Angry Soldiers Invade IBEDC, Flog Manager Mercilessly Because Of Poor Power Supply (Photo)

Date: 28-03-2016 10:18 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 28-03-2016 10:18 AM (8 years ago)

It was like a scene out of an action movie when about 6 soldiers attached to the 35 Artillery Brigade, Alamala Barracks, Abeokuta, Ogun State and led by one Major Musa, stormed the Ibadan Electricity Distribution Company ( IBEDC ) substation – Olumo business hub, Rounder – on March 6 and beat up Salau Adekunle, the man on duty, over poor power supply.

Workers of the Ibadan Electricity Distribution Company say they have become fearful in their office when the soldiers descended on Adekunle, the substation’s distribution officer, with horse whips, because, presently on the average, the barracks and environs get 5 hours supply daily, which falls short of the soldiers’ expectation.

Narrating his experience to the Punch, Adekunle said:

“They told me to get up and without explanation, they started beating me. They complained that they did not get supply regularly, but it is not our fault. They said they would be the ones to determine the number of hours they want power. We told them it was not possible, but they didn’t want to listen.”

Corroborating the story, Adekunle’s colleague, said, “Electricity supply is divided into 3 levels – generation, transmission and distribution. This implies that generation affects transmission, which in turn affects distribution.

If there is less sufficient generated power, then there will be less power at our own side to distribute to the community, including the barracks. Before now, there was supply for at least 8 hours and at times, 15 hours. Electricity generation has reduced from 4517MW to 2800MW and now to over 1500MW.

All this is known and understood by the soldiers, but they pretend as if they do not know; that is why they now get 5 hours’ supply per day. Initially, the soldiers blamed us. Soon, it graduated to threats. They once arrested us and took us to their barracks and detained us for hours; l was a victim.”

Another official said they had been living in fear since the incident happened, adding that threats from the soldiers had intensified. “They said it would not be threats again, but killing.  Major Musa said he would send soldiers we don’t know. We spoke out because we cannot wait for them to kill us.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 28-03-2016 10:18 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- DrSoba at 28-03-2016 10:30 AM (8 years ago)
The craziest thing about power supply in Nigeria is sending you bills for unconsumeable power.
Posted: at 28-03-2016 10:30 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- LincyJ at 28-03-2016 11:17 AM (8 years ago)
Wonderful, the soldiers did a great job, All electricity distribution companies deserves this.
Posted: at 28-03-2016 11:17 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Mykie010 at 28-03-2016 11:24 AM (8 years ago)
Nice one soldiers, but u guys shud do this to d senate and not these people,nothing concern them.
Posted: at 28-03-2016 11:24 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Passion8Soul at 28-03-2016 11:28 AM (8 years ago)
Nice one;I concur bt dat shouldn't lead 2 murder;dey should kip beatin dem like pupils till dey learn hw 2 carry out their duties efficiently
Posted: at 28-03-2016 11:28 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 28-03-2016 11:36 AM (8 years ago)
hahahah...na waooo soldiers on rampage...
but then is good teach this BEDC guys
small lesson...
Posted: at 28-03-2016 11:36 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 28-03-2016 11:37 AM (8 years ago)
they wil bring bils wen there is no light
why...well is good as them touch u small
Posted: at 28-03-2016 11:37 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 28-03-2016 11:43 AM (8 years ago)
yes yes yes thank you soldier at least someone has to teach those idiot sense!!    na only BILL them sabi bring come
Posted: at 28-03-2016 11:43 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- dareper at 28-03-2016 12:00 PM (8 years ago)
Those yeye nepa.deserve more than that. Good one solders
Posted: at 28-03-2016 12:00 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- owolaborn at 28-03-2016 12:16 PM (8 years ago)
nice move soldiers.
Posted: at 28-03-2016 12:16 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- delight222 at 28-03-2016 12:26 PM (8 years ago)
I Love this,if na to cut power they go run come
Posted: at 28-03-2016 12:26 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- SOGaiya at 28-03-2016 12:30 PM (8 years ago)
outstation xpect more
Posted: at 28-03-2016 12:30 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eazyatumeyi at 28-03-2016 12:36 PM (8 years ago)
good, make the soldiers extend the beating to our bloody senators
Posted: at 28-03-2016 12:36 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Amibomatc at 28-03-2016 12:57 PM (8 years ago)
Interesting news from ABEOKUTA... Sitill on the CHAINS Opps! Sorry "CHANGE"
Posted: at 28-03-2016 12:57 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- christianity at 28-03-2016 01:36 PM (8 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin short of words
Posted: at 28-03-2016 01:36 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 28-03-2016 01:40 PM (8 years ago)
Soldiers I support una jare, IBEDC Bringing Nonsense bill every month.
Posted: at 28-03-2016 01:40 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Wealthmide at 28-03-2016 01:52 PM (8 years ago)
nawa ooo,  it may not be their fault now, soldiers should not be beating civilians like that, we all know the situation of the country and power generation, but I hate those useless bills they normally bring, may God just have mercy ooo....
Posted: at 28-03-2016 01:52 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- crocatum at 28-03-2016 02:10 PM (8 years ago)
some times our soldiers behave like thugs, you would harldy know the difference, they also abuse their power, unlike the nigeria police with is currupt, exploitative and even murders innocent citizens, the solddiers have managed to achieve some crucial victories and maybe that is why everyone is still blinded by their excessive abuse of human rights and use of sheer force without considering the laws, as if they are saying they are above the law.
Posted: at 28-03-2016 02:10 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- damlizzy at 28-03-2016 02:42 PM (8 years ago)
Good job
Posted: at 28-03-2016 02:42 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Eazyatumeyi at 28-03-2016 02:49 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: ejiro james on 28-03-2016 02:10 PM
some times our soldiers behave like thugs, you would harldy know the difference, they also abuse their power, unlike the nigeria police with is currupt, exploitative and even murders innocent citizens, the solddiers have managed to achieve some crucial victories and maybe that is why everyone is still blinded by their excessive abuse of human rights and use of sheer force without considering the laws, as if they are saying they are above the law.
if police and soldier catch you I pity for you
Posted: at 28-03-2016 02:49 PM (8 years ago) | Hero