WTF: A 26 Years Old Nigerian Sentenced To Death By Hanging For Stealing N1,705

Date: 21-06-2012 6:46 pm (11 years ago) | Author: psalmmy
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 21-06-2012 06:46 PM (11 years ago)
This is unbelievable but it has happened LIVE in our country, Nigeria. A Jos High Court on Thursday, 21 June 2012, sentenced a 26-year-old man, Obinah John, to death by hanging for stealing the sum of One Thousand, Seven Hundred and Five Naira ( N1,705) cash from one Dorothy Olaniyi.

We gathered that Obinah, now on death row, was also accused of of stealing two rolls of peak milk sachets, valued at N400 from the same Dorothy.

The prosecution counsel, Mr G.D. Fwonyon, who is the deputy director, Public Prosecution in Plateau State had told the court that Obinah, in company with an accomplice identified as John, now at large, robbed the Dorothy on November 18, 2005 in her shop at Gada Biu, Jos, at gunpoint.

The Public Prosecutor told the judge point-blank that since Obinah used a gun to rob Olaniyi, he had committed a criminal offence punishable with death by hanging.

We gathered that Obinah's counsel, Mr. Tobechukwu Kekemeke tried all he could to convince the judge otherwise, but his pleas fell on deaf ears. He was said to have accused the police of “not telling the truth about the gun” said to have been used by Obinah.

Mr. Kekemeke pointed out that the police presented three statements, with only the last indicating a confession by the accused that he used a gun against the victim. He further argued that the prosecution had failed to prove to the court that the accused actually used a gun to commit the act.

But in a 60-page judgment, Justice Yargata Nimpa said the evidence before her showed that the accused, Obinah, committed the offence and thus sentenced him to death by hanging.

Posted: at 21-06-2012 06:46 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- BendelArmedRobb at 21-06-2012 07:27 PM (11 years ago)
naija una too much!!! coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this. Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 21-06-2012 07:27 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 21-06-2012 07:43 PM (11 years ago)
this is serious oooo
Posted: at 21-06-2012 07:43 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bigdad95 at 21-06-2012 07:59 PM (11 years ago)
yes if he realy use a gun it is a criminal offense eccept its otherwise,an igbo man in boko rams and goats zone,what sentence did he expect.
Posted: at 21-06-2012 07:59 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- lopez2424 at 21-06-2012 08:01 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked  Judiciary! judiciary!! how many times did i call you? Are u blaming this  poor guy  for just stealing small amount of money? If you Want to hang someone for stealing N1,705 and two rolls of peak milk sachets Then Ibori,Lawan  Bola Tinubu, Joshua Dariye, Orji Kalu, Lucky Igbinedion, Babaginda, Abubakar Abdulsalam, OBJ? and co should be killed & butchered1!!! I want to believe there’s a mix up in This report, if not, I weep for Nigeria my country.
Posted: at 21-06-2012 08:01 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- inspirefiction at 21-06-2012 08:02 PM (11 years ago)
This is bull-sheet...... Okay those when da steal plenty money with pen and papper how una go do them? this is injustice....  there's something fishing here....
Posted: at 21-06-2012 08:02 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- oddiji at 21-06-2012 08:03 PM (11 years ago)
Serious!..... "'Death by hanging' for stealing N1,705"......Well, in as much as blaming the young man for stealing at all, i do not agree that the sentence is proportionate with the offence committed...... If you will sentence a young man to death by hanging for stealing N1,705, whether with the use of gun or not then what is going happen to people like Farouk Lawal, Otedola and the rest and their partners who have raped this country with reckless abandon?........... It appears to me that there are two categories of laws in this country, one for the common man and the other for the mighty!...................And just imagine the Judge delivering a judgement of 60 pages just for N1,705... but if s Senator or any political officer holder is charge to the same court for stealing N100,000,000 with clear evident the same Judge will tell us that the case 'lack merit'.......I personally have not seen any iota of sincerity in the Judiciary yet '''''''''''
Posted: at 21-06-2012 08:03 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- kebella at 21-06-2012 08:04 PM (11 years ago)
ofcourse bcos his an igbo man if it was 2b an ignoramus hausa it wudn't ve happen Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry

