LIBYA HORROR! We Watched As 59 Nigerians Were Shot Dead - Returnee Couple

Date: 17-12-2017 8:20 am (6 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 17-12-2017 08:20 AM (6 years ago)

As another 228 Libya returnees arrived Benin-City, last Wednesday, Omo N’Oba N’Edo Uku Akpolokpolo, Oba Ewuare II has thrown his weight behind the fight against human trafficking.

Oba Ewuare II, who spoke during the inauguration of the Edo State Council of Traditional Rulers and Chiefs by Governor Godwin Obaseki, condemned the act and expressed disappointment at the Nigerian Embassy in Libya and the Libyan government for their inability to tackle the crisis.

The monarch regretted that it was particularly frustrating that it took a report by the Cable News Network (CNN) for government and other stakeholders to respond to the crisis.

The crisis, he said, could have been better managed if relevant authorities had lived up to their responsibilities, saying they allowed it to fester instead.

He commended the governor for his efforts to resettle the Libya returnees through skills acquisition programmes.

Obaseki, who also spoke at the occasion, described the situation in Libya as sad and unacceptable and assured that his administration would continue to partner the traditional council in the areas of law, order and security, stemming the tide of illegal migration, environmental sanitation, registration of Edo citizens and the mobilisation of indigenes and residents to participate in government policies and programmes, settlement of land disputes, agriculture, amongst others. Of the 228 latest returnees, 39 were women, six of whom were pregnant; four were children while others were men.

Sunday Vanguard spoke with a couple, Mr and Mrs Kingslay, who claimed to have watched as 59 Nigerians were shot dead, 19-year-old Precious, who had a baby in Libyan prison, and Blessing who had no training in nursing but providence pushed her to midwife the delivery of five children inside the prison. Their stories:

Mr Kingsley said he decided to embark on the journey to Europe via Libya with his wife. Though they were unable to get to their destination, which is Italy, God gave them a baby girl in Libya

“I travelled with my wife through Kano. From Kano we went to Alghadez, Saba, Tripoli and Sabescerine. When we got to Tripoli, I paid N1million to somebody for myself and my wife for the Mediterranean Sea crossing to Italy but we ended staying there for over one year there. And to make matters worse, there was no money because there was no work. I always called my brother in Nigeria to help us with some to eat. That country is a disaster; they enjoy killing blacks, especially Nigerians. About 59 Nigerians were shot dead in my presence. One of my friends was shot on the leg and the leg was amputated. They pushed me and my wife into the boat to cross the sea but Libyan militia arrested us and took us to prison. I called my brother in Nigeria who sent money to us. I gave the militia the money and we were released from prison. We waited for our man to come and push us again across the sea but while we were waiting, the militia boys came again and started shooting. People started running and I could not escape with my wife carrying our baby, so we surrendered and they took us to prison. Some people, who tried to run away, were shot dead. We spent two weeks in the prison and it was there that we registered and they returned us to Nigeria. And what these Libya people always did was that whenever the United Nations people came, they will quickly take out some Nigerians and hide them in another prison, so that they will not register them and take them home. They do this because they want to be using those people to collect money from families in Nigeria. And in that prison they don’t feed you. And they will beat the hell out of you whenever you fail to bring money from you relations. That place is hell on earth.

Kingsley’s wife: We saw many dead bodies in the desert

Were you not scared traveling with you husband to Libya?

No I left everything to God. I became pregnant when I got there. We passed through the desert and saw many dead bodies on the ground. When I was pregnant, I never went to see any doctor or nurse because there was nobody to help you. But I thank God that on the day of delivery, it was very successful. One woman who had experience in delivering babies helped me.

I am happy I returned alive because many people died, some came back with ailments or broken hand or leg but I thank God I came back alive with my family.

I am happy to be back home. But I will never advise anybody to go to Libya. It is not a place that anyone should go. They shoot gun every minute and they had no value for life.

Posted: at 17-12-2017 08:20 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- tegonwa at 17-12-2017 08:31 AM (6 years ago)
Horrible!
Posted: at 17-12-2017 08:31 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 17-12-2017 10:14 AM (6 years ago)
Yet our leaders don't see the reason or incentive or the psychological motive to be organized and aim aggressively to advance our nation to the extremes.
Posted: at 17-12-2017 10:14 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kenshin2 at 17-12-2017 10:32 AM (6 years ago)
I'm not surprised even the so called Hausa/Fulani people get sense pass these Edo people...all they know how to do is to go to club, prostitution, join cult and do juju.  I wonder if they receive any form of home training set...so hopeless
Posted: at 17-12-2017 10:32 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- blowout at 17-12-2017 10:36 AM (6 years ago)
Oba I hail and respect you o. But make u no too blame embassy and Libyan government. Make u draw the ears of ya subjects wey no dey hear word. Tell them say make them no dey go that waka because e dey hardly end well.
Posted: at 17-12-2017 10:36 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimber at 17-12-2017 10:37 AM (6 years ago)
Hmmmm nah waa is a big lesson to them next time if they see free flight to Europe they will neva try it again.
Posted: at 17-12-2017 10:37 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- cypanyahucha at 17-12-2017 01:14 PM (6 years ago)
Nigerian Embassy wey dey Libya no de try sef. U go tell me sey they no see this inhuman treatment tey?
Posted: at 17-12-2017 01:14 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 17-12-2017 01:41 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: kenshin2 on 17-12-2017 10:32 AM
I'm not surprised even the so called Hausa/Fulani people get sense pass these Edo people...all they know how to do is to go to club, prostitution, join cult and do juju.  I wonder if they receive any form of home training set...so hopeless

HABA... KILODE? DEM OFFEND YOU BEFORE NI?
Posted: at 17-12-2017 01:41 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Deltaboy1 at 17-12-2017 02:24 PM (6 years ago)
i concur with your words , but not all Edo generally.. its the Benin parts of Edo.. many of the Benin are illitrate
Posted: at 17-12-2017 02:24 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 17-12-2017 02:47 PM (6 years ago)
Imagine paying 1m to cross to Europe by sea when u can use such amount for a good business that can fetch u money here in Nigeria. Be wise people.
Posted: at 17-12-2017 02:47 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- benosky4 at 17-12-2017 02:50 PM (6 years ago)
horrible experience,
RIP to the dead hundreds

Posted: at 17-12-2017 02:50 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- james987 at 17-12-2017 04:32 PM (6 years ago)
Just like people go gree hear.. tell some people this kind of thing you be their enemy of progress
Posted: at 17-12-2017 04:32 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- crocatum at 17-12-2017 06:48 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: james987 on 17-12-2017 04:32 PM
Just like people go gree hear.. tell some people this kind of thing you be their enemy of progress
Desperation is not good, poverty is not good, illiteracy is not good, What we need is to come together and make Nigeria that land we dream about, through cooperation and Good Home training, we should also keep improving our culture, in such a fast pace to produce the results we need. We can only change our world by doing so together, taking everybody into consideration. Cultism, prostitution, stealing and lies would not take us far as a nation.
Posted: at 17-12-2017 06:48 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 17-12-2017 07:05 PM (6 years ago)
why una dey won cross to europe
Posted: at 17-12-2017 07:05 PM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- Asterimou at 18-12-2017 01:05 AM (6 years ago)
At least the Edos are killing themselves on Libya road but the Hausa/Fulani are killing innocent people. There is a different. But i do not like the attitude of most Edo people. Their desperation to Europe is not from this earth. I hate to blame other people for my own wrong action. instead of blaming the embassy and the Libya govt, we should rather chastise our mumu people who sees death and still want to risk their life..that shows they have no regard for their life. if one does not have regard for his life, who would?
Posted: at 18-12-2017 01:05 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 18-12-2017 10:28 AM (6 years ago)
see this man...u get n1m and u left your country....u see ya life!
Posted: at 18-12-2017 10:28 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 26-12-2017 06:59 AM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 26-12-2017 06:59 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero