#RevolutionNow: Gunshots As Policemen Disperse Protesters In Lagos (Video+Photos)

Date: 05-08-2019 11:00 am (4 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 5-08-2019 11:00 AM (4 years ago)

The RevolutionNow protest was met with stiff opposition from security agencies on Monday.

Officers of the Nigeria Police Force (NPF) have dispersed RevolutionNow protesters during a demonstration in Lagos on Monday, August 5, 2019.
The RevolutionNow protest is a nationwide demonstration against the President Muhammadu Buhari-led government that was re-elected in February.

The Inspector-General of Police, Mohammed Adamu, had in a Sunday statement described the planned protest as a call that amounts to "treasonable felony and acts of terrorism".

He warned the organisers, sponsors, allies, supporters, associates and sympathisers of the protest to desist from embarking on it.

"The Police will work with other Law Enforcement Agencies and positive minded Nigerians to protect, defend and secure our public peace and space,"
he said.

Despite his warning, protesters showed up for a demonstration at the National Stadium, Surulere, Lagos, on Monday, chanting revolution songs.

They were met with dozens of police officers blocking off the entrance of the stadium in a bid to shut down the protest. Soldiers of the Nigerian Army were also stationed at the entrance of the stadium to deter protesters.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XLn_dyosSqY" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XLn_dyosSqY</a>

The protesters also demanded the release of Omoyele Sowore, the convener of the protest who was arrested by the Department of State Services (DSS) on Saturday, August 3. The DSS and the Federal Government accused Sowore, a candidate in February's presidential election, of plotting to forcefully overthrow the government.

Shortly after the commencement of the protest, officers started firing tear gas canisters to disperse the handful of defiant protesters. Some of the protesters were injured in the chaos that ensued, while some were also arrested by police officers.

Posted: at 5-08-2019 11:00 AM (4 years ago) | Hero
- Brave5500 at 5-08-2019 11:40 AM (4 years ago)
Nigeria oooooo.. all these policemen has not been paid why not join d freedom fight so u can b sure of ur family future... all these politicians have their family abroad... their mission is to destroy Nigeria but u kno wat... DEATH INEVITABLE TO ALL.. Sad Embarrassed Roll Eyes
Posted: at 5-08-2019 11:40 AM (4 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 5-08-2019 11:52 AM (4 years ago)
yeah, it's happening. Eyes opened.
Posted: at 5-08-2019 11:52 AM (4 years ago) | Hero
- nonsovin at 5-08-2019 12:12 PM (4 years ago)
I'm happy that the Revolution protest has finally started somewhere. Before u know it, other states will join.
Together we can make Nigeria GREAT again!!
Posted: at 5-08-2019 12:12 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- willyking at 5-08-2019 12:36 PM (4 years ago)
This is long overdue revolution that is the only medicine that can cure Nigeria sickness now..
Posted: at 5-08-2019 12:36 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 5-08-2019 12:57 PM (4 years ago)
Quote from: nonsovin on  5-08-2019 12:12 PM
I'm happy that the Revolution protest has finally started somewhere. Before u know it, other states will join.
idiot and you are doing your own online from your bedroom abi?
Posted: at 5-08-2019 12:57 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deboalabi262 at 5-08-2019 12:59 PM (4 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 5-08-2019 12:59 PM (4 years ago) | Hero
- Knowman at 5-08-2019 01:23 PM (4 years ago)
Quote from: nonsovin on  5-08-2019 12:12 PM

No de online de motivate,  JOIN TOO
Posted: at 5-08-2019 01:23 PM (4 years ago) | Upcoming
- Sameola1 at 5-08-2019 02:04 PM (4 years ago)
I only wish this is the way they deal with the real criminals: the rapists, kidnappers, marauders spread all over the southern forests. Yeye dey smell
Posted: at 5-08-2019 02:04 PM (4 years ago) | Upcoming
- favourita at 5-08-2019 03:23 PM (4 years ago)
This is wot they know how to do Tongue lazy Nigeria police  idiot fellows Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 5-08-2019 03:23 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 5-08-2019 06:34 PM (4 years ago)
hmmmmm... quite sad how they have turned Nigeria Law enforcement agents as stooges... this is indeed worst than Abacha's regime Cool

Posted: at 5-08-2019 06:34 PM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nonsovin at 6-08-2019 08:02 AM (4 years ago)
Quote from: tegonwa on  5-08-2019 12:57 PM
idiot and you are doing your own online from your bedroom abi?
It's quite a pity that u had to call me names.
I believe ur point would had been well stated without insults..
REGARDS !!
Posted: at 6-08-2019 08:02 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac