Is it a sin not to pay tithe to the church in christian faith?

Date: 03-04-2009 7:29 pm (15 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 3-04-2009 07:29 PM (15 years ago)
Say you use the money to help someone in need - isnt it better than giving it to the church?

Posted: at 3-04-2009 07:29 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Helives4ever at 6-04-2009 02:30 AM (15 years ago)
According to Malachi 3:8-10, you are robbing God by not bringing your tithe and offering before Him. Now, is stealing a sin? I bet you know the answer to that..
Posted: at 6-04-2009 02:30 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- emeruma at 6-04-2009 07:29 AM (15 years ago)
     Let's put it this way, our main obligation to our country is to Pay Taxes as well as to the Church of God. Without cooperations from the people it won't functions.
     How can a country render helps as well as church without funds to used? Remember what God said when HE created man? Manage to care not only yourself & family but all other creatures. Remember Jesus Christ too when still on earth? He always visit the house of HIS Father & where is it? In the house of God which is that, in the CHURCH. Now, can we build bridges, streets, churches & other needs without funds?
     God loves HIS creatures with or without money. So it is not a sin if you can't donate in church with money if you do not have, but you can still serve HIM in good ways in HIS house. People with money donates because they are working and can't served.
     So people shows LOVE to God in whole heartedly serving thru there MANPOWERS while others gave MONEY & BEST NEEDS can buy to glorify GOD.

Posted: at 6-04-2009 07:29 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- rbest at 6-04-2009 10:33 AM (15 years ago)
So bible said in Malachi that if u dnt pay tithe, then u are rubbing God. but u shld also know that paying tithe alone will not lead u to heaven.
Posted: at 6-04-2009 10:33 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mikayah at 6-04-2009 10:34 AM (15 years ago)
The first thing about anything is a knowlegde of what that thing is:

But I do more than thank. I ask—ask the Mighty One of our Master, Yahoshua Messiah, the Mighty One of esteem—to make you intelligent and discerning in knowing him personally, your eyes focused and clear, so that you can see exactly what it is he is calling you to do, grasp the immensity of this honorable way of life he has for his followers, oh, the utter extravagance of his work in us who trust him—endless energy, boundless strength! Ephesians 1: 16-18.
 And again:

"My people are destroyed from lack of knowledge. "Because you have rejected knowledge, I also reject you as my priests; because you have ignored the torah/law of your Mighty One, I also will ignore your children." Hosea 4:6a.

What do the above passages tell us?

Firstly is there anywhere in the Scriptures that it is commanded to give tithes in the form of money if we are to follow Scriptures instructions?

"Your word is a lamp to my feet
       and a light for my path."
Tehillim/Psalm 119: 105.

Now to the nature of tithes:

RULE NUMBER 1.

22) Be sure to set aside a tenth of all that your fields produce each year.  

RULE NUMBER 2.

23) Eat the tithe of your grain, new wine and oil, and the firstborn of your herds and flocks in the presence of Yahweh your Mighty One at the place he will choose as a dwelling for his Name, so that you may learn to revere Yahweh your Mighty One always.

RULE NUMBER 3a.

24) But if that place is too distant and you have been blessed by Yahweh your Mighty One and cannot carry your tithe (because the place where Yahweh will choose to put his Name is so far away),

25) then exchange your tithe for silver (money), and take the silver (money) with you and go to the place Yahweh your Mighty One will choose.

RULE NUMBER 3b
26) Use the silver (Money) to buy whatever you like: cattle, sheep, wine or other fermented drink, or anything you wish. Then you and your household shall eat there in the presence of Yahweh your Mighty One and rejoice.

27) And do not neglect the Levites living in your towns, for they have no allotment or inheritance of their own.

RULE NUMBER 4 (This will be another topic but notice it follows the annual pattern x3).

28) At the end of every three years, bring all the tithes of that year's produce and store it in your towns, 29 so that the Levites (who have no allotment or inheritance of their own) and the aliens, the fatherless and the widows who live in your towns may come and eat and be satisfied, and so that the LORD your God may bless you in all the work of your hands.

Debarim/Deuteronomy 14: 22.

So Show Me.

So show me where it states money should be given as tithes or tithes should be collected every day, week, month.

My brothers and sisters first learn about the thing then you can talk reasonably about it as to help others come to the knowledge of the truth.
Posted: at 6-04-2009 10:34 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- rbest at 6-04-2009 10:50 AM (15 years ago)
hmmmm
Posted: at 6-04-2009 10:50 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruggeddentity at 6-04-2009 11:01 AM (15 years ago)
Is not neccesary. there is no such thing as SIN
Posted: at 6-04-2009 11:01 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- welli at 6-04-2009 02:34 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: ruggeddentity on  6-04-2009 11:01 AM
My Dear...There's something as sin else...Jesus wouldn't have died to cleanse us.
Tithe is VERY Necessary....Alotta pple have answered Very correctly so I need not add more.