Posted: at 21-06-2012 08:04 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajanni at 21-06-2012 08:12 PM (11 years ago)
The judgement I think is too harsh , but all the same , I don, t support robbery oooooooo
Posted: at 21-06-2012 08:12 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- inspirefiction at 21-06-2012 08:14 PM (11 years ago)
Please i need to know if this is constitutional..... somebody please answer me.... wish i can scream so i can draw the attention of the whole world , just to plead on this boy case...... Judge don't forget you too have children...... Karma has its own way...... well Karma will befall your family for this innocent soul... why not give him jail terms? if hes truly remorseful. You Northers are trying to Stop Human Race with your useless law...... Potentials are dying every day. Our future leaders/ president are been wasted...... God!!!
Posted: at 21-06-2012 08:14 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- inspirefiction at 21-06-2012 08:15 PM (11 years ago)
No body is supporting Robbery...... You this this is justice?
Posted: at 21-06-2012 08:15 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- proly at 21-06-2012 08:57 PM (11 years ago)
dnt tink he used gun,,,,,i doubt
Posted: at 21-06-2012 08:57 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- BendelArmedRobb at 21-06-2012 08:58 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 21-06-2012 08:12 PM
The judgement I think is too harsh , but all the same , I don, t support robbery oooooooo
 Shocked Shocked Shocked see dis Thief Thief Armed Robbery stil dey talk oo  you too much!!! coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 21-06-2012 08:58 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BendelArmedRobb at 21-06-2012 08:59 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked see dis Thief Thief Armed Robbery stil dey talk oo  you too much!!! coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 21-06-2012 08:59 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BendelArmedRobb at 21-06-2012 09:27 PM (11 years ago)
Ajanni and Kebella dis place Naijapals na una BEDROOM  Grin Grin Grin Grin  una  too much!!!coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this. Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 21-06-2012 09:27 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Senegal at 21-06-2012 10:50 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 21-06-2012 10:50 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Shaunie at 21-06-2012 11:53 PM (11 years ago)
The laws are made for the poor people. WTF judicial system in Nigeria
Posted: at 21-06-2012 11:53 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- denmal at 22-06-2012 12:02 AM (11 years ago)
crazy
Posted: at 22-06-2012 12:02 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ecomax at 22-06-2012 12:15 AM (11 years ago)
Ajanni with his brother ur days are numbered.
Posted: at 22-06-2012 12:15 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- habiziz at 22-06-2012 12:34 AM (11 years ago)
stealing is stealing
Posted: at 22-06-2012 12:34 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7

1. Female Student Who Assaulted Namtira Bwala at Lead British School Apologises For Her Action

2. VIDEO: Carter Efe Calls Out Sydney Talker Over Singer, Khaid’s Health Status

3. Wives Of Osun State Gov Adeleke Battle For Position Of 1st Lady As Nigeria's 1st Lady Visits

4. Davido’s Manager, Asika Speaks On why Davido is Yet to Collaborate With Wizkid, Burna Boy

5. Rita Edochie Throws Shade As She Celebrates May Edochie On Her Double Achievement

6. Reno Omokri Reacts To Abuja Chinese Supermarket 'Racist', Demands Wike's Action

7. NAFDAC Uncover Illegal Activities Of Fake Cosmetics Producer In Lagos

8. I Am Not In EFCC Custody - APC Gov. Aspirant, Akinterinwa Denies Being Detained By EFCC

9. Police Deploy Officers to Investigate Bullying at Leads British International School

10. Singer, Simi Reveals How She Wrote & Sang Her Hit Song, ‘Joromi’ With Irritation

11. Niger: Gov Bago Dragged For Spraying Naira Notes At Citizens

12. BULLYING: Lead British School, Abuja Releases Public Statement

13. OAP Do2dtun Reacts To Viral Bullying Videos, Calls Out Secondary School Bullies

14. Owner Of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Denies Barring Nigerians

15. Police Seek Family Of Missing Child Found Wandering In Osogbo

16. Amotekun Arrests Man Who Cons Hospital Patients, Flees With Money Meant For Tests, Treatment

17. Abuja Court Fails To Hear EFCC Suit Against Order Restraining Yahaya Bello’s Arrest

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. Nigerian Man Introduces Innovative Solution For Money Spraying At Parties Amidst EFCC Crackdown

10. Owner of Cybercrime 'Yahoo Yahoo' Training School, Ikemesit Edet Jailed 10 Years in Uyo