Embassy of Greece denies 20 Nigerian philosophers visas

Date: 25-06-2013 5:42 am (10 years ago) | Author: Direct
- at 25-06-2013 05:42 AM (10 years ago)
Greek Embassy in Abuja has denied visas to 20 Nigerian philosophers heading for the World Congress of Philosophers in Athens without refund of their fees.

President, Nigerian Philosophical Association, NPA, Professor Joseph Agbakoba, disclosed this to Vanguard in an interview  in Nsukka yesterday.

He said for over a month, the Greek Embassy had ceased processing of visa applications of members of the association intending to attend the 23rd World Congress of Philosophers scheduled to hold in Athens, Greece, in August.

Prof. Agbakoba, who is also the dean, School of General Studies, University of Nigeria, Nsukka, noted that the 20 members had registered and paid to attend the congress as well as made hotel reservations, adding that those affected had not been able to buy their tickets because of non-issuance of visas.

He explained that several contacts with the Greek Embassy yielded no results, as embassy officials blamed the delay in visa issuance on relocation of the embassy to Abuja from Lagos.

According to him, the fear of applicants was compounded by rising cost of air fare which increases almost on weekly basis.

Prof. Agbakoba said  air fare to Greece, which was N180,000 a few months ago, had now risen to N300,000, fearing that it could rise further before the commencement of the congress.

He said his group had written the embassy informing it of its members' inability to buy their tickets without visas, adding that no less than 250,00 Euro had been paid for members' participation in the congress.

"Nigeria Philosophical Association has been attending other world congresses in different countries across the globe, why the quandary in this present one in Athens which has compelled me the to talk, considering the enormity of embarrassment and time it has cost the entire association for over three months they registered for the 23rd world congress in Athens?" he queried.

Posted: at 25-06-2013 05:42 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 25-06-2013 07:46 AM (10 years ago)
Can u imagine!!! Abeg give them d visas, I don't blame u people. Its d govt fault if not wetin go make u greek wey econo my dey bad dey do sakara.
Posted: at 25-06-2013 07:46 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vectorcy at 17-06-2016 09:55 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: EDWIN GRACE on 25-06-2013 07:46 AM
Can u imagine!!! Abeg give them d visas, I don't blame u people. Its d govt fault if not wetin go make u greek wey econo my dey bad dey do sakara.
hmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Posted: at 17-06-2016 09:55 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- scottchris at 17-06-2016 12:03 PM (7 years ago)
My dear Greeks.... Dont worry,  they are only scholars,  no criminal records at all... Soo,  pls give them the visas ok?

Posted: at 17-06-2016 12:03 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 17-06-2016 02:07 PM (7 years ago)
So naija get philosophers and they are of wat use to the economy, just asking..?
Posted: at 17-06-2016 02:07 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 17-06-2016 02:10 PM (7 years ago)
Make una see as Greece dey flex as bad as our economy be we still fit bailout Greece.
There economy worse pass our own a billion times..
If not for eu one man for naija go don buy the whole of Greece...
Posted: at 17-06-2016 02:10 PM (7 years ago) | Hero

1. Supporters Of Embattled Ex Gov. Yahaya Bello Perform Rituals To Prevent His Arrest From EFCC

2. Actress, Peggy Ovire Reacts After Troll Said She Forced Husband Freddie Leonard To Marry Her

3. VIDEO: "You Are Driving A Ferrari Without A Hit Song" - Portable Blasts Zinoleesky

4. Under The Law, Once A Father Acknowledges A Child, No Third Party Can Contest It -Lawyer Slams

5. Punish My Abusers Within 48 Hours Or...- Student Bullied By Classmates Threatens Lead School

6. Bullying: "Teach Children Love, Kindness And Empathy" – Queen Atang Urges Parents

7. Police Parade 21 Criminal Suspects In Edo

8. Tunde Onakoya Gets Royal Welcome As He Lands in Nigeria After Breaking Record in Chess Marathon

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office