8. Ice Prince.jpg

8. Ice Prince

Description: Panshak Henri Zamani, better known by his stage name Ice Prince was born(October 30, 1986) in the city of Minna, Niger State-Nigeria. He is a Nigerian hip hop recording artist best known for winning the 2009 Hennessy Artistry as well as for his song "Oleku". He won the 2013 BET Awards for "Best International Act Africa". Ice Prince is currently signed to Chocolate City.

At age two, he moved with his family to the mining city of Jos, Plateau State, Nigeria. While residing in Jos, he attended St. Murumba College, the same school that produced P-Square, Mikel Obi, and the Governor of Bauchi State, Isa Yuguda among others. He also attended the Science Tutorial College in Jos.

In 1998, he began writing rap songs and started performing them at social events held at his school. It was not until 2001 that he began going to studios to record. In 2002, he got together with a couple of friends and formed a group called the "Ecomog Squad". They had few performances as a group and split a year later. He studied Zoology in University of Jos though he didn't finish because of some financial constraint at the time."

He lost his Dad in 1999 and it was his Mum that was taking care of him until she died too. He moved to Abuja and started living with MI and Jesse Jagz. Thereafter he moved to Lagos, and they got a chance to chill at Djinee’s house. Djinee gave them some space in his house to sleep. He said, "Djinee is like my Jesus." "He came through for us. We lived in his house and made it very uncomfortable for him but he took all the pain and accommodated us. This was in 2008. Gradually, there was steady growth. We got our own place, started making music. In 2008, I hosted Sprite Triple Slam. We did 30 shows, 15 in Lagos, 15 in the East. I got some small money off that to buy some new jeans and shoes so that girls would, you know, say hi to me when they see me."

In 2012, he began frequent collaborations with Grip Boiz City producer Chopstix, releasing "Aboki" in the summer of 2012.
On January 25, 2013, Ice Prince released "Aboki (Remix)", a song he describes as the "biggest African collision ever". The song features Sarkodie, Mercy Johnson, Wizkid, M.I, and Khuli Chana. On April 24, 2013, Ice Prince and Chocolate City released "Gimme Dat" and "V.I.P" simultaneously.

Comments

Return to Gallery

Do you have photos that you would like us to publish? Send it to [email protected]