Actress, Mercy Aigbe Blasts Critics Who Say She Can’t Speak Fluent English

Date: 07-01-2017 11:30 am (7 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 7-01-2017 11:30 AM (7 years ago)

When it was announced few weeks before the Best of Nollwyood awards that actress and screen diva, Mercy Aigbe-Gentry would host the event alongside comedian, Okey Bakkassi, it was delightful news to so many people.

But it was a huge disappointment especially to her fans when the actress didn’t show up at the event leaving Okey Bakkassi to anchor it alone.

However, there were speculations and insinuations that Aigbe backed out at the last minute because she allegedly couldn’t handle such event. More so, it was alleged that the actress who features mostly in Yoruba movies, is not fluent in English and could embarrass herself in front of the crowd.

But then, when Saturday Beats reached out to the actress, she said that she would not comment on the reason she shunned the award.

“I would not speak on why I was not at BON awards or why I did not host the event. I don’t care about what anybody says. If they say my spoken English is not fluent, that is their business. I do not speak fluently yet I have hosted various awards including the City People awards. People have watched my interviews on television and they listen to me speak on my social media accounts,” she said.

Posted: at 7-01-2017 11:30 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Afriqueenn at 7-01-2017 11:41 AM (7 years ago)
She speaks English with a tinge of yoruba in her accent. For someone who harassed Thisday about not featuring yoruba actors in its Style Magazine, this is not so stellar.
She wants to place herself in English nollywood actors ' category (yes I know some of them are fake), but doesn't have what it takes.
She thinks it's by dressing to the hilt all the time (even when the occasion doesn't call for it) and pushing it all in our faces. Boy, is she trying too hard!
After the "harassment" she got a chance to prove herself with an event like BON, but was a no-show.
So who's to blame?
Posted: at 7-01-2017 11:41 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 7-01-2017 12:15 PM (7 years ago)
This lady get time self, u can't speak so!! make dem go die na
Posted: at 7-01-2017 12:15 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- dynasty4all at 7-01-2017 12:32 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  7-01-2017 12:15 PM
OKOKO
Posted: at 7-01-2017 12:32 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- delight222 at 7-01-2017 12:40 PM (7 years ago)
U still get time to answer back,oya keep talking na
Posted: at 7-01-2017 12:40 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- james987 at 7-01-2017 12:53 PM (7 years ago)
Good or bad people must say something.. Na so
Posted: at 7-01-2017 12:53 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- OluwaDrizzy at 7-01-2017 02:06 PM (7 years ago)
you are a good actress...sho raye ni???....you missed the event...and the reason for that is best known to you..Apologize and don't say too much..people will always talk...They just wish they were you
Posted: at 7-01-2017 02:06 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- chukkychukky at 7-01-2017 02:27 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  7-01-2017 12:15 PM
anufia

Posted: at 7-01-2017 02:27 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 7-01-2017 03:02 PM (7 years ago)
which language did she speak when she hosted the other shows Huh?.....there are too many ignorant critics with smart phones
she declined because her pay was much less compared to her co host's.
Posted: at 7-01-2017 03:02 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- akinmanchy at 7-01-2017 03:19 PM (7 years ago)
Whatever, me just like dis lady

Posted: at 7-01-2017 03:19 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- LegendaryU at 8-01-2017 08:27 AM (7 years ago)
This Mercy self, you follow have time to answer nonsense.
Posted: at 8-01-2017 08:27 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- tommy70 at 8-01-2017 11:06 PM (7 years ago)
HATERS EVERYWHERE.DO UR TIN JO
Posted: at 8-01-2017 11:06 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yawa_don_gas at 12-01-2017 03:31 AM (7 years ago)
Please please hold on, why e be say everywhere I take even when I wan hide yawa dey there?

Why why?

Yawa life, yawa goes on
Posted: at 12-01-2017 03:31 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- akinmanchy at 12-01-2017 10:08 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: yawa_don_gas on 12-01-2017 03:31 AM
Please please hold on, why e be say everywhere I take even when I wan hide yawa dey there?

Why why?

Yawa life, yawa goes on
The thing about yawa be say yawa nor dey gree

Posted: at 12-01-2017 10:08 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 16-01-2017 01:52 PM (7 years ago)
Ko kan mi,,,

Lyf na from phase to face..
Posted: at 16-01-2017 01:52 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero