8 injured as students, masquerades clash in Anambra

Date: 13-04-2012 1:00 am (12 years ago) | Author: AYOOLA ADEBAYO
- at 13-04-2012 01:00 AM (12 years ago)
Tragedy struck  yesterday at Federal Polytechnic Oko in Orumba North local government of Anambra state as angry students took to the streets  to protest the man-handling its students by some youths of the town under the guise of Mmanwu (masquerade) festival.
 More than three students were confirmed to have been shot by the community youths in the clash.

The school authority who shut down the institution after evacuating the students who were trapped in the town ordered them to go  home on ‘forced Easter’ holiday,
 However the quick intervention of the state police command and the State Security Service (SSS)  averted what could have been a bloodbath, as the youths allegedly took up weapons against the students.

The Vice President, Student Union Government (SUG), Miss Williams Ibiene said: “It is a situation she have been trying to contain every year in this school. It has been that every year when this community observed a particular festival that masquerades come out, you find out that our students become their target. It’s either they are stabbing students or they are maiming them.

“Last year we had a case of them using machetes on some students which the former director of welfare fought and nothing was done. So the one that just broke the camel’s back was that last night they went to a particular HND lodge; went into the hostel, they were stabbing students and flogging the female students. So, we felt enough is enough. The community has to do something about it they have to put an end to it. This is a federal school. They should find a way to streamline their culture to accommodate the students here so that we can be at home in our own school.”

However the school Public Relations Officer, Mr. Obini Onuchukwu and the Deputy Rector, Dr. Don Muo who spoke on behalf of the rector  told newsmen that the institution was doing everything possible to ensure that the crisis did not escalate.

Onuchukwu said: “On Sunday at about 7pm we got a distress call from our security network that some of our students were being attacked by the Oko natives. We quickly got in touch with the community, the President General of OPU precisely Cyprian Nwamuo and then the traditional ruler, because it was on record that we have nurtured and enjoyed very cordial relationship with this community, so that came as a surprise and we quickly put a call across to these leaders of the community to find out immediate solution to the problem.

“We learnt that what actually instigated what you are seeing today was the very unfavourable and very unfriendly culture of the people’s masquerade such that you flog anybody you see on the street. That, we learnt, provoked the students who allegedly retaliated.

“Be that as it may we have not recorded any death as speculated, we are only aware of about seven of our students that sustained injuries as a result of the misunderstanding. They have been taken to hospital and all our doctors have been mobilized and they are handling them.

“As for security, no fewer than 50 policemen have been drafted to the area, the director of SSS, the commissioner of police, even the Government House has also been adequately briefed and the situation is under control.

“However, the institution felt it is necessary to declare few days break for the students to go home and freshen up ahead of their exams. So today we declared Easter break from today to April 10 when they will resume for their exam.
 “We have already commenced friendly negotiations with the community, as I talk with you, we are meeting with the youth leader, the president general is already on his way to the school where we will commence talk.”

For his part, the National President, Oko People’s Union (OPU), Cyprian Nwamuo said: “It is very unfortunate that this happened. There was tension on this matter and we have been trying to quell it for a very long time, but last night they said masquerades went into a compound and beat some people. So the students’ union government used the opportunity to call for congress. In that congress they incited students to go on the streets and this is the result.”
 “We have been working hard, you see what is happening here now, the police are picking our people. They have arrested about eight of us, I don’t know their whereabouts now.
 “You know these are youths. It may cause more problems if they are not released, I am appealing to them because they were trying to defend themselves. We are working very hard to make sure it doesn’t go beyond this.” He said.

Posted: at 13-04-2012 01:00 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- JalanJalan at 13-04-2012 01:20 AM (12 years ago)
This Mmanwu boys no go see government people attack nah helpless students dem go dey open eyes for everytime!!!!!!!! Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 13-04-2012 01:20 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- franel at 13-04-2012 03:47 AM (12 years ago)
Good 2 no abt d SSS intervention.

Posted: at 13-04-2012 03:47 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- valiente at 13-04-2012 04:06 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: JalanJalan on 13-04-2012 01:20 AM
This Mmanwu boys no go see government people attack nah helpless students dem go dey open eyes for everytime!!!!!!!! Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Grin Grin Grin Grin abi oo
Posted: at 13-04-2012 04:06 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- valiente at 13-04-2012 04:07 AM (12 years ago)
 Wink Wink is that pink one ADAMMA??
Posted: at 13-04-2012 04:07 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- JalanJalan at 14-04-2012 09:04 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: valiente on 13-04-2012 04:07 AM
Wink Wink is that pink one ADAMMA??

yes look like am, and the other one nah obun ngongwo
Posted: at 14-04-2012 09:04 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Honey101 at 14-04-2012 10:40 AM (12 years ago)
God wil fight our battle 4 us.d wickd shal neva go unpurnishd.oko youths please i beg u in Gods name 2 leave us std alne or d lords anger wil b upon u pepl.
Posted: at 14-04-2012 10:40 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- chicco77 at 3-07-2012 09:27 AM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 3-07-2012 09:27 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- richi192 at 16-07-2012 01:54 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Posted: at 16-07-2012 01:54 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aishatua1 at 2-08-2012 03:31 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 2-08-2012 03:31 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Solidstonez at 10-09-2012 05:27 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 10-09-2012 05:27 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 10-09-2012 05:27 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked

Posted: at 10-09-2012 05:27 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dlimelite at 10-09-2012 05:30 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 10-09-2012 05:30 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- odprince at 26-02-2013 11:12 AM (11 years ago)
youths are killed everyday because of lack of security in Nigeria.....no law in Nigeria and everybody is doing what he or she likes to do...but killing others is the worst,,,,we don't have leaders..only God is our leader in Nigeria.....my friends..please pray hard that God will intervene someday and wipe out those evil leaders
Posted: at 26-02-2013 11:12 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 26-02-2013 01:59 PM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 26-02-2013 01:59 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero