CAN NIGERIA BE BETTER OF, IF WE SPILT LIKE SUDAN.

Date: 09-02-2011 12:12 am (13 years ago) | Author: Paddy Hayes
- at 9-02-2011 12:12 AM (13 years ago)

Sudan's voters in south choose split by huge margin
Josh Kron, New York Times
Tuesday, February 8, 2011

-----------------------------------

(02-08) 04:00 PST Kampala, Uganda -- With the announcement of final voting results, President Omar el-Bashir of Sudan said Monday that his government would accept the choice of the long-embattled region ofSouthern Sudan to separate from the north, setting the stage for the creation of the world's newest country this summer.
According to the final count, announced in Sudan's capital, Khartoum, 98.83 percent of the more than 3.8 million registered voters in Southern Sudan chose to separate from the north. In many parts of the country the vote was more than 99 percent.
Sudan has endured two long and brutal civil wars between the Arab north and the mostly animist and Christian south, in a period from the early years of independence from Britain to 2005, when a peace agreement was signed, setting the stage for the referendum.
El-Bashir and the southern region's president, Salva Kiir, were in attendance for the announcement as street celebrations spread through the southern capital, Juba.
"Today we received these results and we accept and welcome these results because they represent the will of the southern people," el-Bashir said in a statement on state television, according to Reuters.
He also said that along with southern independence would come an Islamist renaissance in the north.
In Washington, the White House released a statement by President Obama congratulating the people of Southern Sudan and announcing "the intention of the United States to formally recognize southern Sudan as a sovereign, independent state in July 2011."
Obama also offered to the government of Sudan the prospect of improved ties with the United States, saying, "For those who meet all of their obligations, there is a path to greater prosperity and normal relations with the United States, including examining Sudan's designation as a state sponsor of terrorism."
With the referendum vote now official, actual independence is expected to be declared July 9, when the peace agreement that set the stage for the vote expires.
Across the vast oil-producing south, voters overwhelming chose to secede from the Arab north, which through conflict and marginalization helped keep the south one of the world's poorest and least-developed regions.
In Juba, the day was met with jubilation.
"This is what people have been expecting, and longed for, and have achieved it," said Aleu Garang Aleu, a spokesman for the southern referendum bureau. "People will party. There will be disco. There will be dances. People are warming up for the celebration now."
Thousands of Sudanese from around the world, particularly the United States, who fled during the years of war, have returned home to rebuild the south, and Juba is considered one of the fastest-growing cities in the world.
On Monday, the southern government said it had plans to build a new capital for the soon-to-be-country, and that designs had already been submitted.
Last month, the government announced that an official name for the country - South Sudan - had been proposed.

__,_._,___

Posted: at 9-02-2011 12:12 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sugaDaddy1forU at 9-02-2011 12:31 AM (13 years ago)
MANY COUNTRIES HAVE DIVIDED INTO TWO DUE TO NOT GETTING ALONG WITH EACH OTHER, FOR EXAMPLE INDIAN AND PAKISTAN, SOUTH KOREA AND NORTH KOREA, AND NOW SUDAN. AND THEY ALL. ARE DOING MUCH BETTER NOW

Posted: at 9-02-2011 12:31 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- eoadex2003 at 9-02-2011 09:15 AM (13 years ago)
I think so
Posted: at 9-02-2011 09:15 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beyk at 9-02-2011 09:43 AM (13 years ago)
dat is gud for southerna sudan.nigerian were una dey.
Posted: at 9-02-2011 09:43 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Cyberp at 9-02-2011 10:50 AM (13 years ago)
For me i'll say a big time yes to Nigeria's division... i no even know why LORD LUGARD DO THAT 1914 ALMAGAMATION. ALL DIS CASALA NO FOR DEY LIKE DIS. I SAY A BIG TIME YES TO THAT!
Posted: at 9-02-2011 10:50 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- chik001 at 9-02-2011 01:20 PM (13 years ago)
Yes o...!!!
Biafra is waiting to rise again o...!!!
Posted: at 9-02-2011 01:20 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kingsgoodman at 9-02-2011 03:30 PM (13 years ago)
Big YES we need that oooooo my ppl don sofa finish.
Posted: at 9-02-2011 03:30 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sugaDaddy1forU at 9-02-2011 05:37 PM (13 years ago)
IF ALL THIS KILLINGS CONTINUE WHATS THE NEED TO STAY TOGETHER. WE HAVE LOST MORE THAN A MILLION OF LIVES SINCE WE GOT OUR INDEPENDENCE AND THE KILLINGS ARE STILL GOING UP TO THIS TIME. THERE IS NO SIGN OF ANY CHANGE AT ALL.

Posted: at 9-02-2011 05:37 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 9-02-2011 05:46 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: chik001 on  9-02-2011 01:20 PM
Yes o...!!!
Biafra is waiting to rise again o...!!!

Ok rise mana!!!!

Posted: at 9-02-2011 05:46 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Freesmile at 10-02-2011 11:52 AM (13 years ago)
This is stupidity, are u guyz insane? Nigeria divided because of economy and social instability. Life becomes unimaginable if Nigeria becomes divided. First The independence our forefathers fought for becomes irrelevant. The so called most populous black nation or giant of Africa will be a mockery to the world. U will need VISA before you can go to the north e.g (Abuja) or South (Port-Harcourt) or East (Enugu) or West (Lagos). Please keep sentiment aside and let's think like educated people. Why has Americans with over 58 States ( Each state twice the size of Nigeria) not calling for Division or creation of Federal Republic of New york. Please we behave like fools and criticise people that calls us such. If ever such thing happen i will seek the citizenship of other country like UK or US. And my kids or family will never have anything to do with the divided regions

Division is not the solution to the peoples plight but Collective fight. i believe if we can mobilise ourselves like Egypt and demand for good social amenities the entire government both local, state and Federal will quickly comply to all our request. Infact bad road, police brutality, bad power supply, unemployment will instant becomes history due to the priority the government will show to this request. But our silience has been our own doing. Let's fight for what is our legal and national rights, instead of complaining and doing nothing about it. A problem don't disappear with time but it accumulate with time and can be resolve with a single action.
Posted: at 10-02-2011 11:52 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Allen-jones at 12-02-2011 04:20 AM (13 years ago)

Don't mind them. They think Nigeria is a birthday cake. The poster doesn't know history. North and South Koreas are virtually at war. Pakistan is a war zone. Internal strike is rife in India.  How do you propose to divide Nigeria? I know the yorubas will never join biafra. The South South will never join biatra. Is it the mineral-less and landlocked igbo nation they are clamouring for? Is not a viable option to most igbos except some few speculators high on ideal but short-sighted.
Posted: at 12-02-2011 04:20 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- gibsonpally at 12-02-2011 04:32 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sugaDaddy1forU on  9-02-2011 12:31 AM
MANY COUNTRIES HAVE DIVIDED INTO TWO DUE TO NOT GETTING ALONG WITH EACH OTHER, FOR EXAMPLE INDIAN AND PAKISTAN, SOUTH KOREA AND NORTH KOREA, AND NOW SUDAN. AND THEY ALL. ARE DOING MUCH BETTER NOW

Rubbish! Don't talk what you dont know? How do you propose to divide Nigeria? Along ethnic and tribal divisions or you think you can lump yorubas, igbos and south south into biafra? Idle and speculative talk for lack of meaning idea to post.
Posted: at 12-02-2011 04:32 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- gibsonpally at 12-02-2011 04:38 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: kingsgoodman on  9-02-2011 03:30 PM
Big YES we need that oooooo my ppl don sofa finish.

Nonsense! Is it not your people that turn their cities and towns into dens of armed robbers, kidnappers and what have you not, making life difficult for ordinary people?
Posted: at 12-02-2011 04:38 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- odiono at 12-02-2011 10:53 AM (13 years ago)
i salute some of the intelligent contributions here. now i know some of US are reasonble as against the uncivilised, timid and unlearned amongst us. they do not know yet they seek not to know! what a pity!
the world is heading towards globalisation, meaning there is the growing need for all countries and continents to be one. that SUDAN had just divided has not meant the best decision!
NIGERIA is NIGERIA because of those differences within her political, ethnical, psychological etc traits that defines her! remove those things, the idea of ''GIANT OF AFRICA'', ''HOME OF SPORT'' ETC will all be history!
there is no country without those things you are seeing in NIGERIA! for example even when AMERICA voted OBAMA into her seat of power some of them still hate him more than anything else. nothing he does make sense to them, instead they prefer a white man as the president
in ITALY the prime minister is accused of corruption in the high and low places even with sex scander, yet none  is able to do him anything not even the judiciary!
a former AMERICAN vice president was accused of corruption as evident in NIGERIA, uptill now the US has done little or nothing about it!
according to studies crimalities or criminal behaviours increases with development. but that is not to say they should be swept under the carpet.
those politicians who are clamouring for the division of the various region in NIGERIA are visionless and greedy fellows whose intension is centered on selfish interest rather than the well-being of the people. let's not be their victim.
if EGYPT that got her independence in 1922 is just getting freedom from her military i wonder who on earth is saying that NIGERIA  is not advancing.
as far as i know NIGERIA is on the right track! all troubled waters will surelly get settled!
THE DIVERSITIES AND DIFFERENCES IN NIGERIA MAKES THE ''GREAT NIGERIA'' THE WORLD KNOWS!!!!!!
Posted: at 12-02-2011 10:53 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- gibsonpally at 12-02-2011 11:54 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: odiono on 12-02-2011 10:53 AM
i salute some of the intelligent contributions here. now i know some of US are reasonble as against the uncivilised, timid and unlearned amongst us. they do not know yet they seek not to know! what a pity!
the world is heading towards globalisation, meaning there is the growing need for all countries and continents to be one. that SUDAN had just divided has not meant the best decision!
NIGERIA is NIGERIA because of those differences within her political, ethnical, psychological etc traits that defines her! remove those things, the idea of ''GIANT OF AFRICA'', ''HOME OF SPORT'' ETC will all be history!
there is no country without those things you are seeing in NIGERIA! for example even when AMERICA voted OBAMA into her seat of power some of them still hate him more than anything else. nothing he does make sense to them, instead they prefer a white man as the president
in ITALY the prime minister is accused of corruption in the high and low places even with sex scander, yet none  is able to do him anything not even the judiciary!
a former AMERICAN vice president was accused of corruption as evident in NIGERIA, uptill now the US has done little or nothing about it!
according to studies crimalities or criminal behaviours increases with development. but that is not to say they should be swept under the carpet.
those politicians who are clamouring for the division of the various region in NIGERIA are visionless and greedy fellows whose intension is centered on selfish interest rather than the well-being of the people. let's not be their victim.
if EGYPT that got her independence in 1922 is just getting freedom from her military i wonder who on earth is saying that NIGERIA  is not advancing.
as far as i know NIGERIA is on the right track! all troubled waters will surelly get settled!
THE DIVERSITIES AND DIFFERENCES IN NIGERIA MAKES THE ''GREAT NIGERIA'' THE WORLD KNOWS!!!!!!

We salute your intelligence too. Reasonable and good contribution.
Posted: at 12-02-2011 11:54 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Dannbang at 12-02-2011 03:49 PM (13 years ago)
Nonsense...how can we be together wen we can't tolerate ourselves. How can we be together wen a particular region wants to oppress the others. We can make a better bargain with ourselves in the south. We have seen how grand plans are been hatched to shut the other regions and tribes out of key positions. A country where minorities are been marginalized. Its better i seek visa to come to a place and be respected as a foreign citizen rather than be treated with disdain as an equal citizen.

Let me tell you something if not for the mistake of 1914, southern Nigeria would have been a great, wealthy country to recorn with. Imagine the way they're killing pple in jos, is it not the same thing happening in sudan all in the name of they're northern minority and they want to control them. Imagine the excuses, can anybody go to kano and demand for the nonsense they're demanding. Let's divide and see who will survive.
Posted: at 12-02-2011 03:49 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- livingday at 12-02-2011 10:10 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Dannbang on 12-02-2011 03:49 PM
Nonsense...how can we be together wen we can't tolerate ourselves. How can we be together wen a particular region wants to oppress the others. We can make a better bargain with ourselves in the south. We have seen how grand plans are been hatched to shut the other regions and tribes out of key positions. A country where minorities are been marginalized. Its better i seek visa to come to a place and be respected as a foreign citizen rather than be treated with disdain as an equal citizen.

Let me tell you something if not for the mistake of 1914, southern Nigeria would have been a great, wealthy country to recorn with. Imagine the way they're killing pple in jos, is it not the same thing happening in sudan all in the name of they're northern minority and they want to control them. Imagine the excuses, can anybody go to kano and demand for the nonsense they're demanding. Let's divide and see who will survive.

Ignorant talk! Ask any yoruba and he will tell you to go to hell. Did he not fight biafra to keep Nigeria one? Igbos are widespread throughout Nigeria, including Kano. Killings, armed robbery, kidnapping are in vogue in the south east. Rubbish!
Posted: at 12-02-2011 10:10 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- williams100 at 12-02-2011 11:23 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Freesmile on 10-02-2011 11:52 AM
This is stupidity, are u guyz insane? Nigeria divided because of economy and social instability. Life becomes unimaginable if Nigeria becomes divided. First The independence our forefathers fought for becomes irrelevant. The so called most populous black nation or giant of Africa will be a mockery to the world. U will need VISA before you can go to the north e.g (Abuja) or South (Port-Harcourt) or East (Enugu) or West (Lagos). Please keep sentiment aside and let's think like educated people. Why has Americans with over 58 States ( Each state twice the size of Nigeria) not calling for Division or creation of Federal Republic of New york. Please we behave like fools and criticise people that calls us such. If ever such thing happen i will seek the citizenship of other country like UK or US. And my kids or family will never have anything to do with the divided regions

Division is not the solution to the peoples plight but Collective fight. i believe if we can mobilise ourselves like Egypt and demand for good social amenities the entire government both local, state and Federal will quickly comply to all our request. Infact bad road, police brutality, bad power supply, unemployment will instant becomes history due to the priority the government will show to this request. But our silience has been our own doing. Let's fight for what is our legal and national rights, instead of complaining and doing nothing about it. A problem don't disappear with time but it accumulate with time and can be resolve with a single action.

NICE PIECE OF COLLECTION
Posted: at 12-02-2011 11:23 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gibsonpally at 13-02-2011 11:12 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Dannbang on 12-02-2011 03:49 PM

Rubbish. Give me Nigeria any day jor. I will never agree to be bunched together with the so-called biafra. A real recipe for greater disaster than we face in Nigeria today. Stop this your idle speculation!
Posted: at 13-02-2011 11:12 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ecomax at 3-06-2012 01:58 AM (11 years ago)
Yes
Posted: at 3-06-2012 01:58 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming