"I'll kill myself if you don't dissolve our marriage" - Man tells Court

Date: 15-05-2012 4:59 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Akeem Jaffe Jaffa
- at 15-05-2012 04:59 PM (11 years ago)
    A 44-year-old civil servant, Mr Vitus Egemonu, on Tuesday pleaded with the Grade `A’ Customary Court, Agege, Lagos, to divorce his marriage of 16 years over his spouse alleged disobedience, lack of respect and threat to life.

The father of five children, aged between six years and 15 years, and who lives at No. 9, Olowo St., Papa Ashafa, Agege, Lagos, told the court that his voice had not been heard in his home in the past 10 years.

"For the past 10 years, my wife has been moving from one church to the other, claiming that it was God that sent her to be doing so.

"She carries the bible from morning till night and has not obeyed what it says about a wife being submissive to her husband.

"She has refused to cook at home for the past 15 months, meaning that I have not eaten at home since then, all in the name of church programmes, bible colleges and fellowships,’’ he said.

Egemonu also told the court that his wife, Victoria, had fought with almost all the tenants in their house, all in the name that God told her that they were all witches and wizards.

"I was a bachelor when I rented the house we are now. I have not fought with anyone in the house, until my wife came in.

"She always fights with our landlady and calls her a witch. My wife told the woman that she used her daughter’s foetus for money; now we have been given a quit notice to move out.

"She brainwashed my daughter such that the girl looked straight in my eyes and said the Lord told her that this year will be a year of joblessness for me,’’ he said.

Egemonu also told the court that his wife said God told her that she should not be celebrating Christmas or put on any red clothes.

"Since then, she doesn’t cook during Christmas. For the past 10 years, my wife has attended up to 20 churches all in the name of God said this, God said that.

"She told my friend that she will prefer to divorce me than to change her ways of life because, according to her, it is God that is at work in her life.

"She doesn’t want to work; she told me that God told her not to work and that if I try to set her up, the business will crumble,'' he said.

Egemonu is praying the court for a divorce, as well as the custody of their five children.

"I will commit suicide, if the court doesn’t divorce us,’’ he declared in court.

However, the respondent, 39-year-old Victoria, told the court that she still loved her husband and that she was not ready to divorce him.

"I am a prophet and a pastor called by God to work for him, so the problem with my husband and I started when I became born-again.

"Though we both attended the Catholic Church before I became a child of God, but God doesn’t want me there again.

"I just left the Redeemed Church and I don’t know the next church God will ask me to go to again; God told me not to celebrate Christmas and that I should not put on white clothes and I am obeying him.

"My husband doesn’t sleep at home, yet I have never fought him over that, but I know the reason for this trouble is because I am a prophet of God,'' she said.

The Court President, Mr Emmanuel Sokunle, told the woman to complement her pastoral work with some domestic work and to continue to pray to God to change her husband’s heart.

"Since both of you are still staying in the same house, I want you to maintain the peace and I want the husband to still provide for the family as before,'' Sokunle said.

He, then, adjourned the case till June 4, for continuation of hearing.

http://www.dailytrust.com.ng/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=162460%3Acivil-servant-threatens-suicide-if-marriage-is-not-dissolved&catid=1%3Anews&Itemid=2

Posted: at 15-05-2012 04:59 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kebella at 15-05-2012 05:01 PM (11 years ago)
oga bach weldone oo na sososo bad news yu dey carry this days.........sup Undecided miss yu Kiss Angry

Posted: at 15-05-2012 05:01 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mizcollins1 at 15-05-2012 06:21 PM (11 years ago)
very strange
Posted: at 15-05-2012 06:21 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 15-05-2012 08:41 PM (11 years ago)
Nawaho

Posted: at 15-05-2012 08:41 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- proly at 15-05-2012 08:46 PM (11 years ago)
wahala dey ooooooooooooooooooooooo
Posted: at 15-05-2012 08:46 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Beauti4 at 15-05-2012 08:59 PM (11 years ago)
Do we really need this for real?
Posted: at 15-05-2012 08:59 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Gbenga_bonetalk at 15-05-2012 09:52 PM (11 years ago)
The woman needs deliverance
Posted: at 15-05-2012 09:52 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Neglito at 15-05-2012 10:19 PM (11 years ago)
   dissolve                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         
Posted: at 15-05-2012 10:19 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mallorca at 15-05-2012 10:37 PM (11 years ago)
dissolve dis marriage b4 dis man go hang himsef

