London Court Orders Nigerian Govt to Pay N99billion Compensation to Delta Community

Date: 21-01-2016 10:20 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 21-01-2016 10:20 PM (8 years ago)
A London Court has registered a judgement delivered by a Nigerian court against the military following the bombardment of the Gbaramatu communities in Delta State by the Joint Military Task Force operating in the state in May 2009.

Justice Timothy Holroyde of the Queen’s Bench Division of the Royal High Court of Justice England and Wales, on January 18, acceded to the request of the communities to register the judgement which ordered the federal government to pay them N99 billion damages over the attack.

He however rejected the request by the communities to register the judgement against the president of Nigeria and the attorney general of the federation and minister of justice, who were the first and second defendants in the suit.

In their request, the communities had also sought to obtain a worldwide freezing injunction against the assets of the federal government.

The Federal High Court, Asaba, Delta State, had ordered the federal government to pay the communities N99.9 billion damages for gross violation of their rights by the force then coordinated by Sarkin Yakin Bello, a retired major general.

Counsel to the communities, Selekeowei Larry, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, filed the case.

However, two years after the judgement was delivered, the federal government neither complied nor appealed against it, forcing the communities to request the London Court to register it.

Before applying to the Queen Bench Division High Court of Justice‎ in London, to register the judgment, the communities wrote twice to the then Attorney General of the Federation, Mohammed Adoke, asking the government to comply with the judgment.

On May 5, 2009 the task force invaded Gbaramatu communities in Warri South West Local Government of Delta State killing and maiming residents and also destroying properties worth billions of naira.

They however filed a suit at the Federal High Court in Asaba on June 22, 2009 against the president, the attorney general of the federation and Mr. Bello.

In the suit, the communities also asked the court to declare the bombardment unconstitutional and a gross violation of their rights.

Delivering the judgement, Justice Ibrahim Buba said the bombardment of the communities by the military resulting in the demolition/destruction of houses, household furniture/wares, boats, canoes, domestic animals and displacement of members of the communities “is in violation of section 217 (2)(c) of the 1999 constitution and is therefore unconstitutional.”

Mr. Buba added, “That the sum of N49 billion is awarded in favour of the plaintiffs as special damages against the defendants jointly severally.

“That the sum of N50 billion is also awarded as aggravated and punitive damages against the defendants jointly and severally for the unlawful bombardment and sacking of the plaintiffs’ communities which resulted in wanton destruction of their houses, household furniture and other wares, their domestic animals, canoes, boats, sacred places, artifacts etc and which resulted in total displacement of members of the communities for minimum of three months from 15th May 2009, the effect of which was that members of the communities were living in the swampy mangrove forests in subhuman conditions while others were in a concentration camp and suffered loss of income, disease, and mental torture and the education of their children of school age was disrupted.”

Posted: at 21-01-2016 10:20 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 21-01-2016 10:49 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 21-01-2016 10:49 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- DAMILARE100 at 21-01-2016 10:53 PM (8 years ago)
Weting concern them with our matter?
Posted: at 21-01-2016 10:53 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ennyolalekan at 21-01-2016 11:03 PM (8 years ago)
on wat account
Posted: at 21-01-2016 11:03 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 21-01-2016 11:12 PM (8 years ago)
We dont value human right and dignity, which is fundamental and everyone in this country is entited to it.  Our military use the same old barbaric methods, they have not improved in anyway.
Posted: at 21-01-2016 11:12 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bebmigared at 22-01-2016 08:08 AM (8 years ago)
You for come carry the money give Delta. Mu-mu Judge
Posted: at 22-01-2016 08:08 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- zezprincess at 22-01-2016 08:13 AM (8 years ago)
Nwoke onye ocha judge,thou your judgement is good but nigeria no dey obey law&order,so no no if I got fit workooo.
Posted: at 22-01-2016 08:13 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 22-01-2016 11:07 AM (8 years ago)
as if naija FG go care for london rubbish
Posted: at 22-01-2016 11:07 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- AmazingMarie at 22-01-2016 11:10 AM (8 years ago)
OK FGN comply!
Posted: at 22-01-2016 11:10 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 22-01-2016 11:36 AM (8 years ago)
Na so make they pay those pathetic money after all that is were the money is coming out from.
Posted: at 22-01-2016 11:36 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- chylind5 at 22-01-2016 02:10 PM (8 years ago)
Buhari no dey obey court orders, so make una no worry Una selves.
Posted: at 22-01-2016 02:10 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- giftmurphy at 22-01-2016 05:25 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 22-01-2016 05:25 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 22-01-2016 05:59 PM (8 years ago)
Omo see hammer bt Naija government no go even try reason them.
Posted: at 22-01-2016 05:59 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- nametalkam at 22-01-2016 06:01 PM (8 years ago)
Oyinbo people wicked oh! How can you be in far away London and be ordering people in Nigeria to pay another person N99BN (LMAO!), based on whose authority? who gives them the effrontery, the impetus, the temerity, the guts to place such an order!

Well, Egbon london and Niger/Delta community, if you want the money, come and collect it!

Posted: at 22-01-2016 06:01 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- diezo at 22-01-2016 08:14 PM (8 years ago)
يراقب الله !!!
Posted: at 22-01-2016 08:14 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Azubuike1 at 23-01-2016 04:29 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Bebmigared on 22-01-2016 08:08 AM
You for come carry the money give Delta. Mu-mu Judge

Na u be the mumu. U think say na Naija u dey. If the military no pay, the British government go tap into your government's foreign account to satisfy the judgment. Dey there dey fool ur self.
Posted: at 23-01-2016 04:29 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Zadok1 at 23-01-2016 05:23 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Daniel Bosai on 22-01-2016 06:01 PM
Oyinbo people wicked oh! How can you be in far away London and be ordering people in Nigeria to pay another person N99BN (LMAO!), based on whose authority? who gives them the effrontery, the impetus, the temerity, the guts to place such an order!

Well, Egbon london and Niger/Delta community, if you want the money, come and collect it!
That same impetus they used on creating you, You were either Yoruba,
Housa, Ibo or others before 1914 today you a Nigerian. if you want to ask
start from genesis . we were never one before they came, the British and the Oil
has managed to keep us together since then, so they made you a Nigerian you
must obey them .
Posted: at 23-01-2016 05:23 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Novic at 23-01-2016 07:46 PM (8 years ago)
Nwoke onye ocha judge,thou your
judgement is good but nigeria no
dey obey law&order,so no no if I
got fit workooo.
Posted: at 23-01-2016 07:46 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 23-01-2016 07:47 PM (8 years ago)
Oyinbo people wicked oh! How
can you be in far away London
and be ordering people in Nigeria
to pay another person N99BN
(LMAO!), based on whose
authority? who gives them the effrontery, the impetus, the
temerity, the guts to place such
an order! Well, Egbon london and Niger/
Delta community, if you want the
money, come and collect it! That same impetus
they used on creating
you, You were either
Yoruba,
Housa, Ibo or others
before 1914 today you a Nigerian. if you
want to ask
start from genesis .
we were never one
before they came,
the British and the Oil has managed to keep
us together since
then, so they made
you a Nigerian you
must obey them .
Posted: at 23-01-2016 07:47 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 24-01-2016 08:17 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Daniel Bosai on 22-01-2016 06:01 PM

Me i don't even know why they are putting their mouth in our problems I hate them.
Posted: at 24-01-2016 08:17 AM (8 years ago) | Hero