Why Obama won’t visit Nigeria – US

Date: 26-06-2013 7:03 am (10 years ago) | Author: Direct
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 26-06-2013 07:03 AM (10 years ago)
The United States on Tuesday hinted on the reasons why President Barack Obama won’t visit Nigeria during his upcoming three-nation trip to Africa.

According to US officials, the ongoing insecurity appeared to be responsible for the exclusion of Nigeria  in Obama’s second visit to the continent.

Obama is scheduled to visit Senegal, Tanzania and South Africa.

The US government said the trip would focus on trade and investment, democratic institution-building, young people, and enhancing  economic growth.

American Deputy National Security Advisor, Ben Rhodes, made this clarifications at a briefing on Tuesday.

The briefing was addressed jointly with the Senior Director for African Affairs Grant Harris and Senior Director for Development and Democracy Gayle Smith, on Obama’s upcoming visit.

The text of the briefing was made available to journalists in Abuja by the Information Office of the Public Affairs Section of the US Embassy.

Rhodes said, “With respect to Nigeria, we certainly believe that Nigeria is a fundamentally important country to the future of Africa. We’ve put a lot of investment in the relationship with Nigeria through their leadership of ECOWAS, through the significant US business investment in Nigeria and through our security cooperation.

“Obviously, Nigeria is working through some very challenging security issues right now. And in that process, they’re going to be a partner of the United States. We certainly believe we’ll have an opportunity to further engage the Nigerian government through bilateral meetings going forward. But at this point, we just were not able to make it to Nigeria on this particular itinerary.

“I will say that we purposefully designed the  itineraries to be able to reach West Africa, South Africa and East Africa, and in West Africa, to visit Senegal, a French-speaking, Muslim-majority democracy that is an important partner of the United States and also provides a platform for the President to speak to the broader region.

“We are also looking at ways, at the President’s town hall in South Africa with young African leaders, to draw in through technology young people in Nigeria and in Kenya, among other places, so that the President is using this trip to speak to the broader African audience. We recognize we’d like to go to as many countries as possible.’’

Posted: at 26-06-2013 07:03 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- merion at 26-06-2013 07:19 AM (10 years ago)
nah and?
Posted: at 26-06-2013 07:19 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- baebeeey at 26-06-2013 07:36 AM (10 years ago)
Tell mr obama dat we don't even need him here in nigeria,but I'm heavenly disappointed wit our leaders who spent our hard earn money on his first campaign/election,gaut
Posted: at 26-06-2013 07:36 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- akinjoe1010 at 26-06-2013 08:13 AM (10 years ago)
Do we need him that should be the question to ask and the answer is no
Posted: at 26-06-2013 08:13 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Dafey at 26-06-2013 09:30 AM (10 years ago)
If Wizkid can damage a #50Million Porche Panamera car in less than 2 months

If D'Banj can wear a #3Million suit just for a show

If Davido can refer to a #10Million endorsement deal as chicken change

If P-Square can buy just a property for #400 Million

If Don Jazzy can pop a $1.5Million champagne

And the many others...

Why can't they put heads together and donate just $100,000 (#15Million) in just 24 hours?

Its obvious there's beef in the industry.

If all these big artistes don't save OJB JEZREEL with their money, God punish anyone who goes to studio to produce "Tribute to OJB'.!!!  Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 26-06-2013 09:30 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- akinmanchy at 26-06-2013 09:39 AM (10 years ago)
I'm not sure his visit will change anything,so?

Posted: at 26-06-2013 09:39 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- EmekaBlue at 26-06-2013 09:53 AM (10 years ago)
Last time he  came to Ghana he said he can never go to Nigeria! Since then i disliked that man! Clinton,bush e.et.c came here and even flexed on the streets with children its now dis Kenya bargar...Abeg no come o and never come..
Posted: at 26-06-2013 09:53 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 26-06-2013 10:06 AM (10 years ago)
Will his coming put money on my bank account?  Undecided
Posted: at 26-06-2013 10:06 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- BlueIxora at 26-06-2013 10:24 AM (10 years ago)
Obama na Jesus? Abegii! They sound as if his coming to Africa is going to change anything. Roll Eyes
Posted: at 26-06-2013 10:24 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- marybenson at 26-06-2013 10:27 AM (10 years ago)
T hell with him.if nt for our useless leaders dat allows other countries t look down on us dis wouldnt b happening.sme of d resources americans re enjoying tday were gotten frm nigeria.may God punish all our selfish,greedy nd corrupt leaders.
Posted: at 26-06-2013 10:27 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- tippa at 26-06-2013 10:54 AM (10 years ago)
it's because nigerians are against same sex approval, we do not need him anyway.
Posted: at 26-06-2013 10:54 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- lizzychika at 26-06-2013 11:00 AM (10 years ago)
Good! this will save entertinment cost that would have been millons of naria. But in truth I  don dey shame for Naija o! Obama is trying to tell our leaders and not Nigerians that they are not performing their duties. instead of cursing the man Why dont we put the blame on our leaders and our brothers "THE BOKOS".
Posted: at 26-06-2013 11:00 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- lizzychika at 26-06-2013 11:01 AM (10 years ago)
Good! this will save entertinment cost that would have been millons of naria. But in truth I  don dey shame for Naija o! Obama is trying to tell our leaders and not Nigerians that they are not performing their duties. instead of cursing the man Why dont we put the blame on our leaders and our brothers "THE BOKOS".
Posted: at 26-06-2013 11:01 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- lizzychika at 26-06-2013 11:02 AM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 26-06-2013 11:02 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- henryco at 26-06-2013 11:04 AM (10 years ago)
THERE  IS  NOTHING  TO  CRY  ABOUT,,  OBAMA  HAS  REASON  FOR  NOT  COMING  TO  NIGERIA  ONE  SCRURITY  IS  BAD  TWO  CORRUPTION  IS  STILL  VERY  HIGH,  OTHER  THING  IS  THAT  OBAMA  IS  NOT  EVEN  GOING  TO  VISIT  KANYAN..,,
Posted: at 26-06-2013 11:04 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- lizzychika at 26-06-2013 11:04 AM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 26-06-2013 11:04 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- lizzychika at 26-06-2013 11:04 AM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 26-06-2013 11:04 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- micc at 26-06-2013 11:33 AM (10 years ago)
I hear
Posted: at 26-06-2013 11:33 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- lakman at 26-06-2013 11:44 AM (10 years ago)
to hell with him
Posted: at 26-06-2013 11:44 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- mathzno at 26-06-2013 11:51 AM (10 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked We don't need the Kenya man here ok!!!!! Tell him to go chase bushmeat with long spare for rift valley.
Posted: at 26-06-2013 11:51 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7