steal a scene. It will be a huge stretch to compare the star of Heartless and Total Disgrace to Meryl Streep, but she has that uncanny ability to be the centre of gravity, able tyo make a film watchable even when it is hopelessly bad.

CLICK HERE TO SEE THE FULL LIST, DESCRIPTIONS AND PICTURES OF NOLLYWOOD GREATEST ACTRESSES OF ALL TIME

Dolly Unachukwu

Who can forget Deadly Affair? It was with this movie that the plus-size actress finally won our hearts. I am not sure she was such a fine actress much as she was just an appealing figure. She was graceful, and she looked like she couldn’t ever hurt a fly. Even when she was the complete bad-ass female, she just compelled you to watch and to like her.

Patience Ozokwor

Mama G! This is one case where no one cares if she is stereotyped or typecast, or if we’ve seen her in those same clothes and saying those same lines over and over and over again, no one can have enough of the inimitable characters that live and breathe through Ozorkwor. Her strength surely comes from just how much phone she seems to be having in character. And have you heard her scream ‘Hian!’ before? You immediately feel sufficiently entertained.

Iretiola Doyle

She’s been in some dodgy movies with her dear husband, but all in all, Ms. Doyle – who takes a star turn as Sheila Ade-Williams in Mnet’s Tinsel series – has proven over time that she’ an actress to respect. Her sassiness always seems to shine through whatever the roll, and while her range hasn’t been wide; there is a depth that she consistently brings to her characters.

Liz Benson

Ah, the Grand Dame! What couldn’t Liz Benson act? The 16 year old, the goddess of perfection, the wicked stepmother, the chief executive, the adultress, the innocent wife, the witch, the angel … Nigeria’s film industry is yet to find any replacement for the woman who must have acted over 1000 movies in ten years. We loved her, loved her, loved her. I miss her, miss her, miss her. No one even comes close!

Clarion Chukwurah-Abiola

It’s a shame her mouth seems to always have the same expression, because save for that blip, Chukwurah-Abiola is one of the more imposing – and that is meant in the best of ways – of our aactresses. From Gold Diggers to Glamour Girls, when she gets angry, you are frightened; when she is happy you are joyful. She has an ability to infect you with her character – and surely that is a gift.

Posted: at 7-04-2012 11:06 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- priceless_grace at 7-04-2012 11:09 PM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 7-04-2012 11:09 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- kaycee22 at 7-04-2012 11:13 PM (12 years ago)
Ay2000+** na wetin koncyn me n actress. am out jooor.
Posted: at 7-04-2012 11:13 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 8-04-2012 09:30 AM (12 years ago)
Nice, they are great women

Posted: at 8-04-2012 09:30 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- southpool16 at 8-04-2012 09:49 AM (12 years ago)
nice
Posted: at 8-04-2012 09:49 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicanorose at 8-04-2012 10:16 AM (12 years ago)
Great women.

Posted: at 8-04-2012 10:16 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FRANKLYNJUDGE at 8-04-2012 10:22 AM (12 years ago)
Women  actress    painters,   i don't like   painting .
Posted: at 8-04-2012 10:22 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Shaunie at 8-04-2012 10:23 AM (12 years ago)
How did u come about ur rating,is this ur opinion.?
Posted: at 8-04-2012 10:23 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- oluwaseyi4 at 8-04-2012 10:24 AM (12 years ago)
i don here
Posted: at 8-04-2012 10:24 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- dedonmicky at 8-04-2012 10:42 AM (12 years ago)
For your own opinion
Posted: at 8-04-2012 10:42 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- lomec at 8-04-2012 11:03 AM (12 years ago)
THATS A VERY GOOD OBSERVATION BY THE POSTER.....THEY WERE GREAT ACTRESS....Nice one....
Posted: at 8-04-2012 11:03 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- BendelArmedRobb at 8-04-2012 11:08 AM (12 years ago)
sorry ooooooo no mind me--- today Easter Me dey go drink Dry gin   Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin       
Posted: at 8-04-2012 11:08 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onlyGodknows at 8-04-2012 11:35 AM (12 years ago)
Ok, lovely, I love their attires.
Posted: at 8-04-2012 11:35 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- gastro at 8-04-2012 12:50 PM (12 years ago)
POSTER WHAT ABOUT OMOTOLA AND GENEVIEVE?

Posted: at 8-04-2012 12:50 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- FinlandGuy at 8-04-2012 01:08 PM (12 years ago)
Na dis ones represents  role models Not people like tonto  and co
Posted: at 8-04-2012 01:08 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- orjiwolo at 8-04-2012 01:26 PM (12 years ago)
Poster you try
Posted: at 8-04-2012 01:26 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 8-04-2012 01:40 PM (12 years ago)
na so
Posted: at 8-04-2012 01:40 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- BendelArmedRobb at 8-04-2012 01:53 PM (12 years ago)
sorry ooooooo no mind me--- today Easter Me dey go drink Dry gin 
Posted: at 8-04-2012 01:53 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ssstrawberry at 8-04-2012 02:04 PM (12 years ago)
passing jor
Posted: at 8-04-2012 02:04 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bonitabay at 8-04-2012 03:42 PM (12 years ago)
I cannot disagree with youoo
Posted: at 8-04-2012 03:42 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 5