Italian Priest Kidnapped In Edo State For 5 Days Regains Freedom

Date: 19-10-2017 3:16 pm (6 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 19-10-2017 03:16 PM (6 years ago)

An Italian priest of the Catholic Church, Maurizio Pallu, ‎who was kidnapped by gunmen in Edo State has been released.

Pallu regained his freedom at about 4 am on Wednesday, after spending five days in the kidnappers’ den.

It was gathered that the priest flew out of the country shortly after he was released.

The Catholic Bishop of Kaduna Diocese, Ndagoso Manoso, confirmed the release to reporters on Thursday.

Manoso said that the Italian Government had been informed about the development.

“I spoke with him but I have not asked him about the location. But he has been flown out of the country.

“So, I am yet to be fully briefed; those who were with him will brief me later on. He was in high spirit and that is all I can say,”
he added.

The 63-year-old priest had on October 12 abducted by armed men in Benin, the state capital.

He was said to be travelling to Benin in the company of some members of his community in Kaduna when he and two others were whisked away by the abductors.

The gunmen were reported to have robbed the travellers before taking their victims away to a forest.

They were also said to have demanded an undisclosed amount as ransom.

Manoso, however, dismissed the possibility of a financial negotiation before the priest was set free.

Posted: at 19-10-2017 03:16 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ruthie at 19-10-2017 03:20 PM (6 years ago)
THANK GOD...THESE KIDNAPPERS ARE EVIL
Posted: at 19-10-2017 03:20 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- kixme at 19-10-2017 03:21 PM (6 years ago)
EDO people make una leave Priests...Kidnap police like other states .eg Niger and Jigawa
Posted: at 19-10-2017 03:21 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 19-10-2017 03:43 PM (6 years ago)
Na something worth testifying cos I don no person wey no make am alive
Posted: at 19-10-2017 03:43 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- SOGaiya at 19-10-2017 08:15 PM (6 years ago)
The catholic church dont pay ransome no negotiation if u ar caught u are on ur own
Posted: at 19-10-2017 08:15 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 19-10-2017 09:44 PM (6 years ago)
we have enough black priest so what is he doing there!!
Posted: at 19-10-2017 09:44 PM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- kixme at 20-10-2017 11:37 AM (6 years ago)
OYA oyibo dey go your country sharp sharp....boys are not smiling na ember month we dey... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 20-10-2017 11:37 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac