Read Senate Leader, Ali Ndume‘s Statement On ‘Bill On Gender Equality In Marriage’

Date: 15-03-2016 8:27 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 15-03-2016 08:27 PM (8 years ago)

The bill on gender equality in marriage – designed to grant women the same marital rights as their husbands – has been rejected by the Nigerian Senate at the plenary on Tuesday, March 15.

Speaking on the bill proposed by Senator Biodun Olujimi, representing Ekiti south senatorial district, titled: ‘Gender Parity and Prohibition of Violence against Women’, Senate leader, Ali Ndume urged Nigerians to stick with the norms of either religious or traditional marriage.

The Senate Leader said that crisis usually occurs when couples who had performed both traditional and religious marriage rites find themselves in the middle of a divorce saga.

He said:
“This law that is being amended is very important especially when there is a clear conflict when it comes to dealing with widows, inheritance, divorce, even marriage itself in our society.”

“There are various traditions. The problem we have is the combination of our traditions and new religious beliefs. You will find an Igbo man who cannot speak Igbo language because he studied abroad. He will do traditional marriage then go to church again to get married in the church.

“The church wedding says if you marry, the couple become one while the Igbo tradition says when you marry a wife, she becomes your property. So when issues come up after the marriage, you now wonder which one to take.

“As for inheritance and divorce, in Islam, it is very clear how it is being done, but if you combine that with your tradition, you find out that women are being discriminated in a disadvantageous manner. There is a need for women who are involved in this advocacy to also engage in enlightenment.

“If you will marry, you will marry; either Christian or Muslim. I think this bill is timely and important and at the public hearing stage, we will look at this bill very well.”

However, while clarifying the content of her bill, Senator Olujimi, who is the deputy minority whip of the senate, said that it seeks equal rights for women in marriage, education and job.

The sponsor of the bill stated that according to the content of the bill, a widow would automatically become the custodian of children in the event of the death of her husband, and would also inherit his property.

The likes of Ike Ekweremadu, the deputy senate president, Senator Ibn Na’allah representing Kebbi south senatorial district, Ibrahim Gobir representing Sokoto east senatorial district pledged their support for the passage of the bill.

However, when the Senate President Bukola Saraki put the bill to a vote, the opposing senators shouted a thunderous “nay”, and subsequently had their way.

The bill, which was first read on October 20, 2015, seeks to reduce all forms of violence against women including segxwal abuse and discrimination.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 15-03-2016 08:27 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vectorcy at 15-03-2016 09:02 PM (8 years ago)
I seeee....issokay
Posted: at 15-03-2016 09:02 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 15-03-2016 09:31 PM (8 years ago)
aaah this one sure e go good so...if is to favour the woman i no gree ooohh
Posted: at 15-03-2016 09:31 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- SOGaiya at 15-03-2016 09:37 PM (8 years ago)
naija men no go gree
Posted: at 15-03-2016 09:37 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fran6ixfox at 15-03-2016 10:28 PM (8 years ago)
oook Lol.. no free oooo
Posted: at 15-03-2016 10:28 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 15-03-2016 10:29 PM (8 years ago)
This one no concern me at all
Posted: at 15-03-2016 10:29 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 15-03-2016 11:10 PM (8 years ago)
I don't blame them cuz.women are dangerous now, they can come and marry u and then kill u to inherit your wealth. I no gree
Posted: at 15-03-2016 11:10 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ficull at 15-03-2016 11:20 PM (8 years ago)
useless senate.... always chasing shadows and following Saraki to CCT. What laws are u making to enhance the economy? How about stiffer anti corruption law? All u hear are women and girls matters... nonsense.
Posted: at 15-03-2016 11:20 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 16-03-2016 12:03 AM (8 years ago)
Na wa o! So this is what senate is deliberating on now no important things again.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 12:03 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- imaria at 16-03-2016 12:15 AM (8 years ago)
I'm passing by
Posted: at 16-03-2016 12:15 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimmygal at 16-03-2016 12:24 AM (8 years ago)
is dis what we should be concerned about? despite all d issues d country is facing, dis senators dey craze sha.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 12:24 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dramaking at 16-03-2016 06:35 AM (8 years ago)
Smh... These woman are doin every tin possible 2 get loose, thereby pavin way 2 high raise in marriage breakupz juz like all these European countries. Tank God that Bill waz killed oooo
Posted: at 16-03-2016 06:35 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 16-03-2016 06:54 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmmmmm,men,I know you all useless politicians will say no because you want where you will be oppressing the woman&your wives,Rubbish.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 06:54 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 16-03-2016 08:13 AM (8 years ago)
Most of them dat shout nay are d wife beaters. Am not saying women shld have equal right cus I know we women, insult will start and dis respect will set in. We women once given d opportunity. we will lord over our men but d bill also state dat all forms of violence against women shld be reduce or stop which I concur wit dat. Am totally against violence, female circumcision and child marriage.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 08:13 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 16-03-2016 08:51 AM (8 years ago)
I laugh
Posted: at 16-03-2016 08:51 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- samdove28 at 16-03-2016 09:10 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: EDWIN GRACE on 16-03-2016 08:13 AM
Most of them dat shout nay are d wife beaters. Am not saying women shld have equal right cus I know we women, insult will start and dis respect will set in. We women once given d opportunity. we will lord over our men but d bill also state dat all forms of violence against women shld be reduce or stop which I concur wit dat. Am totally against violence, female circumcision and child marriage.
I like your thinking.... make i they concur with you.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 09:10 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- samdove28 at 16-03-2016 09:11 AM (8 years ago)
I JUST THEY PASSING, I WILL COME BCK TO MAK MY OWN COMMENT.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 09:11 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 16-03-2016 09:49 AM (8 years ago)
Make I dey observe my own dey go
Posted: at 16-03-2016 09:49 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Oworen25 at 16-03-2016 11:17 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: reaper on 15-03-2016 11:10 PM
I don't blame them cuz.women are dangerous now, they can come and marry u and then kill u to inherit your wealth. I no gree

People with different types of lifestyle
Posted: at 16-03-2016 11:17 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 16-03-2016 11:18 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Emmanuel Okoye on 15-03-2016 11:20 PM
useless senate.... always chasing shadows and following Saraki to CCT. What laws are u making to enhance the economy? How about stiffer anti corruption law? All u hear are women and girls matters... nonsense.

Instead of thinking on how Nigeria going to be better
Posted: at 16-03-2016 11:18 AM (8 years ago) | Hero