Posted: at 15-05-2012 10:37 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- JalanJalan at 15-05-2012 10:39 PM (11 years ago)
church to church ooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  na ashawo!!!!!!!! -tony one week.
Posted: at 15-05-2012 10:39 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Sophyrocks at 15-05-2012 11:01 PM (11 years ago)
No o. D wife is jst heartless. Its nt God dats directing her cos God has commanded wives 2 be submissive.so she must be d one dats a witch. She must be possessd wit a demon dats destroyin deir marriage. Dis isnt normal.dat divorce is necessary.

Posted: at 15-05-2012 11:01 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- interpo77 at 15-05-2012 11:06 PM (11 years ago)
bet me, b4 the adjourning  date that man would ve killed himself,really really the man is living in hail,
    what a disobedience and brainwashed woman, if u can not respect ur husband whois human it is not possibe for u to respect God,
 i advice for divorce b4 its too late
Posted: at 15-05-2012 11:06 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ifemylove at 16-05-2012 01:43 AM (11 years ago)
wahala dey o
Posted: at 16-05-2012 01:43 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nzeb at 16-05-2012 03:11 AM (11 years ago)
God Never  asked  u be going church  to church
Posted: at 16-05-2012 03:11 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- toibeli at 16-05-2012 03:25 AM (11 years ago)
The man does not need to kill himself, The best thing to do is move with his children.
Posted: at 16-05-2012 03:25 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- malvin2525 at 16-05-2012 03:33 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 16-05-2012 03:33 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sportyzander at 16-05-2012 04:40 AM (11 years ago)
disolve Grin
Posted: at 16-05-2012 04:40 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- smile77 at 16-05-2012 08:09 AM (11 years ago)
kill u self becos of woman odeeeee
Posted: at 16-05-2012 08:09 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- lanudja at 16-05-2012 09:12 AM (11 years ago)
The woman is possess... She needs deliverance
Posted: at 16-05-2012 09:12 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Bachelorette at 16-05-2012 09:16 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: kebella on 15-05-2012 05:01 PM
oga bach weldone oo na sososo bad news yu dey carry this days.........sup Undecided miss yu Kiss Angry

Hahahah...maybe Nametalkam don dey influence me wif bad news. Anyway sha, na wetin dey happen for ur Obodo-Naija. Miss ya too!
  Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss

Posted: at 16-05-2012 09:16 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Netizens Knock Tinubu’s Aide, Onanuga Over Comment On Yahaya Bello Arrest

2. Isaac Fayose Reacts To Trending Video Of A Crossdresser In A Police Station

3. VID: Tiktoker Nickie DaBarbie Accuses Singer, Skiibi Of Attempting To Use Her For Ritual

4. Is It Normal For A Man To Wash His Partner's Pant? - Actor Adeniyi Johnson Asks

5. Check Out These Nollywood Actors Who Ventured Into Music

6. "I’m Ready To Help Burna Boy If He Is Respectful" –Brymo Throws Shade

7. Controversial Singer, Portable Celebrates Wife, Bewaji On Her Birthday, Shares Lovely Photos

8. Nigeria Correctional Service Refutes Claims That Bobrisky Was Moved From Ikoyi Prison To Kiriki

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 25 Suspected Miscreants, Including Lebanese Squatting Under Bridges

10. I Wish They'll Bring Back Those Days When Men Will Go To War And Never Return - Woman Blows Hot

11. Tragedy As Kenyan Defence Chief, 9 Other Senior Officers Perish In Helicopter Crash

12. Grandmother Arrested For Locking Up Her Grandchildren In A House In Lagos

13. A Man Who Marries A Woman Who Twerks Online For A Living Is A Fool Says Solomon Buchi

1. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

2. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

3. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

4. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

5. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

6. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

7. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

8. "Why Zubby Michael Won’t Dare Mourn Junior Pope" - Actress Angela Okorie

9. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

10. Embarrassing Moment Lady Was Busted For Lying During Her Testimony in Church (Video)