Dreams Of Freedom Turned To Nightmare: Revealed By Nigerian Prostitutes In Italy

Date: 01-10-2014 2:35 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 1-10-2014 02:35 PM (9 years ago)

Police control find a Nigerian woman working as a prostitute in the outskirt of Turin.The plight of trafficked Nigerian women forced to work in the sex trade has been highlighted by Paris-based photographer Elena Perlino, originally from Italy. These Nigerian women are being trafficked to Italy under the pretence that they will be working as nannies or in factories – but often end up working the streets as prostitutes.
She began to notice the presence of young African women working on the streets during her commutes from Turin. She said:

‘I decided to start from this surreal vision to tell a story. I have been working on the topic for several years, focusing mainly on the Italian connection.’

A Nigerian called Faith having a blood test at the Amedeo di Savoia Hospital in Turin

Perlino reveals that many Nigerian women come to Italy hoping to make enough money from honest work as nannies or factory workers to support their families back home, but are tricked by traffickers into working in the sex trade. Arrests, violence and abuse often follow.

This photograph shows a Nigerian woman waiting for a client in the summer season

Traffickers demand on average more than 50,000 euros (US $60,000) for travel expenses and accommodation, with the women having to work as prostitutes until their debts are paid off. Eighty per cent of women trafficked to Italy come from Benin City, Edo State, in south Nigeria.

Nigerian women working as prostitutes in the North area of Turin

The photographer explained: ‘My work attempts to show a complex phenomenon that crosses Italy from North to South. ‘This involves many cities including Turin, Milan, Genoa, Rome, Naples and Palermo and thousands of Nigerian and Italian people.’
The United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime declared Nigeria among the top eight countries with the highest human trafficking rates in the world.

Posted: at 1-10-2014 02:35 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Abubu86 at 1-10-2014 03:05 PM (9 years ago)
Dats too bad
Posted: at 1-10-2014 03:05 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 1-10-2014 03:14 PM (9 years ago)
Hmmmmmm na wa o
Posted: at 1-10-2014 03:14 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- melody941 at 1-10-2014 03:20 PM (9 years ago)
Any which way na way Roll Eyes Roll Eyes my frnds dat went 3 yrs ago have numerous houses here at ajah, I dey even regret y I no go Wink Wink
Posted: at 1-10-2014 03:20 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- odprince at 1-10-2014 03:36 PM (9 years ago)
our youths want to buy jeep and houses,that is the risk,,,visit prisons and see our boys in prison,Asian are many,Malaysia have the biggest number number and China....wish our young boys and girls will understand that life is not a harsh thing and stop being greed for money.....
Posted: at 1-10-2014 03:36 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 1-10-2014 04:05 PM (9 years ago)
But hopea23 dey italy dey pursue her career successfully.
Posted: at 1-10-2014 04:05 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- oloche1984 at 1-10-2014 04:16 PM (9 years ago)
Almost all of them knew what they were going there to do before leaving the shores of this country, the problem with our today world is no one want to know how you make money but you are celebrated and worshiped like god when you have the money so every one want to make it quick. The society must change their perception towards money for there to be positive changes .
Posted: at 1-10-2014 04:16 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- paulohking at 1-10-2014 04:22 PM (9 years ago)
darn!!!
Posted: at 1-10-2014 04:22 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- steveoneal at 1-10-2014 04:23 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: melody941 on  1-10-2014 03:20 PM
Any which way na way Roll Eyes Roll Eyes my frnds dat went 3 yrs ago have numerous houses here at ajah, I dey even regret y I no go Wink Wink
embassy never close now, so it is never too late, better still you can come through the desert, hopefully you will arrive italy safely , make dog come dey phyuk you, so that you self go get house for ajah,,, noooonsense!!!!
Posted: at 1-10-2014 04:23 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Chericoco at 1-10-2014 04:44 PM (9 years ago)
People know about all this but still travel to Europe for so call baby sitting jobs.  It's their choice.  If they don't like what they are doing they will turn in their self to the authorities and being send back home without them paying a dime. Prostitution runs in their blood already. If they had freedom and had all the money by them selves no one will hear this story.
Posted: at 1-10-2014 04:44 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Chericoco at 1-10-2014 04:51 PM (9 years ago)
Will that friend of yours live to enjoy her houses?  If AIDS will not kill her. You're regretting why you didn't go to italy to go get phyuked on the ass and being fu*ck by a dog. Shame on you.
Posted: at 1-10-2014 04:51 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- christianity at 1-10-2014 05:20 PM (9 years ago)
one state dat represents a whole con3.
WASTED GENERATTIIOONNN.
Posted: at 1-10-2014 05:20 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- whizspecoy at 1-10-2014 05:31 PM (9 years ago)
Who No go! No know

"Come and see America (Europe) wonder"
Posted: at 1-10-2014 05:31 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgrawl231 at 1-10-2014 05:47 PM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 1-10-2014 05:47 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- DRraze at 1-10-2014 05:51 PM (9 years ago)
It's all about the papers. We hustle for the cheddars. F the f*cking government #TeamHustler.
Posted: at 1-10-2014 05:51 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 1-10-2014 06:46 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 1-10-2014 06:46 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dynasty4all at 1-10-2014 06:51 PM (9 years ago)
bini! bini!! bini!! how many times i did i called u? 3 times sir, good
i am ashame of u
Posted: at 1-10-2014 06:51 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- candela at 1-10-2014 08:05 PM (9 years ago)
Which of your friends wey go get numerous houses for ajah you complete fool. No be them be the gutter girls we dey see here wey dey make us shame.
Posted: at 1-10-2014 08:05 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- daveobahon at 1-10-2014 08:09 PM (9 years ago)
Dynasty4all e nva late 2 go bck schl make u go learn proper english
Posted: at 1-10-2014 08:09 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 1-10-2014 08:44 PM (9 years ago)
Nah Our Govt dey cause kasala 4 us.
Posted: at 1-10-2014 08:44 PM (9 years ago) | Hero