Posted: at 6-04-2009 02:34 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mr-InspireFIRE at 6-04-2009 04:23 PM (15 years ago)
Well, thats quite a good one.Its sin and not sin.Most at times we think God is broke...He is not.  He wants us to enjoy the principle of 'sowing and reaping'.

Sometimes we warn kids not to do somethings, and even beat them.But its for their good .The same applies to tithing;its a necessity-you reap the reward.It used to be a sinful thing, but now it is more of self-punishment than sin if u dont pay.God has enough, he wants us to make things go round with a good heart of love-you know.Money makes the world go round.For in due season you shall reap a bounteous harvest .Yet money is not everything,though it is something.You can pay in different ways.But its all about you,us and not God
Tithe paying is worth what it is meant for.Its for our own good.
Posted: at 6-04-2009 04:23 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- rmd14all at 6-04-2009 10:52 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: ruggeddentity on  6-04-2009 11:01 AM
God have mercy on u
Posted: at 6-04-2009 10:52 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- rmd14all at 6-04-2009 10:53 PM (15 years ago)
YES. PERIOD
Posted: at 6-04-2009 10:53 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- rmd14all at 6-04-2009 10:56 PM (15 years ago)
God have mercy on ruggeddentity i mean
Posted: at 6-04-2009 10:56 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Edwizzie at 7-04-2009 04:24 AM (15 years ago)
@Mikayah. Your words made sense but i'm sure you are not a normal christian or are you? I noticed how you avoid using the word God or Jesus instead you use Yahweh and master Yehoshua respectively which means the same thing but you people totally disagree and say the word God is devilish. I have an uncle who converted to that kind of believe and his name was changed from Emmanuel to Emmaneyah just like your own name sound. I'm not judging you though but i just pray for almighty God to forgive us all. 
Posted: at 7-04-2009 04:24 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Beauti4 at 7-04-2009 05:23 AM (15 years ago)
when u r into God i think ur spirit will convince u to pay your tithe....if u dnt pay ya tithe then u r a disobidient child to God. Uncle Ben is still payin his tithe...he was overwhelmed by God's instruction or shares...God only says we should only give 1/10 (ONE TENTH) of our income this is wat motivate him to do even double tenth of his incomes. God only takes one out 10, that shows how much he cares about our needs. wat is so so so hard about this?
Posted: at 7-04-2009 05:23 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- nelodestiny at 7-04-2009 04:02 PM (15 years ago)
is good to pay ur tithe always.bible says givers never lack.is not that youn are giving it to church,but God.when you give,God will bless youtry to pay your tithe,God will multiply it 10 folds
Posted: at 7-04-2009 04:02 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- moyinoluwa at 7-04-2009 08:22 PM (15 years ago)
yes it is a sin bcos the bible says dt we shd bring our tithes and offering to him dt He will rebuke d devourer for our sake ie He will not allow any sickness to be fall us, we will not lack good things etc, it is better to obey than to disobey, since obedient is better than sacrifices. thanks
Posted: at 7-04-2009 08:22 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- oyeone at 8-04-2009 02:29 PM (15 years ago)
It is a sin infact if another thing can be use to qualify sin it would have been better just as some people had said refering to Malachi, "you are rubing God" he says we should do this and see if he won't open the windows of heaven for us. He ask us to this and their is a promise that follows it. It is very important to pay tithe cos by doing this he will bless us the more
Posted: at 8-04-2009 02:29 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Dedoyin-64 at 9-04-2009 05:54 PM (15 years ago)
Mr. Mikayah or what is that ur title again,
Hope you know the consequences of twisting the Ever potent word of the almighty,
the tithe is indeed scriptural and commanded by God, its man's duty to pay, either in cash or in ur substance.
The tithe is even a means for God to remember us and bless us according to His word, if you miss this part, well, i think you should re-study ur bible again
Posted: at 9-04-2009 05:54 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- diplomatik at 9-04-2009 05:54 PM (15 years ago)

Posted: at 9-04-2009 05:54 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- yusufamoke at 9-04-2009 07:16 PM (15 years ago)
AM EXTREMELY GLAD WITH WHAT I HAVE READ SO FAR, THEREFORE FRIEND, IT IS A SIN FOR SOMEONE NOT TO PAY TITHE.TRY AND BE PAYING YOUR TITHE.
Posted: at 9-04-2009 07:16 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 5

1. "Simi And Adekunle Gold Make Me Regret Being Single" – Tiwa Savage Opens Up

2. BREAKING: Kaduna Assembly Probes El-Rufai’s Loans, Directs Committee To Summon Ex-Gov

3. BBN Star, Tuoyo Replies Moet Abebe, Reveals How Much He Spent At A Club

4. Panic As Gunmen Invade Ekiti LG Secretariat

5. Police Foils Cable Theft, Arrest One Suspect In Katsina

6. “Person Wey Get You, Get Somebody” – May Edochie Praises Rita Edochie On Her Birthday

7. Bayern Munich v Arsenal: UEFA Champions League Q/Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers & Stats

1. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

2. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

6. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

7. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

8. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

9. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks

10. Edo Police Commissioner Orders Trial Of Officer Threatening Civilians With AK-47 In Viral Video